Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly researched and highly addictive
I knew having read 'Racers' by Williams to leave a full day free to read this book cover to cover. It is highly addictive. Key is the writing style and the involvement you feel for Ferrari the man and his passion. Not only does the book chronicle the extraordinary mans life, but it provides a valuable perspective on the development of Grand Prix racing in the 20th...
Published on 19 Feb 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ferrari remains an enigma .
Having thoroughly enjoyed Richard Williams account of the 1957 Pescara Grand Prix 'The Last Road Race' I approached this book with eager anticipation . I was disappointed . Richard Wiliams writes with fine style but I regret that , even after reading this book , Enzo Ferrari remains an enigma to me . Williams writes exceedingly well but never fully penetrates Ferraris...
Published on 17 April 2012 by A.J. Reynolds


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly researched and highly addictive, 19 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ferrari (Hardcover)
I knew having read 'Racers' by Williams to leave a full day free to read this book cover to cover. It is highly addictive. Key is the writing style and the involvement you feel for Ferrari the man and his passion. Not only does the book chronicle the extraordinary mans life, but it provides a valuable perspective on the development of Grand Prix racing in the 20th century - its glories and its sadness. Do not expect to pick up this book for your coffee table - the images are in the text and in the imagination. A first class book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ferrari remains an enigma ., 17 April 2012
This review is from: Enzo Ferrari: A Life (Paperback)
Having thoroughly enjoyed Richard Williams account of the 1957 Pescara Grand Prix 'The Last Road Race' I approached this book with eager anticipation . I was disappointed . Richard Wiliams writes with fine style but I regret that , even after reading this book , Enzo Ferrari remains an enigma to me . Williams writes exceedingly well but never fully penetrates Ferraris complex personality .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pictorially Flawed, 21 Sep 2011
By 
R. Hart (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enzo Ferrari: A Life (Paperback)
This is a great book, don't get me wrong! I read it with the book in one hand and the internet in the other - if ever a book needed PICTURES then this is it. Why, oh why, oh why, was this fantastic history not illustrated with the beautiful cars (and drivers) and arenas that litter its superbly written prose? I sincerely hope that when/if it is updated with sufficient pictorial elegance to support the eloquent words. It would be an instant bestseller with every petrolhead and F1 freak buying a copy. Frustrating beyond belief, but a wonderful historical document and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb read!, 30 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enzo Ferrari: A Life (Paperback)
What an excellent read! The book tells the story of mr. Ferrari. The good thing is, it's not only about mr. Ferrari. You also read about the cars, races and drivers.

I bought the book after reading 'the last road race', also an excellent read. And I'm definitely going to look out for other books from mr. R. Williams!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The legend of Scuderia Ferrari, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enzo Ferrari: A Life (Paperback)
Richard Williams' story of the career of the legendary Enzo Ferrari is a quality read. The book may not go into too much detail of his personal life but the story is told through the racing team he built, the drivers he employed and those he lost, his relationships with those drivers, and those who worked for him. It builds a story of a man stubborn, but determined. Richard Williams' writing style keeps you entertained throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 17 Jun 2013
This review is from: Enzo Ferrari: A Life (Paperback)
Absoloutley loved this book...so many emotions! I always love Richard Williams' writing and would reccommend this and other books of his to anyone and everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enzo Ferrari: A Life (Kindle Edition)
A truly fantastic account of the legend himself! Read it from start to finish in Afghanistan and what a book to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You'd be forgiven for thinking this was about great racing drivers!, 21 April 2010
By 
A. LaCour (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enzo Ferrari: A Life (Paperback)
This book is a real puzzle. I'm convinced if you gave it to someone without the cover or introduction pages, asked them to read it, they would say it was about the great drivers of the 30's, 40's, 50's, 60's etc. Ferrari doesn't actually feature much in the book and I don't feel I know much more about him now than before I read the book.

I've found better information about Ferrari, his team and career in compendium books on motorsport than this one. His life really is treated with a very light touch at best.

Can't recommend it, I suspect there are better out there on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enzo Ferrari: A Life
Enzo Ferrari: A Life by Richard Williams
5.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews