Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Ugly Betty
The complete box set of the hit American television show "Ugly Betty" is one of my absolute favourite box sets I've ever brought- excellent drama with some truly wonderful laugh-out-loud moments which offers complete and utter escapism- I highly recommend this show!

The story tells of Betty- a girl from Queens, NY, who desperately wants to make it in the world...
Published on 26 Aug 2011 by N. Wilson

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT buy this item or you will be screwed!!!
I was happy when i received my package as it was carefully packed with no damages or scratches or lose DVDs in the case!

But when i started watching i was shocked as most DVDs didnts work and i was able to watch only 2 DVDs in season 1 and 3 DVDs in season 2 which made me stop watching and it got me angry!

Its like i paid for empty DVDs with Ugly...
Published 12 months ago by A.Aziz Showaiter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Ugly Betty, 26 Aug 2011
By 
N. Wilson "nigel-wilson" (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The complete box set of the hit American television show "Ugly Betty" is one of my absolute favourite box sets I've ever brought- excellent drama with some truly wonderful laugh-out-loud moments which offers complete and utter escapism- I highly recommend this show!

The story tells of Betty- a girl from Queens, NY, who desperately wants to make it in the world of Journalism. Fresh-faced, eager and poncho-clad, she lands herself in an assistant role at high-flying 'Mode' magazine- a fashion magazine where the employees are skinny, superficial and catty- and make Betty's life hellish. Thus comes the drama, and thus comes the entertainment. Whilst Season One basically closely rubs shoulders with the film "The Devil Wears Prada" (one of my favourites)- and that's a little irritating- but beyond that the plotlines are brilliant- particularly the conniving Wilhelmina Slater's ongoing plans to take-over mode magazine, the trials and tribulations of Betty's family and their lives, and the Mark and Amanda pairing is a wonderful union and creates both brilliantly hilarious moments as well as quite a few touching moments too.

The programme is excellently played out, filmed, written and acted- and each season improves on the last in quality of plots and film work, and the acting is consistently high with absolutely loveable characters.

The final season is a little rushed in places because of the cancellation of the series- but it wonderfully concludes the stories of the characters we grow to love over the seasons which wraps up the show very nicely indeed.

I highly recommend this box set- the show is brilliant and entertaining, with great escapist quality and wonderfully enjoyable characters. This is the perfect collection for fans of the show, but also for people who've always thought about giving the show a try- and those one's will need this box set because it is highly addictive. Brilliant show- I highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I found this Ugly Betty complete box set AMAZING and very addictive. It was a brilliant way to watch all the seasions of a fantastic show.It is value for money to. I recomend any ugly betty fans to buy this xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ugly betty - complete 1-4 - FANTASTIC, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this dvd set for my partner, but ended up watching most of them with her. I forgot just how funny this show was!!! Well worth the money and great to watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Great purchase, so much cheaper than HMV etc and Ugly Betty is just a funny classic series!! great Christmas present for any girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, A Great Re-Watchable Series - Beeps Out 'Fashion TV' though, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this product because I loved watching it on the TV and found it to be great pick-me-up for when I'm feeling down. All episodes are included with bonus footage really enhancing the 'UGLY BETTY' experience. It is all beautifully presented in lovely packaging.

To me this product deserves 5 stars. The only negative point I will make is that I was saddened to find out that when ever a character was supposed to say 'Fashion TV' it had been beeped out. This may be because there is a channel out there called Fashion TV and doesn't like the association between their brand image and the one created by this fictional series.

A definite must-buy for all UGLY BETTY fans. ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite boxset!, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Ugly betty is lovable, unique and beautiful (irony i know!). This show is one of my favourites as it always inspires me and is a joy to watch. The feisty sister Hilda, the loyal father ignacio and the camp nephew Justin are only a few of those in betty's life who make this show so fun! There's the sassy amanda, the bitchy wilhemina and the gayer than gay mark! Each character brings something new to the show, but the real testament is the fact a quirky girl from queens never gives up hope and brings a smile to all those around her with her cute and genuine ways. Her PA job looks so awesome and all episodes have some form of moral. Fashion might be scandalous and imagebased but betty brings realism to it aswell. For that this show is a must watch and shows magazines, the fashion industry and new york isn't all just glamour but real life, real drama and real feeling. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Box-set, 20 April 2011
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Ugly betty is about a young girl from Queens, trying to climb the career ladder of Journalism.
Betty suarez (America Ferrera) is a fun-loving, no-sense-of-style type of girl and it makes you wonder at
the beginning of series one, how a women like Betty is ever going to make it in the world of fashion at Mode Magazine. Its amazing to watch the transformation that takes place through her personality and her fashion sense also. Her chirpy optimism that accompanied her in series one remains constant and never changes during the shows run and only at the worst of times, does her optimism fall down as she realizes that the harsh world of fashion isn't at all the picnic in the park she expected.

Even though the title of the show is 'Ugly Betty', their really is nothing ugly about Betty is most aspects. The ugly side of her is the Hollywood version of ugly i.e her clothing, glasses and weight. Betty was very much the most beautiful girl on american tv if you minus what she looked like on the outside and focus of the type of person she is and remains throughout the show.

The cover of this boxset is presented with bold, bright colors, accompanied by the characters of the hit-television show and four butterflies. The concept of series four was showing the audience that betty has transformed from something ugly (Caterpillar), into a butterfly (Something beautiful). And I think that concept was a fantastic way of sending betty off on her final series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
a timeless classic, and good old fashioned humour for young girls. Ugly Betty still entertains my youngest daughter as much as it did my eldest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for sixteen year old daughters Xmas she loved them great value for money would recommend at the price we got them 28.00
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The box set was as advertised. it arrived next day. Brilliant purchase!
Sealed in box set.
Great chick TV programme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD]
Ugly Betty - Seasons 1-4 - Complete [DVD] by America Ferrera (DVD - 2011)
28.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews