Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening at the very best.
This is one of those albums you put on to play in the background and suddenly find yourself humming along to all of the tunes.

It's an excellent collection put together by Amazon and works either as an introduction to the music or if you want to consolidate all of the good stuff into one album.

At the price it's difficult to find anything other than...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by Mandarin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The 2010 Remastered Album Sounds Better
I learned two lessons from this purchase:
1. The benefit of Amazon's Auto-rip.
2. (Arguably) go for quality (remastered) rather than quantity.

The 48 tracks on this album are very good, original, mono recordings.
However, after receiving the disc I compared the sound with the Amazon samples of the 2010 remastered "Very Best of Glenn Miller" (24...
Published 6 months ago by Stuart Cornes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening at the very best., 13 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those albums you put on to play in the background and suddenly find yourself humming along to all of the tunes.

It's an excellent collection put together by Amazon and works either as an introduction to the music or if you want to consolidate all of the good stuff into one album.

At the price it's difficult to find anything other than praise for the album.

all good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 48 reasons to buy...Glenn Miller greats, 21 Mar 2011
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Glenn Miller (Audio CD)
Here you will discover 48 original recordings featuring all the well loved vocalists of the band and the key recordings they made during the period 1937 to 1944. The running time is approx 151 minutes and the sound quality excellent throughout. CD1 covers the period 1937 to 1945 but concentrates on 1939 to 1942. Vocals by Ray Eberle; Skip Nelson; Marion Hutton & Tex Beneke. CD2 covers 1938 to 1944 and concentrates on the period 1939 to 1942. Vocalists as for CD1. Liner notes are by Michael Heatley and this comes with some stunning artwork. Another excellent addition for One Day Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jazz, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Glenn Miller (Audio CD)
a fabulous record.brings back happy memories and some good times.it is a very clear recording and very good value.thank you..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The 2010 Remastered Album Sounds Better, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Stuart Cornes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I learned two lessons from this purchase:
1. The benefit of Amazon's Auto-rip.
2. (Arguably) go for quality (remastered) rather than quantity.

The 48 tracks on this album are very good, original, mono recordings.
However, after receiving the disc I compared the sound with the Amazon samples of the 2010 remastered "Very Best of Glenn Miller" (24 tracks). (You need to view the MP3 Download album not the CD Album to be able to sample the tracks.)
The clarity of the 2010 remastered disc sounded better to me - I wish I had gone for that album.

I bought from an Amazon 3rd party reseller rather than Amazon direct as it was slightly cheaper. Hence I did not benefit from the Amazon MP3 auto-rip. This is not normally a problem as I use Media Player to rip my CDs anyway. However, the CD database used by Media Player is normally excellent. However for this particular version of the "Very Best of Glenn Miller" the database did not deliver. I had to type nearly all the track names myself. I wish I had gone for the Amazon direct sale (and preferably the 2010 remastered version). (The reseller delivered what I had ordered, in perfect condition, on time and cheaper than Amazon - no problems there.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful memories of 78's belonging to my parents
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Glenn Miller (Audio CD)
it needs to be digitally remastered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Glenn Miller (Audio CD)
My generation adored and still adore American jazz and Glenn Miller's superb saxophon arrangements!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Glenn Miller (Audio CD)
Fantastic music now alive in the 21st Centuary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic gift!, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Glenn Miller (Audio CD)
The. C.d was a 60th birthday gift.

It was delivered on time so i did not have to worry about it being too late.

Also the design on the c.d's were really authentic.

A fantastic gift.

Thank you so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Dad., 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Glenn Miller (Audio CD)
Bought this for my Dad for Fathers day and he is very pleased with it. I would recommend it as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of Glenn Miller
The Very Best of Glenn Miller by Glenn Miller (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews