Customer Reviews


1,111 Reviews
5 star:
 (818)
4 star:
 (148)
3 star:
 (74)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War Horse
War Horse is a well-crafted typically Spielberg film about a boy and his horse. A farm boy trains a rough and ready horse to plough his parents field. His taming on this unruly creature sparks a loving relationship between the pair which is sustained through many challenges to come.

Joey the horse is one of the most compelling characters to grace the silver...
Published 24 days ago by T. Cosens

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Spielberg's best
Michael Morpurgo wrote This classic children's story which found its way to the stage as an amazing play: now Stephen Spielberg has brought it to the big screen.

The story itself deals with the strength of equine and human spirits in the face of what are now the almost unimaginable privations of the First World War. Spielberg is well qualified to deal with such...
Published on 14 Jan 2012 by Crookedmouth


‹ Previous | 1 2112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War Horse, 2 Dec 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
War Horse is a well-crafted typically Spielberg film about a boy and his horse. A farm boy trains a rough and ready horse to plough his parents field. His taming on this unruly creature sparks a loving relationship between the pair which is sustained through many challenges to come.

Joey the horse is one of the most compelling characters to grace the silver screen in some time. The trainers on this film are to be applauded for their handling as Joey is often hugely expressive with a tilt of the head or a fling of his mane. The heart of the audience is with Joey and it is a joy to watch him through his endless trials.

Joey finds himself separated from Albert when he is sold to the army to be used in the war. Albert is too young to become a soldier but vows to find Joey and bring him home.

The war scenes are typically gritty but are fairly short lived, this is a story about a horse not the violence that war brings. As to be expected the emotional beats are plentiful and the cinematography is superb ably backed up with one of John Williams’ most stirring scores.

Spielberg knows how to tug at the heart strings but here there is a little more subtlety, although an overly cheesy parting shot does threaten to derail the whole experience.

Soaring and grand and full of emotion War Horse is a surprise treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little melodramatic and not "realistic" but it works., 19 Dec 2014
This review is from: War Horse [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The perfect companion for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

Unabashedly sentimental, emotionally direct and certainly aiming for a very broad audience, Spielberg's "War Horse" is a really interesting homage to an old fashioned epic Hollywood film-making style.

Everything about the film is obviously a little melodramatic and not "realistic" in the way "Saving Private Ryan" was, but I don't think Spielberg is trying to make the "Saving Private Ryan" of World War I movies here. This is a movie so earnest and straightforward, it's almost more of a children's fairy tale or fable (the 1982 novel is apparently categorized as a "children's book"). So as a viewer, I guess you either give in to the style or it just doesn't work for you, but for me, it's a surprisingly affecting film.

And what I think I enjoy the most about "War Horse" is the cinematography, which is nothing short of spectacular. Spielberg and Janusz Kaminski are obviously in complete control of their craft and here they're really showing off their stuff. I don't think "War Horse" as a whole is quite up there with the "great" Spielberg films, but in terms of cinematography, it is. The lighting, framing, use of natural landscapes, camera moves... it's all on display here and it all works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War Horse- the way films use to be made..., 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: War Horse [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I tried not to read the reviews or hype about this film as I wanted to experience it without any bias.From the opening scene of the lush fields of an English country-side, the idealic stone farmhouse- the flushed cheeks and blue eyes of our young hero,Jeremy Irvine and the sleek chestnut tones and velvet black eyes of the main protagonist Joey- everything glowed with the technicolour of days gone past.
Spielberg and Williams are a match made in cinema heaven - for each shot that has an emotional charge, the score will take you by the hand to get you there-to those emotional highs and lows. Remember the days of Star Wars , Raiders of the Last Ark, ET; beloved films that are permanently etched onto our frontal lobe, with a great composer and a great director, being the artists who put them there.
War Horse has that kind of magic. Originating from a Michael Morpugo book,whose narratives always seem to hover around those sentimental heart strings and the dynamic duo are now a trio. For those nay-sayers , pounding your little fists and shouting, 'manipulative film-making'- News Flash! All film-making is supposed to and designed to have an impact on the viewer and most filmakers try very hard to achieve this- it's just that Spielberg does it so much better.
There is plenty to sink your teeth into with this wonderful film including a marvelous ensemble cast. Take the family or just yourself- and bring the tissues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very moving experience., 29 Nov 2014
This review is from: War Horse [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This film is the film that exceeds all others...I am not ashamed to say that ,especially in the last 15 minutes, tears were running down my cheeks...No I am not a wimp--far from it-I am a 6ft 4inch -- 16 stone rugby loving epitome of masculinity but boy--there are some very moving eras in the life of the War Horse. This is a film NOT to miss..believe me. What I was impressed with was the way all through the film,including the 14-18 war era ,there was an absence of foul language and gore. Well done to all those involved in the making of such a brilliant film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning, 3 May 2012
I want to give this 4.5/5, but I can't. After reading the book, learning about it in English lessons, seeing the West End play, I knew straight away I had to see this. I loved War Horse in every format, especially the film. Like the title says, it is Visually Stunning, and will be stunning on Blu-ray. The acting is amazing, it's really enjoyable and you will certainly feel the pain of the horse. I especially love War Horse because you get to see what it's like on both sides of the war and it's not biased at all. I believe to have ranked it 3rd in my top films of 2012 so far. 4.5/5 stars

UPDATE: As of 24/12/12, it's 9th on my Top 10 of 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horse..um!!!, 1 Feb 2012
By 
wayne "shygi" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War Horse [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Just been to see this film with some friends and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. From the opening shots of rural Devon and the English countryside, the stunning battle sequences, (the charge through the camp sequence is truly stunning!) and the wonderful heart warming scenes peppered throughout this film IS the film of 2012.
Steven Spielberg captures every scene between the boy and his horse beautifully and indeed the horse itself is a truly magnificent creature. If an animal were ever offered an oscar nomimation Joey the horse would certainly be up for it.
Steven once again captures the horrors of war brilliantly once again but doesn't take it to extremes thus losing the focus on the real story which is of course the horse.
I can honestly say I have never been so moved by a movie of this caliber for a very long time. Might want to pack some Kleenex though!
A five star treat!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long faced look at war, 28 Feb 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: War Horse [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
More recently Steven Spielberg has become known as a producer, in fact his directing credits are becoming less common.

In the past year he has produced the brillant Super 8, one of my favorites, directed by JJ Abrams, the creator, writer and occasional director of Lost, and the recent Star trek. Super 8 is a great nostalgia piece evoking the early eighties, and an homage to Spielberg's earliest movies. Spielberg also produced Cowboys and Aliens, a somewhat weird meshing of two genres.

Now with War Horse Spielberg directs, and shows his masterful touches throughout. In fact, if you are like me you can see traces of many great movies of the past. The early portions of the movies showing English countryside scenes, and the musical soundtrack of John Williams are reminiscent of John Ford's The Quiet Man. Trench warfare scenes are reminiscent of that all time classic All Quiet on the Western Front. Incidents relating to deserting soldiers are thematically reminiscent of Kubrick's Paths of Glory.

War, as bad as it is, somehow seems worse when an innocent animal is involved, which ultimately makes War Horse the ultimate anti war polemic. And we have a love story between a young boy Albert, and a horse named Joey. As the movie begins we see the horse being born.

Later Albert's alcoholic father instead of buying a proper plough horse, foolishly pits himself agaainst his own landlord in bidding for the flash horse Joey, instead of a huge Clydesdale, making his tenancy precarious, and imperiling his families limited fortunes. Joey faces many trials and tribulations adjusting to the plough. Here we have a wonderful perforamnce from Emily Watson as the mother, cruelly snubbed during award season.

When the war happens the father impulsively sells the horse to the military, despite Albert's protests. Albert, understandably distressed, too young to join the military, vows to be reunited with Joey. Meanwhile Joey goes to the front, and we have a poignant scene with his new owner. He and another horse escape the war briefly, and are adopted by a teenage girl. It's not long before the war interferes again, and Joey has a series of adventures. My favorite scene is when he gets trapped in No Mans land, and both sides have to cooperate to free him. I loved the wire clippers flying scene. I also loved the sub story about the two young German brothers, and the parallel structure about how the British deal with a similar situation.

Ultimately the horse is a silent witness to the horror of war, becoming an effective storytelling metaphor.

Later in the movie one scene I thought was a little overdone, the moment of blindfold recognition. I like to feel emotions in a movie, but not to have them evoked in a contrived way.

Warhorse certainly deserves to be nominated for Best Picture and Best Cinematography, yet I cannot help thinking that actors who vote for awards would prefer as I do to have the story centered around a human character. Nevetheless, when I was a child or young teen I loved watching movies like this, particularly Lassie Goes to war.

Another movie I recommend if you don't mind subtitles is the French movie A Very Long Engagement - 2 Disc Edition [DVD], starring Audrey Tautou, and Academy Award winner Marion Cotillard. A girl seeks her boyfriend believed killed by being sent over the trench deliberately into no mans land for breaking military regulations. It has huge parallels with War Horse except the protagonists are human, and also operates as a polemic. A beautifully filmed touching love story set against the war.

I think you will love it, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars war horse, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
brilliant...nearly intears ...the story was about a young lads love for a horse which was reciprocated,they both find themselves being dragged through a world war together but finally coming home to peace.. the whole story was done in such a mesmerising way that it held your attention from start to finish..the brutality and compassion found in war was put over in such a compelling way that even now monthes after watching it i am still affected by it..i would recommend this to ADULT audiences only(far too upsetting for children) even though i did intially think that it would be good for my grandaughter- luckily i watched it first as i realised then it was the stuff of nightmares for young-and maybe even older-kids even in these enlightened days..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Remarkable Horse, 4 May 2012
By 
Ra Rising (BOURNEMOUTH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the years greatest injustices must have been Stephen Speilbergs `The War Horse' being ignored at the Oscars.
It should, in my opinion have won a cart full of awards.
The film, made by a master craftsman is quite exquisite to look at, the performances are all genuine and very moving.
The music by Mr Speilbergs long time friend and composer John Williams is, as always spot on. Never intrusive, but beautiful to listen to.
The Blu-Ray is flawless, detailed and showing off the magnificent cinematography by Janusz Kaminski.
The disc is a bit short on special features, having just 20mins round the table chat with cast and producers.
However the film is the important thing, and as such it is a treat for the eye, the ear, and the soul!
Buy it end enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Spielberg's best, 14 Jan 2012
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (Somewhere in the Jurassic...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: War Horse [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Michael Morpurgo wrote This classic children's story which found its way to the stage as an amazing play: now Stephen Spielberg has brought it to the big screen.

The story itself deals with the strength of equine and human spirits in the face of what are now the almost unimaginable privations of the First World War. Spielberg is well qualified to deal with such subjects: I have just finished watching The Pacific and it's interesting to make the comparison. Typically Spielbergian camera shots abound, the choreographing of the battlefield scenes is exquisite and the attention to military details is obvious. Nevertheless this is, unlike Saving Private Ryanfor instance, a family film and while it doesn't shy away from the nastiness of the war, it remains sensitive to its younger audience members. I did take exception to Albert's rather miraculous recovery from what must obviously have been a fairly light gassing and I wondered at the sight of a Devonshire infantry regiment going "over the top" to the accompaniment of the bagpipes.

While the camerawork is excellent, the same cannot be said of other aspects of the production, with some glaring continuity errors and some appaling lighting work with characters casting three or four shadows in many scenes. Perhaps I'm too harsh and younger viewers may not notice these things.

My wife observed that the film remained faithful to the original story and while some inevitable editing had taken place, the main story elements were preserved and there was little mucking about from the screenwriters. I however I felt that the film tended to lose the book's focus on Joey the horse and the film was as much, if not more, about the human characters (Albert in particular).

In the end, this is a decent piece of cinematic story telling, engaging, exciting and emotional. It is quite appropriate for younger viewers but they will need some adult help in understanding the issues raised. To a more critical eye however, it's clear that Spielberg took his eye off the ball with this one and it's by no means one of his best. I guess it will depend on the viewer but I found it to be a bit of a disappointment after the hype. My wife enjoyed it far more than I did.

And neither of us cried!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Horse [DVD] [2011]
War Horse [DVD] [2011] by Steven Spielberg (DVD - 2012)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews