Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Young Legend
As to the other reviewer that stated that you only see the adult Mr Lee an hour into the film, your either crazy, seriously ripped off or the timer on your player is faulty!

I did enjoy this but my only regret was that though it was excellently done there was not more insight into his training with Ip Man. I mean these must now, today, be the most famous...
Published on 7 Jun 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected
Having watched the IP Man 1 and 2 films (I always though it was Yip Man, maybe the name translated to English varies), I was disappointed with this film. Like many buyers I fell for the cover and the promise of good fighting as well as a decent plot. To be fair the acting and the story were okay but apart from a couple of fight scenes and a few piecfs of training footage,...
Published on 10 Jun 2011 by Big A


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Young Legend, 7 Jun 2011
As to the other reviewer that stated that you only see the adult Mr Lee an hour into the film, your either crazy, seriously ripped off or the timer on your player is faulty!

I did enjoy this but my only regret was that though it was excellently done there was not more insight into his training with Ip Man. I mean these must now, today, be the most famous martial arts pair in the world for Pete's sake! LOL. It was also missing a fight scene too. If it had each of these two things it would have easily made 5 Stars.

Now if only HK cinema would stop driving us insane. Three films on Ip Man and a fourth nearly upon us. Now one on Bruce Lee and so far they have only brushed upon the two meeting. Like fleeting glimpses leading up the the main event.

I for one certainly hope what I originally read about this film being a trilogy is true, though it is difficult to quite see how that will happen, writing wise. Unless members of the Lee clan visited the U.S. more than was suggested in a certain other movie about his life. But then and a few of my Bruce Lee fan friends did not even know he had siblings, so who knows!

This is a homage to Bruce Lee's early life and shows how the character he had came about. I did enjoy it. I have read some really bad reviews, well two, on this film that are not exactly fair.

I, for one, thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Lee (the legend), 23 Oct 2011
By 
D. Beyers "doma" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Cine Asia:
From his birth on November 27th 1940 to his departure for San Francisco in 1959, discover how Bruce Lee lived through war and persecution and survived the brutal street-gangs of 1950's Hong Kong before going on to live his dreams.
Produced by Robert Lee, Bruce Lee's younger brother, and based on his own first-hand experience, Young Bruce Lee is a breathtaking and evocative homage to the man who, uniquely, brought the power and majesty of Chinese Kung Fu to millions around the world.

Showcasing an incredible hi-impact tribute to the celebrated Coliseum fight from Way of the Dragon, Young Bruce Lee is an inspirational motion picture event that is not to be missed!

Bruce Lee never goes out of style. As an adult he only made a few films, but he made a huge impression on worldwide audiences and brought Hong Kong cinema into the larger world's consciousness. There has been no shortage of films seeking to capitalize on his iconic image, from the original glut of Brucesploitation films in the 70's and 80's, all the way through to biographical features over the years which only tenuously resemble the truth. However, while Hollywood tackled the artist as a young adult in America with Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story, no one had really focused on where the man came from. His youth has been an untapped resource for understanding the phenomenon that was Bruce Lee, until now.

Young Bruce Lee (AKA Bruce Lee, My Brother) is an attempt to show where Bruce came from. The story comes from his younger brother Robert, and while it is certainly a pretty glowing account, it does have quite a bit of backstory on Bruce and his family relationships that has not really been explored on screen.

The film follows Bruce from birth through his time as a child star in Hong Kong cinema and ultimately to his forced exile to the USA as a young adult. A lot happened along the way, and Bruce wasn't always the tough guy we saw on screen.

Critical response to the film has been rather tepid as it relates to the film's thematic content, with our James Marsh commenting that,
BRUCE LEE, MY BROTHER is little more than an ornately decorated vessel - that looks great, sounds great, yet contains almost nothing of real interest.
I can't help but agree with this statement. The film never really finds a narrative flow, there is little discernible plot and the seems to merely be a series of vignettes of Bruce's young life. It doesn't really succeed in being engaging in the way it should, the vignettes prove that there is ample material and good feeling surrounding a project like this that it should have been better. However, it never really gels.

On the other hand, the film is technically superb. The cinematography is absolutely top-notch and stylistically very forward. The entire film looks as though it was shot on a sound stage, but in a very interesting and endearing way. Even the outdoor scenes are lit as though they are modeling product shots, which could be annoying, but the way it is done is simply breathtaking. All of this stylistic license helps to create an aura around Bruce that foreshadows his ultimate position among the Gods of Asian cinema, and for every moment I was left bored by the story telling, I was awed by the visuals twice as long.

Overall, Young Bruce Lee is a mediocre film that was shot beautifully and is well-worth watching if only for the technical achievement that it is.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will disappoint for the wrong reasons, 31 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
The film is good, but it's miss marketed.

If you want to enjoy this film you need to know at least two things: This is not about Wing Chun and it's not about fighting.

I hate it when i'm mislead by marketing when watching a film, because it unnecessary and it ruins the film. This is a dramatization of Bruce Lee's life before he came to the US.

He doesn't even start practicing Wing Chun until late in the film, and even then it's not emphasized. Which is absolutely fine, just let me know, indicate what sort of a film the viewer will see, so they don't go in expecting one thing and getting something else.

I'm leaving it at four stars for now but I have to re-watch it eventually to get my opinion right on it.

Watch the Cine-Asia Official Trailer on YouTube, it's almost 100% off the mark on what this film is about.

This said I want to add that in a way i'm glad this wasn't about Wing Chun in retrospect, because we know about that part of his life, in this you get to see him as a person and the part of his life people are unaware of. Martial Arts would have taken the focus from that. Also, very few could replicate him so i'm happy to learn about him as a person from the perspective of his brother and sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more art then martial arts, 15 Feb 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a martial arts film. It is a dramatised biography of Bruce Lee's life. That does not mean it is a bad film. There were times I was laughing out loud to bits of the film that were jyst on the right side of silly to be funny and not stupid.

The film starts hours before Bruce's birth, and end with him leaving for America. The concentrate on his family life, snd his frendships. I do like the way the take pictures through out the film, and then swap them for original pictures supplied to them. The show Bruce as a little tear away earing reputation on the streets, but they do not show him actually fighting. Only probobly 15 mins of the film is dedicated to Bruce training or actually fighting. One thing I did think they got wrong was they did not show Bruce celebral enough. The reason Bruce was such a great martial artist was not just physical. It was the speed with read an opponent and counter them. He would outthink and trap opponents by being 10 moves ahead of them. It was tbe fact that he was always thinking philosophically that allows him to see beyond form based martial arts to create Jeet Kun Do. In the film they seemed to down play his intelligence.

This is an enjoyable portrait of Bruce Lee's early years. His friends, family and experiences growing up. However if you are expecting a fight fest try not to be disappointed and enjoy the film for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Moving, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Jason Pratt "LT.Evildead" (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliantly shot, cinematic, moving story of The Great Bruce Lee. It feels like watching a family home movie as you truly feel like the immediate family members put an insight into this movie thus making us believe every scene. I truly enjoyed this movie.

Not alot of fighting however, it't not that kind of movie. And the timeing of when he met Ip Man seems odd as at the end of IP man 2 you get the impression Bruce Lee met him when really young. I will look into that. However this movie is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 3 Jun 2011
This review is from: Young Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who is a fan of Bruce Lee will love this, it may not have all kung fu kicks from right to left, but maybe we shouldn't typecast a film about Bruce Lee to be only about that, Bruce was more than that, as we all know. This is a down to earth film that deals with Bruce on a human level. If you want to see a film were Bruce is full on with his Martial Art then check for his films, this is a story of Bruce as told through the eyes of his family. From what I hear this is the first of a few films that will come out about Bruce, so... yes... great film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruse Lee, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good DVD of Bruce Lee about his Early life and the History from when he was very young i very happy with this DVD its a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected, 10 Jun 2011
This review is from: Young Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched the IP Man 1 and 2 films (I always though it was Yip Man, maybe the name translated to English varies), I was disappointed with this film. Like many buyers I fell for the cover and the promise of good fighting as well as a decent plot. To be fair the acting and the story were okay but apart from a couple of fight scenes and a few piecfs of training footage, there is little to diffrentiate this youngster as Bruce Lee rather than any other Chinsese kid who was into Martial Arts.

As a coming of age film it was okay, as an insight into the formative training years of Bruce Lee, it was sadly lacking.

As another reviewer has mentioned most of us want a film with Bruce learning from his master and accurate technical protrayals of the trails and tribulations of Win Chun, coupled with a reasonable back story.

In short, it's an okay story if you take it as a coming of age story set in China, but it's not what I regard as a Bruce Lee fim or a Bruce Lee story.

Now, should I risk the film about the early years of Ip Man???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
im well impressed with the quality and speed this item was delivered im now looking forward to watching the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Young Bruce Lee, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Bruce Lee [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film about Bruce Lee before he went to America,based on a book written by his brother.This is a must watch film for anyone who is truly interested in him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Young Bruce Lee [DVD]
Young Bruce Lee [DVD] by Tony Leung Ka Fai (DVD - 2011)
8.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews