Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive collection of the Aztec Camera years
The third compilation issued by Warner of Aztec Camera's 6 albums over 2 discs highlights most of the excellent singles (albeit in album form) and a smattering of rare tracks such as the cover versions of Jump, True Colors and (If Paradise) Is Half As Nice. The tracks all sound remastered as well, so it is a very good compilation. Booklet notes doesn't tell me much I...
Published on 17 April 2011 by Widnes Bob

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Walk Out To Winter
Bargain purchase (and worth getting for the remastered versions) but I much prefer the earlier tracks to the later dross on this CD, wish it was in chronological order really.
Published on 9 Oct 2011 by A. Clarke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive collection of the Aztec Camera years, 17 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk Out To Winter: The Best Of Aztec Camera (Audio CD)
The third compilation issued by Warner of Aztec Camera's 6 albums over 2 discs highlights most of the excellent singles (albeit in album form) and a smattering of rare tracks such as the cover versions of Jump, True Colors and (If Paradise) Is Half As Nice. The tracks all sound remastered as well, so it is a very good compilation. Booklet notes doesn't tell me much I didn't already know about Aztec Camera - especially that Aztec Camera was essentially Roddy Frame solo from the 'Love' album. Final bonus - excellent pricing for the compilation too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice step back in time, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk Out To Winter: The Best Of Aztec Camera (Audio CD)
I didn't realise that Aztec Camera had made so many songs, but all the well known favourites are on here and thats the main thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Aztec camera, 18 May 2011
By 
P. Gibson (Cumbria , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk Out To Winter: The Best Of Aztec Camera (Audio CD)
For someone wanting to get an idea of the breadth and diversity of Roddy Frames early work as Aztec Camera, you couldn't go far wrong.For the full effect though I'd encourage you to indulge in the albums themselves. For two full CDs, good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'High Land Hard Rain' should be your first buy but this is great..., 19 Feb 2014
By 
David Anderson "cloudbase301" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk Out To Winter: The Best Of Aztec Camera (Audio CD)
Aztec Camera were a breath of fresh air when they released High Land Hard Rain back in the early 1980s. Surrounded by endless synth bands, they carved beautiful love songs into Thatchers's greed ridden ("no such thing as...") society. Despite the occasional dip, Roddy Frame has produced an arsenal of wonderful songs, many of which are on here. While Hard Land Hard Rain should be your first buy, this is a great set for the car, despite the annoying compressed quality, which is why a star is removed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Walk Out To Winter: The Best Of Aztec Camera, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk Out To Winter: The Best Of Aztec Camera (Audio CD)
Its a very nice album with many of my favorites from the 80s. Brings back fond memories of younger days, thank you :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GET HIGH LAND HARD RAIN AND THIS!, 21 Mar 2011
By 
P. Storey "pstorey" (newcastle upon tyne, tyne and wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk Out To Winter: The Best Of Aztec Camera (Audio CD)
I LOVED HIGH LAND ,HARD RAIN ONE OF THE GREAT 80' ALBUMS, KNIFE WAS A SLIGHT DISAPPOINTMENT AND MUCH MORE POLISHED BUT STILL HAD GREAT SONGS LOVE WAS DIFFERENT AGAIN AND HAD A COUPLE OF HITS BUT ALWAYS GREAT SONGS. success gradually diminished in terms of the charts but the songs were always there. I have all the cds they made and this is a great way of listening to the different styles along with a few extras i dont have.

start with high land hard rain which is a classic then top up with this if you dont want to get the other cds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Walk Out To Winter, 9 Oct 2011
By 
A. Clarke "Kit Nubbles" (South Northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk Out To Winter: The Best Of Aztec Camera (Audio CD)
Bargain purchase (and worth getting for the remastered versions) but I much prefer the earlier tracks to the later dross on this CD, wish it was in chronological order really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walk Out To Winter: The Best Of Aztec Camera
Walk Out To Winter: The Best Of Aztec Camera by Aztec Camera (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews