Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


121 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what is says on the tin-or-M16
I never do this - write a review for a film that I've seen at the cinema long before it comes out on DVD - but I felt everyone, some of whom might be put off by the sniffy negative reviews in the press, should know - when deciding on purchasing - this simple fact: Battle: Los Angeles is great!

It's Independence Day meets Saving Private Ryan - aliens v grunts in...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by Kentspur

versus
46 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, but .....
the claims made by actors, directors etc (in 'Special Features') shows that their knowledge of the 'War' and 'Sci-Fi' genres is limited.
There is nothing really unique in the movie, sorry.
The 'drama-doc' type filming was done (much better) in Saving Private Ryan. The aliens here are a mix of several previous fims (including the exo-skeleton from Independence...
Published on 12 July 2011 by BDI


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what is says on the tin-or-M16, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Kentspur (Er...Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Battle: Los Angeles [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I never do this - write a review for a film that I've seen at the cinema long before it comes out on DVD - but I felt everyone, some of whom might be put off by the sniffy negative reviews in the press, should know - when deciding on purchasing - this simple fact: Battle: Los Angeles is great!

It's Independence Day meets Saving Private Ryan - aliens v grunts in a joggly-camera, whirling ordnance, big explosion, LA-set Nirvana of shooting mayhem. The aliens are curiously limited - all that space travel and no decent AWACs or infra-red detection systems or ray guns - but that makes it a (reasonably) fair fight and allows Staff Sergeant Aaron Eckhart, Hoyt out of 'True Blood' and some other less familiar faces to actually trade fire to some effect with these extra-terrestrial scavengers.

Once the 'introduce the characters' bit is over, the film becomes a series of military cliff-hangers leavened by the odd 'come on guys' speech. A bus chase (like in Speed) gets chucked in too. There are also 'borrowings' from 'Aliens,' but it feels more like homage than plagiarism.

Crucially, it's played straight. There is no 'I know this is ridiculous' winking at the camera asides - just action. I think it's far more honest as a result. Some critics called it boorish and lacking in irony, but I think it does exactly what it says on the tin: massive shoot 'em up; Marines v Aliens; ludicrously exciting.

What's not to like?

If you know what films you like, you'll probably already know whether you want to see/own this film. It's not going to disappoint unlike some other 'actioners' I could name.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, but ....., 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle: Los Angeles [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
the claims made by actors, directors etc (in 'Special Features') shows that their knowledge of the 'War' and 'Sci-Fi' genres is limited.
There is nothing really unique in the movie, sorry.
The 'drama-doc' type filming was done (much better) in Saving Private Ryan. The aliens here are a mix of several previous fims (including the exo-skeleton from Independence Day), as are their craft (Independence Day again).

Yes, it's a 100mph all-action US 'ain't we great' offering, and I suspect the target audience is US Redneck - too much 'Hoo-hah', 'Go Marines', 'Retreat Hell no'. As a result the plot is weak.

I'm a sci-fi fan (although I prefer books), and the 'sci' is worse than non-existent. Worse because we hear statements from 'a scientist' like : 'It's the composition of our water that's unique' - a statement that would have any 12 year-old here laughing, and : '... no other locations in our know universe have liquid H2O (that's the science bit) anywhere near their surface ...' - a statement that would have anyone with even a basic knowledge of the Universe weeping in despair. Our own Milky Way is just a miniscule part of the Universe, and there are tens of thousands of Earth-like planets in it (see The Drake Equation for more info)
.
Perhaps that's just too much for the average US citizen (or even our own) to comprehend.

But for all that Hollywood dumbness, it's worth watching - for a laugh. If you're being pursued by better armed, better equipped, more technically advanced killing machines, it's best to stay quiet. Not this lot. They spend all their time shouting, screaming, yelling, and banging into things. All actions guaranteed to attract the pursuers. Back in the 1970's, the US Marines we (Royal or 'Real' Marines) played 'war games' with could never work out how we knew they were coming, and how they could never find us until we ambushed them. Simple - we heard them coming from miles away - and we kept quiet. Stealth, not 'Shock'n Awe' always wins the day in the real world.

I'll close with the film's most ridiculous statement. While ripping one of the aliens apart (again - it's been done before - with identical 'goo'), one of our heroes states ; 'It's unlike anything I've seen before !'. Well... yes. It's an alien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Battle: Los Angles (Blu-ray version), 10 April 2014
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Directed by Jonathan Liebesman Battle: Los Angles our storyline finds planet Earth being bombarded globally by meteor showers which turn out to be a cover for an alien invasion force that land off the coast of all major cities and one of the last to fall is Los Angles the squad of marines sent to retrieve civilians from a suburb is headed-up by soon to be retired Staff Sergeant Michael Nantz played by Aaron Eckhart who has previous played in big budget productions such as "The Dark Knight" and later in the tale renowned all round action girl Michelle Rodriguez known for appearances in movies such as "Avatar" and "The Fast and the Furious" franchise makes an appearance, this film does not have anything original in its running time of 116 minutes but what it is a very entertaining popcorn flick for a Saturday night with a good surround sound system and understanding neighbours Gun-ho!

This 50 GB region free disc is encoded using MPEG-4 AVC codec in full 1080p resolution and in 2.40.1 aspect ratio it also comes in living room shaking English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 and Thai Dolby Digital 5.1 the audio track delivers the sound of the battlefield with all its bass heavy explosions and the gunfire from machine-guns and other heavy ordinance along with the military vehicles to the energy weapons of the aliens and their dying gurgles with great effect.
The package comes with a good selection of subtitles which are as follows:- English, English for the hard of hearing, Greek, Hindi, Korean, Mandarin (Simplified) Mandarin Traditional, Thai.

The Special Features are as follows: - Behind the Battle, Aliens, Preparing for Battle, Creating L.A.
The Blu-ray comes with exclusives which are as follows directing the Battle, Command control Command your experience by watching picture-in-Picture and more during the movie, Boot Camp, The Free-way Battle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More a war film than a sci-fi one, but a decent watch anyway, 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: Battle: Los Angeles [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Its' Marines vs Aliens, but could just as easily be terrorists or another nation as the sci-fi is definitely secondary in Battle: Los Angles.

All the ingredients of a war film are here - buddy moments (although they don't get much development), a Sergeant who lost men in the past and lots of shooting!

The effects are decent and the scenery really does look like a war zone; you don't watch this sort of film for the acting, but it's fine throughout.

Not a film that requires thought...just sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Guilty Secret, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle: Los Angeles [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is without a doubt the biggest load of jingoistic, sabre rattling American guff I've watched for a long time and I love it. Just don't tell anybody I told you so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, OK., 2 Jan 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Battle: Los Angeles [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I guess it pretty much does what it says on the tin, even if it has designs to be more psychologically thoughtful by viewing it through the eyes of the grunts charged with saving the world from alien domination. It's all very loud and the action is frantically filmed, but this only excites for a while and it grows tiresome entering the second half of a film that runs to a (too long) near two hours. The allegorical nudges in the ribs to modern day problems are heavily handled by director Jonathan Liebesman (Wrath of the Titans), and the likes of Aaron Eckhart and Bridget Moynahan are clearly slumming it or acting out a fantasy to appear in a popcorn alien invasion pic. Good bangs and crashes movie, if that's your thing, but it has ideas above its station and can't attain the goals it set itself. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, fantastic, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle: Los Angeles [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
One of the best films ever. Yer its corney but in the good old fashioned way. Great movie, would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent condition for a used item, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle: Los Angeles [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Great condition brilliant movie what more can I say great price.once again for the money paid for this item is truely unbelievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyed this, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have seen reviews slating this movie, but i really don't know why. I found it very enjoyable. There is plenty of action and the story is engaging. The special effects are great (alien spaceships particularly). I though the cast were good as well and Aaron Eckhart makes a good action hero in the film. Although the story is about an ailen invasion it seems to be portrayed in a realistic manner and i would recommend it to action film and alien film fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wargames, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I guess since the start of wargames, such as Call of duty, these films are compared to the games and I can always "see" a similarity. But a really good enjoyable shoot 'em up film, good realistic rifle sounds. My sort of film, but as usual too many special effects, but we have to live with that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaccdc87c)

This product

Battle: Los Angeles [DVD] [2011]
Battle: Los Angeles [DVD] [2011] by Jonathan Liebesman (DVD - 2011)
2.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews