Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabby
a darker tale than usual. althought there is the usual girl meets boy, they fall in love etc which is very endearing, the more interesting part of the story is the cousin tourqil stangeness and aunt minerva's apparent kindness. wont spoil the story but it is very obvious at the begininng what is going on but as the story unfolds, the secrets are revealed.
Published on 2 Mar 2008 by Lindymck

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cousin Kate
This is an exciting story, with suspense mounting slowly as the story unfolds. At times the sense of how trapped Kate had become was scary enough to make the hairs stand up on the back of my neck. I thought she was an appealing heroine for most of the time. But I did find her determination not to believe the worst, despite all the evidence, rather irritating after a...
Published on 7 Mar 2007 by Elizabeth Trigg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cousin Kate, 7 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cousin Kate (Hardcover)
This is an exciting story, with suspense mounting slowly as the story unfolds. At times the sense of how trapped Kate had become was scary enough to make the hairs stand up on the back of my neck. I thought she was an appealing heroine for most of the time. But I did find her determination not to believe the worst, despite all the evidence, rather irritating after a while. It isn't one of Heyer's best, but I liked it enough to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabby, 2 Mar 2008
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cousin Kate (Paperback)
a darker tale than usual. althought there is the usual girl meets boy, they fall in love etc which is very endearing, the more interesting part of the story is the cousin tourqil stangeness and aunt minerva's apparent kindness. wont spoil the story but it is very obvious at the begininng what is going on but as the story unfolds, the secrets are revealed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual light-hearted romp, but a great read, 21 Mar 2001
By 
Ms. Fiona E. Middlemist (Nothumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cousin Kate (Paperback)
Cousin Kate is a more serious Heyer heroine, and this is a more serious story, with Gothic overtones which are, however, more believable that the true Gothick Romance of Mrs Ratcliffe and the like because the tale is told so calmly. Yes, there is madness, sudden death and wicked plots. But a charming, independently minded heroine and a strong, sensible and reasonably handsome hero win through. This may be less fun than some, but I would highly recommend it - and for more than one reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love Heyer but this is far from her best, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cousin Kate (Paperback)
I love Georgette Heyer generally but this book became a chore to read. It starts off well with Kate as one of Heyer's attractive and energetic heroines: alone in the world, she accepts an invitation from a long-lost aunt - but things soon take a sinister turn at Staplewood.

This uses a Pride & Prejudice narrative in miniature to shape the relationship between Kate and the hero, and mixes it up with Jane Eyre and other gothic novels. But the sparkle of Heyer's best novels is missing and Kate starts to become irritating as she persists in believing that nothing is wrong at Staplewood and that her aunt and cousin are behaving perfectly normally no matter how much she uncovers, or how many people tell her otherwise.

So if you haven't read Heyer before this really isn't the place to start - this displays some of the elegant writing that we have come to expect, but the plotting is a little haphazard and the romantic chemistry is severely limited. Heyer can write far better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 22 May 2009
This review is from: Cousin Kate (Paperback)
This is quite a different book by Georgette Heyer. Liked it very much though slightly uncomfortable at times. There is still the usual romance there but not where Minerva wants it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 1 Oct 2008
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am currently working my way through Georgette Heyer's novels and this was one of the last that I got to. It's less popular (so less available in libraries) but I cannot really account for this.

Cousin Kate is a great story. It bears some similarities to other Heyer books (particularly The Quiet Gentleman) in the plot of an evil scheming relative - in this case, a mad one. The romance with Philip Broome is gently and believably done, and as always the period detail is excellent.

Heyer is very good at painting different characters with their foibles and idiosyncrasies. As in many other books, the servants seem to have a slavish devotion to their masters - this is the only part of the books that doesn't ring true to me, but perhaps this is what things were like then.

I recommend this book as a good gentle read, with dark overtones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming Read, 11 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cousin Kate (Paperback)
Cousin Kate is a charming book about a young woman who is saved from the drudgery of employment by an Aunt she has never met.
She is swept of to the luxury of Staplewood a beautiful estate owned by Sir Timothy.
Kate soon finds out that she is living in a divided house and the behaviour of some of her family leave her asking questions.
This is a book to be read time and time again, it is my personal favourite Georgette Heyer book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 1 Oct 2008
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am currently working my way through Georgette Heyer's novels and this was one of the last that I got to. It's less popular (so less available in libraries) but I cannot really account for this.

Cousin Kate is a great story. It bears some similarities to other Heyer books (particularly The Quiet Gentleman) in the plot of an evil scheming relative - in this case, a mad one. The romance with Philip Broome is gently and believably done, and as always the period detail is excellent.

Heyer is very good at painting different characters with their foibles and idiosyncrasies. As in many other books, the servants seem to have a slavish devotion to their masters - this is the only part of the books that doesn't ring true to me, but perhaps this is what things were like then.

I recommend this book as a good gentle read, with dark overtones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark and unsettling, 10 April 2010
This review is from: Cousin Kate (Paperback)
Not one of my favourite Heyer novels. The book is quite unsettling and her treatment of madness unsympathetic. The hero is very dour and the aunt a monster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cousin Kate, 12 Feb 2011
This review is from: Cousin Kate (Paperback)
Cousin Kate
Having recently started to re-read for the umpteenth time all my complete Georgette Heyer collection I arrived at Cousin Kate. Havimg read it after reading several other of Miss Heyer's books in quick succession the I could not believe how different it is from her other Regency books. I allow that it is 'darker' than most of the others but it is not just that. The writing is clumsy and at times the language is far too modern for Regency. For instance why does she keep calling Philip 'Mr Philip Broome' in every sentence?. In The Quiet Gentleman by contrast she calls Martin and Theo simply by their first names or occasionally 'Mr Frant'. In Cousin Kate there is no lightness of touch, no sparkle and no real feel for the era. I seriously wonder if there was another hand involved in writing this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cousin Kate
Cousin Kate by Georgette Heyer
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews