Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleasant Film
I read some bad professional, but obviously snooty, reviews of this, so wasn't expecting much. However, working on the theory that romcoms are easy on the eye and a pleasant way of spending 90 minutes, I thought it would be worth a punt.

It turned out much better than expected. Sure, the storyline is preposterous, but that's fairly common for these things...
Published on 21 Aug 2011 by E. Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite enjoyable
I love my rom-coms but I was dreading this one a bit. However, I thought it was really cute. Silly in places and preferred the beginning to the end but overall I'd recommend watching it. Easy, fluffy entertainment.
Published on 20 July 2011 by Princess Dala


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleasant Film, 21 Aug 2011
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I read some bad professional, but obviously snooty, reviews of this, so wasn't expecting much. However, working on the theory that romcoms are easy on the eye and a pleasant way of spending 90 minutes, I thought it would be worth a punt.

It turned out much better than expected. Sure, the storyline is preposterous, but that's fairly common for these things. That aside, it's a very pleasant and funny film, with beautiful location shots of Hawaii.

Adam Sandler is fairly restrained for him, and Jennifer Aniston comes across very well and believable in her part. She starts off as frumpy and lo and behold, transforms into a real stunner, who takes frequent opportunities to show off her gorgeous bod.

The only downside is the painful kids, but again that's often the case in romcoms and something you just need to put up with.

I don't know why Jennifer gets slated so much, maybe sour grapes from her phenomenal success in Friends, but my rule of thumb is that she's usually in pleasant, enjoyable films, which is the case here. Just go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Rom com., 3 Aug 2011
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Just Go With It [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
In what is becoming Adam Sandler's usual template approach to his films, i.e the films produced by his company Happy Madison like this one, if you watch his previous stuff from about 2006 with Click & I Now Pronounce You Chuck And Larry(Dennis Dugan directed Just Go With It & Chuck/Larry) you will see the usual setup of Sandler's regular actors in these films, Nick Swardson(who gets an extended run out here in place of Rob Schneider which was refreshing) , Kevin Nealon & Rachel Dratch etc... and usually a two kid setup with one girl & one boy etc.. anyway, i'm a big fan of Sandler's films & think he is a very under rated actor, as he can give outstanding serious performances, but people mainly know him more for his outrageous comedy films, so that other side of him tends to be overlooked sadly.

Just Go With It, is about plastic surgeon Danny Maccabee (Adam Sandler -Happy Gilmore) who once had his heart broken at the alter(bride played by Adams real life wife), and stumbled across the fact that while wearing his wedding ring, although not married, single attractive woman flock to him as he sells them a swan story about his wife neglecting him etc.. However one time when forgetting to put his ring on, he meets & makes love on the beach to the sexy Palmer (Brooklyn Decker -Battleship) who surprisingly finds said ring in his trousers, busted!. However Danny makes up a fake story about being in the process of being divorced, but needs to make it look real, as he really loves this chick.

He ropes in his long serving & reluctant assistant Katherine (Jennifer Aniston -Friends) to pretend to be his wife. But she has two children & mistakenly mentions them when on a date as a threesome with Palmer present, so, blackmailed by the kids to be nice to him & carry on the pretence, he is forced to take them all on a holiday to Hawaii as a fake family, where comedy & mayhem ensue. The children of the cast are very good indeed, Michael/Bart (Griffin Gluck -United States of Tara) & Maggie/Kiki Dee (Bailee Madison -Brothers). Of note, Bailee's performance was one to rival the adults & i'd say she is an actress to watch out for in future, she has a heck of a lot of work under her belt for a young lady, watch this space. Hollywood A-lister Nicole Kidman (The Others) also appears in light heart'ed mood as Devlin Adams, high school friend of Katherine, who hates her.

Overall, this was a really enjoyable film. There are some silly moments which are fun, and it is predictable in places, but on the whole it is a sweet funny Rom Com that's very much worth watching IMO. I've seen it over a dozen times myself & it still hits home. I liked the upbeat music in the movie, the good pacing of the story while maintaining the understanding behind each characters investment into the situation & the cast are on really good form. Everyone pitches in to the extent you can tell they had great fun making this movie. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, throwaway rom com., 11 Mar 2011
By 
Goodenough4me (England UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Just Go With It [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is a great date night film because it is a rom com that will appeal to both men and women. There are lots of funny moments and the film is easy to watch. Jennifer Aniston is always critised for her film roles but I think she is good in this, and her amd Adam Sandler actually have a really good chemistry.

Basically if your a fan of rom coms then you will like this, although it is definitely more com than rom!

Only thing that lets the film down is that at times it becomes a bit nonsensical, you have to take the film as it is and not think too much about whats happening. I'd still recommend watching it though. Also Nicole Kidman has a small part playing a very different character to her usual ones which is worth seeing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Go With it., 2 July 2011
Its not very often that a film title can sum up the review as well but here is seems appropriate.

I've seen a lot of people picking faults with the plot but to be honest I didn't notice any obvious plot holes. The film was funny, bizzare and actually had a nice message. Nicole Kidman and Dave Matthews sole the show, but this is also one of the best Jennifer Aniston film performances I have seen, just in terms of how believable she was, and her chemistry with Adam Sandler and her awkwardness opposite Nicole Kidman were good. Adam Sandler was funny (as usual) but you're probably not going to like this film if you hate him because he is very much in his comfort zone here.

In short, it was funny and light hearted and the perfect film to watch when you need cheering up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film!, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Go With It [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I love this film- it is one of my all time favourites! I would recommend this film to anyone who is into rom coms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Go With It [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Not ashamed to say I find Adam Sandler mildly amusing and would suggest this is one of his better films. Jennifer Aniston also good. Saw the film on a flight and happily bought it when we got home to watch again. Good family fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite enjoyable, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Just Go With It [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I love my rom-coms but I was dreading this one a bit. However, I thought it was really cute. Silly in places and preferred the beginning to the end but overall I'd recommend watching it. Easy, fluffy entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok DVD, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Go With It [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Found this DVD amusing, but rather silly in parts. We didn't think it was as good as the reviews suggested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witty, funny and an all round good family film., 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I feel Jennifer Anistons films get worse reviews because of the nature of the films that she stars in. I think they may be bored of seeing her in Romantic comedy films. However, it shouldn't matter how many or how little she has been in, but should be measured on the quality of the film.

Did it make me laugh? Yes many times throughout.

Did it have an interesting storyline? Yes it did.

Was it predictable? Of course it was, its a Romantic Comedy.

But I think we all know what will happen in this sort of film, therefore its the story, jokes and everything else that goes with it that matters most. Definitely a good film to watch with all of the family!

Its difficult say more about the film without giving the whole story and ruining the film for you, the buyer, so it may be easier for you to follow this link and watch the trailer to see what you think but this film certainly gets the thumbs up from me!

[...]

Oh and just as a side note, the quality of the Blu ray version of this movie is outstanding! Especially because most of the story is set in Hawaii where all the sun, sea and sand is massively enhanced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..ANOTHER SANDLER HIT COMEDY..", 28 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just Go With It [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Yet again another brilliant comedy from Adam Sandler, hes one great actor that remains funny down the years! This is a good warm hearted comedy thats pretty predictable from the word go but its great to see how it un-folds! The cast is very good, Jennifer Aniston is great, very sexy and one of her best roles! And Nicole Kidman was great too, good to see her in this type of mad comedy! Overall if your a big Sandler fan you should love it, its laugh out loud every step of the way with a very unique sense of humour about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just Go With It [DVD] [2011]
Just Go With It [DVD] [2011] by Dennis Dugan (DVD - 2011)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews