Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Watch - Reccomended
I ordered this watch having compared so many others for flight training. This watch stood out and, having read the current reviews on amazon, i looked around and decided to take the chance in ordering it bar the critisms it has received.

With fast shipment arriving the next day ive been using the watch for a few days now. Its really well built, looks good...
Published on 15 Aug 2012 by Pip

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Value for Money!!
It looks very nice, has all the required features & more and fits perfectly on the wrist. Setting the time is bit hard without going through the user guide. I guess the Watch holder is not that strong as it was in broken state when I received the original as well as the replacement product but no complaints as amazon gave further discount which was fair enough.
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by RDS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Watch - Reccomended, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Bracelet Combi Watch SGW-400HD-1BVER (Watch)
I ordered this watch having compared so many others for flight training. This watch stood out and, having read the current reviews on amazon, i looked around and decided to take the chance in ordering it bar the critisms it has received.

With fast shipment arriving the next day ive been using the watch for a few days now. Its really well built, looks good quality and can stand up to the a bit of harsh treatment - its not flimsy but a good weight and well designed. I'm delighted with the watch, as a pilot in training the features are fantastic and are highly accurate, the pressure reading is very accurate as is the altitude and temperature.
The watch is very clear and easy to use im very very pleased with the product and the only slight issue i can find is that the day/date is preset in MM/DD and cant be changed to the usual UK date format (DD/MM) but thats being picky.

Overall a fantastic product and highly reccomended. Casio are a trusted brand and you wont go far wrong with this watch atall at a good price and a robust design its a must have.

NOTE IN MY OPINION THE OTHER REVIEWS OF THE WATCH ARE DUE TO INCORRECT SETTING UP AND CALIBRATION OF THE WATCH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crammed full of tech, geeky, complicated and brilliant!, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Bracelet Combi Watch SGW-400HD-1BVER (Watch)
You've got to love Casio watches.

Due to economies of scale, they can offer so much tech in a watch for the money.

The functions of this watch are:

1. Time - Analogue and digital
2. World Time
3. Stopwatch
4. Barometer
5. Altimeter
6. Timer
7. 5 Alarms
8. Temperature

As others have commented, the temperature is only accurate if it's been off your wrist for a while (due to body heat) and the altimiter and barometer shouldn't be used if you're climbing Everest or work at the Met Office. But they are nearly there, in my calculations, and are certainly as accurate as these "weather stations" you can buy.

I like the fact that the analogue hands (skeleton, so they don't block out too much of the digital displays)synch with the time and the change to another time zone, if travelling, is quick and easy.

I like the look of the watch, large, complicated, yet elegant in a way.

The strap is pressed steel (what do you expect at this price) and the case is silver resin, but they are of decent quality.

Make no mistake, this isn't a G-Shock. This won't take a beating and still look the same, but it also doesn't cost as much. But if you wear it normally, maybe swim or hike in it without getting it bashed, it should look good and be functional for years, as Casios have great build quality...this goes back to the economies of scale.

All in all a great watch which has more than any reasonable person could expect of a wrist based timepiece, that looks great and is a bit of a steal at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value and Functional Watch, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Bracelet Combi Watch SGW-400HD-1BVER (Watch)
I have, over the years, looked at this or similar watches in various High Street shops and considered them overpriced. Amazon are (at time of writing) selling this watch for the give away price of £45 which is actually less than I would have been prepared to pay. Well done Amazon.

The watch face is normal size but add on casing and sensor and you have a fairly large lump on your wrist but it is quite light and is not aesthetically unpleasing.
Having dual readout (hands and digital) really works for this watch. I have fairly large wrists and still find the bracelet sits loose on my wrist, even after reducing the bracelet to it's narrowest by moving the pin on the locking clasp. Having said that, I prefer my watches to be a bit slack on my wrist and this watch does just that. Because the watch face has rotated slightly away from me when I rotate my wrist, I can still easily read the time on the analogue hands clearly.

The display of day, date, time and seconds on the digital display is also clear although in my case (for reasons above) I have to turn my wrist slightly further to the right.

The additional functions on the watch are easily accessed simply by cycling through the mode button.

Atmospheric pressure is obtained by pressing the mode button once (from time mode) and I have found the readings to be fairly accurate. The little rectangle at the top of the watch face then gives an indication of likely weather changes. This relates to pressure change from previous reading and although nice to have, I wouldn't leave my umbrella at home by depending on this.

To get back to your time display from the barometer display you have to scroll through all the other modes. This is not an onerous task but it would have been nice to be able to go straight back to local date and time in a single step.
Other functions include World Time (multiple time zones), stop watch, timer, multiple alarms and a hand set mode which enables you to realign the hour and minute hands to ensure they are centred when at 12:00.

You can also get an idea of your altitude from this watch however you have to recalibrate your height almost every time you use this function since it uses barometric pressure to work out changes in height.

Temperature is also shown when in barometer mode but since the watch will generally be on your wrist, it will not show ambient temperature. Allow 20 to 30 minutes with the watch off your wrist to obtain an accurate ambient temperature.

The metal watch bracelet matches this watch well and is fairly secure. To open the bracelet, you have to press little buttons either side of the clasp to release it. This in my mind gives added security preventing the clasp springing open unintentionally.
Finally the digital readout has a light which enables readout at night and both analogue hands have luminous points although there is no luminous reference point on the watch face.

At the present price Amazon are offering this watch I would highly recommend it as a second or a working/leisure watch. It is not the most aesthetically pleasing watch to look at and would look out of place when wearing your dress suit but when running, cycling, sailing, climbing or working, it can't be beaten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely gorgeous!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Bracelet Combi Watch SGW-400HD-1BVER (Watch)
I got this one as gift for my husband... This watch is genuinely gorgeous... After using it for a couple of years it still works fine and functions exceptionally well too...
Initially I was a bit hesitant to buy because of the strap ( metal ) but i liked the dial so thought i will buy another strap ... But once my husband tried it on the only word that fits for the review purpose is ' GORGEOUS '
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Value for Money!!, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: Casio Men's Bracelet Combi Watch SGW-400HD-1BVER (Watch)
It looks very nice, has all the required features & more and fits perfectly on the wrist. Setting the time is bit hard without going through the user guide. I guess the Watch holder is not that strong as it was in broken state when I received the original as well as the replacement product but no complaints as amazon gave further discount which was fair enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good one, 29 Aug 2013
This review is from: Casio Men's Bracelet Combi Watch SGW-400HD-1BVER (Watch)
Great watch to have, nice to use menu, very good looking on hand, twin sensor is doing great job barometer and termometr very useful but I had to set up manually because original settings didn't display correct, it is no problem. Altimeter have to be set up as well. Is Good looking watch for everyone who like adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Bracelet Combi Watch SGW-400HD-1BVER (Watch)
Only problem is that the digital numbers sometimes gets covered by the analog hands.
But besise that the watch works fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor Instructions, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Bracelet Combi Watch SGW-400HD-1BVER (Watch)
Great watch but not easy to set up, the instructions are poor, and are probably about font size 4 or 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for money, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Bracelet Combi Watch SGW-400HD-1BVER (Watch)
The watch has all the functions I need. It is not heavy and you have to adjust the bracelet as it is too long. Also read the manual before you start use it as you have to calibrate barometric and temperature measurements. And finaly I had it delivered in 3 days to Greece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice watch!, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Bracelet Combi Watch SGW-400HD-1BVER (Watch)
Nice watch even if a little light and cheap feeling. Some nice features such as temp guage, Barometric pressure sensor and barometric height indicator, as well as multiple international timezones. Only problem is you have to precisely calibrate these barometric and temperature figures precisely, but then becomes completely wrong with wild pressure changes say if you travel on an airplane, and needs to be recalibrated again on the other side. Overall quite a good watch, but the gimmicks wear off quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews