Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 3 May 2011
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
This could quite possibly be the best album of 2011. The self titled debut by TATE was hugely enjoyable, crowned by the stunning "Sometime Around Midnight", and following their superb live album "All I Ever Wanted" comes their second album. It isn't a disappointment.

Sonically there are echoes of Arcade Fire and U2, but there is variety here. Alongside the bombastic - but excellent - big-hitters of "All At Once", "Half Of Something Else", "Welcome To Your Wedding Day" and "All I Ever Wanted", there are quieter, more reflective tracks such as "All For A Woman" and "The Graveyard Near The House", and almost electronic / glam rock tracks like "Numb" and "Changing". For me there isn't a weak track and as an album it works brilliantly well.

The deluxe edition is well worth getting. The packaging is no different to the standard CD but includes a second disk. On here you will find videos for each song, but each is rearranged and performed in unusual surroundings, so "Half..." is played on a carousel, "Strange Girl" is recorded under night vision cameras in a bedroom as a woman sleeps, and so on. The videos were all available online prior to the release of the album but it is nice to have them included with the package.

Great band, great songs, great album. What's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent again, 5 Oct 2011
By 
D. Lawry (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
Another cracking album and I can't help but feel that these guys deserve more acclaim in Australia. I really like what these guys get up to. It's quite rocking but the melodies are strong and there's good variety.I'd like to see them live. My first exposure was a live track on Letterman, which showed that they can perform well. I agree with some of the reviewers, in that there's definite shades of U2 and Arcade Fire and Springsteen and maybe The Killers and even a tiny bit of The Pogues (so there's variety for you) but Airborne Toxic Event is very much its own band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of 2011, 16 Jan 2014
By 
The Old Dead Pig (northwest england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
Loved their first album, this one is even better. I rated this higher than PJ Harvey's Let England Shake in 2011 and would probably still do so, even though Polly's album is near-perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Completing my TATE collection, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
Great album from a great band, deserve to be as big as The Killers but kind of glad they're not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album again, 12 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
After enjoying the first album as much as I did, I was worried this may be a let down. Far from it, more fantastic music from this band and easily as good as the first album. I can't wait for the next one now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 27 April 2012
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
Someobody else used 'Wow!' as their title for a review of this album - apologies, but it's the most appropriate word for this stunning record. This is absolutely brilliant! If you like Bruce Springsteen, The Gaslight Anthem, The Killers, Arcade Fire, Band of Horses...you have to have this album. I've just bumped into this band by accident - they should be truly massive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Promising, 11 Feb 2012
By 
dtc (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
I bought this based on an Amazon recommendation and a quick listen to the samples. Listened to the full album a few times now and am quite impressed. They remind me in parts of The Killers and in other parts of The Levellers, although not enough that it feels too derivative. Definitely promising and I'll now check out their first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A cut above the norm, 24 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
These guys can really rock, with some seriously energetic tracks, but also some fantastic reflective moments here too. The clever transitions between tracks (notably #6 into #7) keep it interesting, so best to avoid the random button and let it run from start to finish. Lyrically pretty clever and one of the better albums I've heard in the last couple of years. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 18 Jun 2011
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
As the title says, WOW! I was amazed by this album. It's one of those feel-good indie albums where all of the songs are very good and really catchy, like Hot Fuss by The Killers, Come Around Sundown by The Kings of Leon and Razorlight's debut album. "Numb" is a particular highlight as it just superb! The main riff in the song is extremely catchy, and so the song is a highlight for me! Along with the single "Changing" and final track "All I ever wanted", these three songs are the standout ones. But taking nothing away from the other tracks though. I am simply amazed that you can fit so many good songs on to one album! The Airborne Toxic Event have put their in the history books with this record. One word to sum it up? Sensational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better with every listen., 11 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
Loved the first album so expected to be disappointed with the second but that isn't the case. It's been the most played album the last few months in this household. The bonus DVD acoustic sets are a real bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All At Once
All At Once by The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews