Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars11
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£6.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2011
The third compilation issued by Warner of Aztec Camera's 6 albums over 2 discs highlights most of the excellent singles (albeit in album form) and a smattering of rare tracks such as the cover versions of Jump, True Colors and (If Paradise) Is Half As Nice. The tracks all sound remastered as well, so it is a very good compilation. Booklet notes doesn't tell me much I didn't already know about Aztec Camera - especially that Aztec Camera was essentially Roddy Frame solo from the 'Love' album. Final bonus - excellent pricing for the compilation too.
33 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Aztec Camera were a breath of fresh air when they released High Land Hard Rain back in the early 1980s. Surrounded by endless synth bands, they carved beautiful love songs into Thatchers's greed ridden ("no such thing as...") society. Despite the occasional dip, Roddy Frame has produced an arsenal of wonderful songs, many of which are on here. While Hard Land Hard Rain should be your first buy, this is a great set for the car, despite the annoying compressed quality, which is why a star is removed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2011
For someone wanting to get an idea of the breadth and diversity of Roddy Frames early work as Aztec Camera, you couldn't go far wrong.For the full effect though I'd encourage you to indulge in the albums themselves. For two full CDs, good value.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
I didn't realise that Aztec Camera had made so many songs, but all the well known favourites are on here and thats the main thing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
the excellent first recordings of just like gold/we could send letters for some reason doesn't make it. a few other high lights thereafter but not worthy of a double CD. you're better off buying one of the first albums and hearing intact rather than this half-baked compilation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Its a very nice album with many of my favorites from the 80s. Brings back fond memories of younger days, thank you :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Very very good music. For me "great".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
I LOVED HIGH LAND ,HARD RAIN ONE OF THE GREAT 80' ALBUMS, KNIFE WAS A SLIGHT DISAPPOINTMENT AND MUCH MORE POLISHED BUT STILL HAD GREAT SONGS LOVE WAS DIFFERENT AGAIN AND HAD A COUPLE OF HITS BUT ALWAYS GREAT SONGS. success gradually diminished in terms of the charts but the songs were always there. I have all the cds they made and this is a great way of listening to the different styles along with a few extras i dont have.

start with high land hard rain which is a classic then top up with this if you dont want to get the other cds.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Love the album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)