Customer Reviews


276 Reviews
5 star:
 (224)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect start to your end-of-shave routine
If you wet shave - and especially if you wet shave "properly" with a double-edge safety razor - then you need one of these in your shaving bowl... end of. This is a solid block of the same material small styptic pencils are made of and if you look after it, it will last you a very long time.

Alum is a styptic (stops bleeding) and an astringent (closes up the...
Published on 11 Dec. 2011 by Simon Newton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars however I wouldn't say it soothes shaving irritation very effectively - stings like buggery on application and then my skin stil
Reasonably priced, seems par for the course against other online sources. Arrived quickly with amazon prime ~ 20 hours after ordering. Fuss free packaging... a simple cardboard box, sized to fit the block.

Should last years if dried off after use.

Have given it 3 out of 5 because it does indeed stop bleeding rapidly ~2-3 seconds, however I wouldn't...
Published 5 months ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect start to your end-of-shave routine, 11 Dec. 2011
By 
Simon Newton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you wet shave - and especially if you wet shave "properly" with a double-edge safety razor - then you need one of these in your shaving bowl... end of. This is a solid block of the same material small styptic pencils are made of and if you look after it, it will last you a very long time.

Alum is a styptic (stops bleeding) and an astringent (closes up the pores) and a natural antiseptic. After you have shaved and had a cold-water rinse wet the block and run it all over your still-wet face. If you have shaved carefully and accurately you should only feel a very mild tightening sensation. Any areas where you went a bit too hard, caused excessive irritation or nicked yourself badly will give a good sting for a moment - a useful tool to show you where you might be lacking in a bit of technique! You can then leave it to dry for a while before rinsing again. Let your face dry again and follow up with your favourite post-shave balm and/or moisturiser. It has an almost magical ability to stop bleeding from nicks and to cool and soothe any razor burn.

Once you have finished, rinse off the block under the tap and dry it thoroughly before putting it away otherwise it will dissolve away more quickly. If you look after it like this (and don't drop it, it will shatter) then it should last you a ridiculously long time. Great value.

If you don't use one in your shaving routine then you really ought to buy one right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to The DE shaving kit, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Osma Bloc - Alum Block 75g (Soothes Shaving Irritation) (Personal Care)
At first I noticed little difference but persisted for several shaves and now have noticed the areas that tended to get a bit red/bleeding are now disappearing.

After your shave and whilst the face is still wet run the block over your face paying particular attention to any problem areas and hold over these areas for a few seconds (will sting a little). Then let your face dry for a good minute or two then rinse off and apply your favourite aftershave balm.

My advice is to persist for several shaves and you will be impressed by the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally,something to get rid of my acne, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. A. T. Wheeler "A.T.J.W" (UK, Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Im 33 & still suffer from pretty bad acne,tried all the creams,washes,prescription creams,pills etc,nothing really worked or had side affects.Was chatting to my Algerian friend at work about shaving & he said this stone/crystal was good for sealing small nicks,read up on it & realised it can help with acne.I use it to wash my face morning & night,within a few days my acne had pretty much gone,i get the odd spot maybe once a week but its worked a treat in getting rid of most of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential addition for wet shavers, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
D. Nixon "st4" (Middlesbrough,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Osma Bloc - Alum Block 75g (Soothes Shaving Irritation) (Personal Care)
These little blocks are an essential addition if you wet shave.

After you have shaven and rinsed your face run some water over this little block and then rub it all over your freshly shaven face for about a minute or so, once done pat your face dry.

What does it do? If you ever had those annoying nicks and cuts this will help them to stop them bleeding and it acts as an antiseptic and cools the skin after your shave. Ripped the head of a spot shaving? Come on we've all done it! Leave this wet block on your face, where it is no doubt bleeding profusely! and these will help stop the bleeding without resorting to toilet roll or something similar.

It looks quite small, how long will it last? Years - really. Once you have finished using the block, rinse it and leave it to air dry - buy it a soap dish and leave it on there to dry. I had my previous block for three years and it had hardly shrunk - don't drop them on the floor like I did they shatter - hence the new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works., 17 Jun. 2010
By 
J. Homfray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very old school wetshaving item, but as with most traditional wetshaving gear - its superior to the newer high tech products.

Keep your face wet and rub the block over your face (It will sting a touch).
The Alum acts as a Styptic and as a balm - Closing any minor nicks and also soothing any burn and toning your face.

Let it dry then wash off (else you will have a slightly regency powdered look to your face) followed by some moisturizer.

This block is good quality and an adequate size for use on your face - should last you a good while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A naturally occuring salt, great as both a coagulant AND deodorant, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Osma Bloc - Alum Block 75g (Soothes Shaving Irritation) (Personal Care)
Check out "alum" on Wikipedia: this is a cool salt that actually has many uses. It's been used by people since the Egyptian times!

Here are a few other little tips and facts that'll hopefully help you with this purchase:

- You'll want to finalizing EVERY shave with this (even if you don't nick yourself). It is an antibacterial so helps keep away any rashes or spots.

- After shaving you'll also find it's an AMAZING antiperspirant. Rub a little water into your armpits then rub this block around them. The antibacterial property of this block will kill the bacteria that cause odor and make it safe for use on your face the next time.

- I think this 75g block in the cardboard box is better than the 100g one in the perspex box. It always needs damp skin to work on, but water will slowly dissolve it. The cardboard takes a little of the remaining water off the block and so extends its life. The only reason to go for the one in the perspex box would be if it needs to travel with you.

- Even using multiple times a week, I expect this block to last a year. So it's really good value for money, you don't need to try and hunt down the cheapest offer on it. Buying a single 75g block at a time is fine.

- Be a little mindful that this is a salt block. It's not amazingly fragile but a full drop to the floor will probably shatter it.

Hope the above helps. And if you're putting together a double edge shaving kit as a present for someone, be sure to add this little guy as it's just too cool to skip over :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 28 Jan. 2012
Having recently converted to the joys of safety razor shaving, this is an essential bit of kit if you want to avoid razor burn, and to sooth any minor nicks.

Like all great products, this is an old traditional favourite, and has stood the test of time for a reason....it works! Simply run the block under cold water and run over your face and neck, let it dry and then rub your face clean with a damp cold flannel. It acts as a styptic and closes and tiny nicks you may have received and leaves your skin wonderfully taut. Use some moisturiser afterwards for a final touch.

These blocks are small but last for ages, I have two, one at home and one in my wash bag for travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important part of my routine, 12 Aug. 2012
By 
D. Greer (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fairly recent convert to traditional shaving I bought this as I thought I would need it to deal with the expected nicks and cuts as part of learning a new technique; in that respect it worked admirably. What I didn't expect is how beneficial I would find it even when I didn't hack myself.
Following the shave with a cold rinse and then wetting the block before running it over the face gives my skin a pleasant tingle and also highlights where my technique is still lacking. Giving it a couple of minutes to tone the face before rinsing and continuing with an aftershave balm leaves my skin smooth and toned, and feeling great.
The block is smaller than I expected but will clearly last quite some time, that's if I don't drop it again - as a mineral block it will chip if it is dropped on a hard surface.
Overall a fantastic purchase and an invaluable part of my daily routine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effective against cuts; may help against razor rash., 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At 32 years old, I'm finally learning to shave, having used an electric razor all my life.

I have a thick, heavy beard and slightly sensitive skin, so have been experimenting with different blades to find one that cuts my hair satisfactory without taking off too much skin or cutting me to ribbons.

This is an unpleasant process of trial and error - but without this product, it would be much harder. I just run the alum block briefly under the tap then brush it against the shaved area of my face.

For razor burn, it stings briefly when applied, but seems to deaden the sensation very quickly.
For cuts, it stings quite acutely, then the cut seems to close up.

The biggest problem I have is remembering to wash the lather off my face before applying the alum!

I have not tried any other alum-type products to compare this to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would have given this product a 5 star rating if it had a container of some sort rather than just the cadboard and plastic wrapper, but that shouldn't put you off, if you are wet shaving(de or straight razor) running the alum under cold water then rubbing this over your freshly shaved face is a must before applying lotion or balm, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Osma Bloc - Alum Block 75g (Soothes Shaving Irritation)
£5.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews