Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars76
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£23.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 26 August 2011
The complete box set of the hit American television show "Ugly Betty" is one of my absolute favourite box sets I've ever brought- excellent drama with some truly wonderful laugh-out-loud moments which offers complete and utter escapism- I highly recommend this show!

The story tells of Betty- a girl from Queens, NY, who desperately wants to make it in the world of Journalism. Fresh-faced, eager and poncho-clad, she lands herself in an assistant role at high-flying 'Mode' magazine- a fashion magazine where the employees are skinny, superficial and catty- and make Betty's life hellish. Thus comes the drama, and thus comes the entertainment. Whilst Season One basically closely rubs shoulders with the film "The Devil Wears Prada" (one of my favourites)- and that's a little irritating- but beyond that the plotlines are brilliant- particularly the conniving Wilhelmina Slater's ongoing plans to take-over mode magazine, the trials and tribulations of Betty's family and their lives, and the Mark and Amanda pairing is a wonderful union and creates both brilliantly hilarious moments as well as quite a few touching moments too.

The programme is excellently played out, filmed, written and acted- and each season improves on the last in quality of plots and film work, and the acting is consistently high with absolutely loveable characters.

The final season is a little rushed in places because of the cancellation of the series- but it wonderfully concludes the stories of the characters we grow to love over the seasons which wraps up the show very nicely indeed.

I highly recommend this box set- the show is brilliant and entertaining, with great escapist quality and wonderfully enjoyable characters. This is the perfect collection for fans of the show, but also for people who've always thought about giving the show a try- and those one's will need this box set because it is highly addictive. Brilliant show- I highly recommend!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
I bought this product because I loved watching it on the TV and found it to be great pick-me-up for when I'm feeling down. All episodes are included with bonus footage really enhancing the 'UGLY BETTY' experience. It is all beautifully presented in lovely packaging.

To me this product deserves 5 stars. The only negative point I will make is that I was saddened to find out that when ever a character was supposed to say 'Fashion TV' it had been beeped out. This may be because there is a channel out there called Fashion TV and doesn't like the association between their brand image and the one created by this fictional series.

A definite must-buy for all UGLY BETTY fans. ^_^
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
I found this Ugly Betty complete box set AMAZING and very addictive. It was a brilliant way to watch all the seasions of a fantastic show.It is value for money to. I recomend any ugly betty fans to buy this xxxx
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
I purchased this dvd set for my partner, but ended up watching most of them with her. I forgot just how funny this show was!!! Well worth the money and great to watch again and again.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
Great purchase, so much cheaper than HMV etc and Ugly Betty is just a funny classic series!! great Christmas present for any girl!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
Ugly betty is about a young girl from Queens, trying to climb the career ladder of Journalism.
Betty suarez (America Ferrera) is a fun-loving, no-sense-of-style type of girl and it makes you wonder at
the beginning of series one, how a women like Betty is ever going to make it in the world of fashion at Mode Magazine. Its amazing to watch the transformation that takes place through her personality and her fashion sense also. Her chirpy optimism that accompanied her in series one remains constant and never changes during the shows run and only at the worst of times, does her optimism fall down as she realizes that the harsh world of fashion isn't at all the picnic in the park she expected.

Even though the title of the show is 'Ugly Betty', their really is nothing ugly about Betty is most aspects. The ugly side of her is the Hollywood version of ugly i.e her clothing, glasses and weight. Betty was very much the most beautiful girl on american tv if you minus what she looked like on the outside and focus of the type of person she is and remains throughout the show.

The cover of this boxset is presented with bold, bright colors, accompanied by the characters of the hit-television show and four butterflies. The concept of series four was showing the audience that betty has transformed from something ugly (Caterpillar), into a butterfly (Something beautiful). And I think that concept was a fantastic way of sending betty off on her final series.
33 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
The Ugly Betty DVD box set is absolutely epic, with laugh out loud moments and an exciting fast pace that doesn't lose momentum for a second..
I personally adore this series and find the characters both relatable and lovable, with Betty in particular a work of art. Ugly Betty tells the story of an ugly duckling unexpectedly thrown into the fashion world. Despite knowing nothing about the business and not having much interest, Betty knows she must make this job work in order to further her dreams of pursuing writing and journalism. Nothing in life is ever easy however and the fact Betty is a real duck out of water makes for a consistent theme of hopeless hilarity with her efforts always seeming to inadvertently lead to disaster. There's something special about Betty however and you find yourself hoping throughout that this small town girl will conquer both the heart of the city and the hearts of her unwelcoming work friends.

Ugly Betty however is about so, so much more than fashion and the journalism industry and whilst various storylines do stray into ridiculousness, the series also left me with a tight chest and lump in my throat more than once. This beautifully encompasses both the struggles and joys of love, family, life, learning and finding your place in a world where you don't fit the mould. I found it heart warming and inspiring throughout. This DVD boxset is no let down and includes the full four series as well as piles of additional content and DVD extras for every episode, featuring almost all of the cast and I felt I got more than my moneys worth. For a real fan, the extras are a great touch, especially as the fourth season was the final. I also would like to comment that I found the box set packaging really bright, attractive and neat with an outer cardboard sleeve housing the individual series DVD cases inside.

My only real criticism is that the series ended overall. I would have loved to have continued to follow Betty on her adventures and feel it is a crying shame that the show was cancelled due to apparently low ratings. Luckily, season four does end neatly, leaving you with an open ended conclusion that ties the show off quite nicely while leaving you with enough food for thought to imagine what Betty might do next. Internet rumours at one stage did hint that a movie may have been in the pipeline although nothing has ever been confirmed so how true this is I am unsure. A girl can dream!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
a timeless classic, and good old fashioned humour for young girls. Ugly Betty still entertains my youngest daughter as much as it did my eldest
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
Ugly betty is lovable, unique and beautiful (irony i know!). This show is one of my favourites as it always inspires me and is a joy to watch. The feisty sister Hilda, the loyal father ignacio and the camp nephew Justin are only a few of those in betty's life who make this show so fun! There's the sassy amanda, the bitchy wilhemina and the gayer than gay mark! Each character brings something new to the show, but the real testament is the fact a quirky girl from queens never gives up hope and brings a smile to all those around her with her cute and genuine ways. Her PA job looks so awesome and all episodes have some form of moral. Fashion might be scandalous and imagebased but betty brings realism to it aswell. For that this show is a must watch and shows magazines, the fashion industry and new york isn't all just glamour but real life, real drama and real feeling. :)
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
This is a great boxset to own, loved watching Ugly Betty when it first aired so it's even better owning it on DVD as it has a few extra bonus features like deleted scenes. The downside however, is that some of the DVDs take a very long time to read and often appear as 'no disc' and all episodes have a title apart from season four which only appear to be numbered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)