Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clever weave of historical and modern detective writing.
"The Bone Garden" continues Kate Ellis' creative mixture of concurrent archaelogical and criminal investigations in the fictional Devon town of Tradmouth. Restoration work on a late 17th century Devon garden at a country house called Earlsacre unearths the remains of a young woman, buried alive during the original construction. As the work continues, more...
Published on 9 April 2001 by hudson@ls15.freeserve.co.uk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a nice easy to read and realistic novel
a nice easy to read and realistic novel. no unnecssary bad language and a plot you can keep uo with.
Published 20 days ago by john cleaver


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clever weave of historical and modern detective writing., 9 April 2001
By 
hudson@ls15.freeserve.co.uk (Leeds, Yorkshire, England.) - See all my reviews
"The Bone Garden" continues Kate Ellis' creative mixture of concurrent archaelogical and criminal investigations in the fictional Devon town of Tradmouth. Restoration work on a late 17th century Devon garden at a country house called Earlsacre unearths the remains of a young woman, buried alive during the original construction. As the work continues, more bodies are discovered, and the archaelogical team piece together the story behind their finds with the aid of historical records. As an archaelogy graduate, Detective Sergeant Wesley Petersen has an interest in the Earlsacre finds over and above that required by his job; but his enthusiasm to be involved has to be postponed when a solicitor meets an unusual and untimely end, during the tea interval at a village cricket match in which Wesley was playing. As the investigation progresses, parallels between the murders of yesteryear and the present day begin to emerge. The fifth Wesley Petersen novel, "The Bone Garden" is the best yet. Kate Ellis is developing her main characters well, and the reader is eager to learn more about them, not just concerned with the main storyline. Above all, like it's prequels, "The Bone Garden" is a ripping yarn - or rather two yarns, as the historical sub-plot which begins each chapter is a good story in its own right! New readers will enjoy this novel, and then seek out the earlier books to find out more about Wes and co. Like me, they will then eagerly await the next instalment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very engrossing read, 16 Jun 2005
By 
tregatt (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
The archeological mystery is quite a popular sub-genre with many avid mystery lovers. However, it is not an easy sub-genre to execute brilliantly. Kate Ellis, however, has been cleverly penning the masterfully engrossing and addicting Wesley Peterson mystery series for quite a few years now. So that one really beings to wonder why this mystery series hasn't been heralded with greater fanfare!
Earlsacre Hall (in Devon) has recently been sold to a charitable trust with an eye of turning the entire estate into an art centre. And one of the first projects is to restore the seventeenth century garden to its former glory. The escavation and restoration work is going swimmingly until the workers make an unsettling find: the remains of a woman who had been buried alive in the garden almost 300 years ago. Naturally the police are called in; and DS Wesley Peterson of Tradmouth CID finds himself becoming really intrigued by the find. A former archeology student, DS Wesley Peterson would rather like to get involved in solving the mystery of the woman's identity and why she was buried in the garden, but a current murder drags him away from the tantalizing find at Earlsacre: a young man is found brutally stabbed to death is his rented trailer nearby. Who he is and why he was murdered remains a mystery; but intriguingly a newspaper clipping about the escavation and restoration work going on at Earlsacre is found amongst his belongings. What is the connection between Earlsacre and the murdered young man? As the body count, both from the past and present mount, Peterson is determined to uncover this connection and to put an end to this current murderer's cold-blooded killings...
This is the fifth Wesley Peterson archeology murder mystery, and it is one of the better ones. Tightly woven and suspenseful from start to finish, I found it very hard indeed to put down "The Bone Garden" until I had reached the last page. Kate Ellis definitely knows how to spin a good yarn. I espeically liked the manner in which she blended the 300 year old mystery with the current one practically seamlessly. Colourful, vivid and terrfically engrosing, "The Bone Garden" definitely was a fantastic read, and one that should not be missed by any avid mystery fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read!, 26 Nov 2009
By 
Wynne Kelly "Kellydoll" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Wesley Peterson is an Afro-Caribbean police detective who also has a first class degree in archaeology - a great combination! He based in Devon and becomes involved in the murder of a young unidentified man in a caravan park. A local solicitor gets in touch with Peterson to say he has something to tell him - but is found dead before the meeting takes place. At the same time excavations are going on in the garden of a nearby manor house. When skeletons are unearthed there the coroner has to be informed and the mystery deepens. A team of archaeologists is based there including Peterson's old friend Neil and they share information about the history of Earlsacre Hall gardens.

All the plotting is well worked out and there are some really interesting parallels between the late 17th century/early 18th century events and the present day crimes.

All in all a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buried alive, 26 Aug 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Garden: The Wesley Peterson Series: Book 5 (Kindle Edition)
A skeleton is found buried under a sundial when the gardens at Earlsacre Hall are being renovated. It appears the body had been buried alive - an image which haunts Wesley Peterson. But the skeleton dates back to the eighteenth century so is of no more than academic interest to a modern police detective. Then a body is discovered on a caravan site and Wesley has a modern murder to investigate.

In this series the ancient and modern are skilfully interwoven with the irascible Neil Watson, the archaeologist, providing a foil to the much smoother and kinder Wesley Peterson. I find it interesting reading this series how the past can provide the key to interpreting the present and I find myself constantly trying to work out the connections before they are revealed.

I recommend this series to anyone who likes their crime novels to be more of a puzzle than a description of violence. It is also enjoyable to read about police characters who do not have insurmountable personal problems to deal with and who are mainly interesting characters who the reader would be quite happy to meet in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms Ellis triumphs again, 12 May 2001
By 
The continuing saga of Wesley Petterson is once again wrapped in old and new mystery. The bodies are discovered and our hero's are beset with clues ancient and modern. This book brings the lives of two generations to life with thrilling twists and turns which keep the reader absorbed to the last page. I do hope that there will be many more in this excellent series and eagerly await the sixth book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best so far..., 10 Aug 2010
The Wesley Peterson murder mystery series is thoroughly enjoyable and easy to read but the historical reference makes it more intellectual than the average murder mystery. It would make a perfect TV series in the ilk of Midsommer Murders. It makes sense to read them in order, I think The Bone Garden is the best yet.

The Bone Garden (Wesley Peterson Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder, past and present, 7 July 2010
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
First Sentence: The man stared at the shape lying beneath the faded cover on the ancient iron bed and took another sip of wine.

Not only weeds are dug up during the restoration of a 17th century Devon garden at Earlsacre Manor, but skeletons. The first is of a woman who was buried alive, standing up. While not of investigative concern to the Tradmouth police, the body in the caravan is. The only clue to the identity of the victim is a link to Earlsacre. And what about the murder at the cricket pitch. Is that linked as well?

It's the characters which keep me coming back to Kate Ellis' books. With each book, we learn more about the main characters and we see their lives change and develop.

In this book, Wesley is a new father and both he, and his boss Gerry Heffernan, are promoted. Although the books are marketed as "A Wesley Peterson Crime Novel," in some ways I find Heffernan the more interesting character, but they balance each other nicely. I love some of Heffernan's expressions and he's the kind of boss you'd love to have.

Add to the characters, the plot which is well done and contains excellent twists. I am never able to anticipate where the story is going or how it will end up. That's always a very good thing.

A series containing both ancient mysteries and contemporary ones could be formulaic. Yes, the threads of having the present mirror the past are contrived. But they are also, beautifully woven, interesting and, in this case, cleverly related to one of the principal characters.

With each book, I look forward to learning of the murders in each time period and how they will tie together. With ten more books and counting in the series, I am a happy reader, indeed.

THE BONE GARDEN (Pol Proc-Insp. Wesley Peterson-England-Cont) - VG
Ellis, Kate - 5th in series
Thomas Dunne Books, ©2001, US Paperback - ISBN: 0312300379
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Garden: The Wesley Peterson Series: Book 5 (Kindle Edition)
Love this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it., 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy all Kate Ellis' books and this one didn't disappoint. I will continue to buy all of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Detective Fiction, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of imagination and combines both subjects I like - detection and archaeology. Joined together they make for a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews