Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No splitting this Atom, it has got a rock solid heart.
Real Steel is directed by Shawn Levy and collectively adapted to the screen by John Gatins, Dan Gilroy and Jeremy Leven from a Richard Matheson short story called Steel. It stars Hugh Jackman, Dakota Goyo, Evangeline Lilly, Anthony Mackie, Kevin Durand, Hope Davis and James Rebhorn. Music is scored by Danny Elfman and cinematography by Mauro Fiore.

Set in the...
Published 23 months ago by Spike Owen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Real steel
This was a very good film and much more interesting than I thought it would be, it even deserves a second viewing.
Published 7 months ago by Jo


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No splitting this Atom, it has got a rock solid heart., 27 July 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Real Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Real Steel is directed by Shawn Levy and collectively adapted to the screen by John Gatins, Dan Gilroy and Jeremy Leven from a Richard Matheson short story called Steel. It stars Hugh Jackman, Dakota Goyo, Evangeline Lilly, Anthony Mackie, Kevin Durand, Hope Davis and James Rebhorn. Music is scored by Danny Elfman and cinematography by Mauro Fiore.

Set in the near future, robot boxing is a big crowd pulling sport. After a struggling robot operator is introduced to an 11-year-old son he has never known, they stumble upon a discarded robot at a junk yard....

We can all moan about the mimicry of an idea and the clichés that dominate Real Steel, but you really got to hand it to the makers for what they have achieved. They have crafted a family film that's perfect in this day and age. The story is one that any adult Sylvester Stallone fan can acknowledge and appreciate, the human heartbeat pleasingly steady, while the premise of big colourful robots beating the crap out of each other delights youngsters and us adults who are young at heart. Film pretty much does what any other film of this type does, lays on the syrup in the last quarter where second chances and family strife come thundering through the plotting. Undeniably it's hugely derivative, events are joystick operated to get an emotional response from a family audience, while product placement reins and the script often sags under the weight of unoriginality. But it does uplift the spirit and getting to the end is easy since it's so much berserker fun. Yes it's Atom the people's champion, yes it's David V Goliath and yes! It's Balboa V Creed. Nothing wrong with that really.

The cast don't really have to offer up much beyond being adequate within the context of the material, though a muscular Jackman finds good paternal chemistry with young Goyo. In fact Goyo is pleasingly not annoying, always a bonus is that. Inevitably the robots are the stars, they're a triumph of design and visual effects and a sight for sore eyes, while Levy has a good handle on staging the fight sequences; even when cribbing from Balboa. The near future look is terrific as well, with Fiore's colour photography very appealing. Coining in over $290 million at the worldwide box office (over 180 million in profit), Real Steel found the family audience it was looking for, proving once again that there is a market for simple and effective popcorn carnage. It's not high art or intelligently scripted, but was anyone seriously thinking that was going to be the case here? If you want brains with this premise then seek out Twilight Zone episode "Steel", starring the excellent Lee Marvin, otherwise just sit back and enjoy the ride and let the botty bots and human interest raise the pulse and gladden the heart respectively. 7/10

Home format release is a sparkling print, extras are annoyingly short but the blooper reel is fun, we get a stunt deconstruction, and we learn about the influence a certain Mr. Spielberg had on the production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun to watch!, 16 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Steel [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film! Such an action packed family film that will have you off your seat. Highly recommended to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun to watch!, 10 April 2012
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Real Steel [DVD] (DVD)
We sat and watched this with the kids last night and we all loved it. My 12 year old said it was awesome! I see someone else said it was like Rocky meets Transformers and yes, that probably sums it up well. The storyline can be a tad predictable, but its still very enjoyable. At the start of the film Hugh Jackman is a struggling robot boxing promoter - going through a very bad patch (everything he touches seems to go wrong) - who "agrees" to spend time with his 11 year old son who he hasnt seen since he was a baby. A typical Underdog movie, the heroes struggle throughout the movie but come out victorious in the end - the boxing scenes are good and you cannot help but smile at the dancing Atom, and find yourself shouting for him to win his boxing matches. All in all, great fun to watch and hopefully there will be a second film in the series, it was certainly left that way - my son and I agreed on one scenario which meant a follow on could be possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robot Glory, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hugh plays a mighty role worth every cent, great supporting cast with a different story that will have you on the edge seat plus entertainment, Robots fight in the ring that makes you wonder about down the track in the future. Action and suspense with the thrills and spills that go with it, what more could you want. The curves fly and things do go wrong, plus some things fall apart now. Not just a mans movie its every ones to watch and enjoy, so get with it, move on for a thrilling night of sheer delight with a mixture of feelings that have you reeling in your seat riveted to the chair. So set yourself up with the popcorn, relax and put your feet up settle for an fabulous night in with a delightful movie, a must to all to see. I rated this an A grade plus so enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 19 Nov 2013
This review is from: Real Steel [DVD] (DVD)
1 of the best movie ever produced i always watch this movies and it is good to watch trust me you all probably say transformer is better movie but this is 1 of the best ever and watch atom dance kooool...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love robots!, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Steel [DVD] (DVD)
really enjoyed this dvd, not sure that a huge robot punching a bull is desirable but it was over very quickly and the bull won!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film. Seen it many times before. Hugh jack man is so good. The film is a modern take on rocky just with robots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Steel DVD, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Rented this from blockbusters and enjoyed it so much, decided to buy a copy. Never get bored of it, excellent film for the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Real steel, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very good film and much more interesting than I thought it would be, it even deserves a second viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Steel dvd, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic, we watched this film a few months ago & loved it. It will make a great stocking filler for my son as I know he'll watch it over & over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Real Steel [DVD]
Real Steel [DVD] by Shawn Levy (DVD - 2012)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews