Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars versitile and strong
This protective carrying bag, which is recommended for a 14.1 inch widescreen laptop and notebook, has two compartments.

The main compartment for the laptop/notebook measures 34.2 cm by 25.4 cm by 4.5 cm (internally). It has a thin padding to help protect your precious machine. All the seams have been covered in a braid and double stitched for extra...
Published on 26 Mar 2011 by Su

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality but a bit of a squeeze!
I had just been given a HP laptop and this looked just the job to keep it in. I have to say though.Despite the bag itself being very good quality,the laptop itself is ever such a faff to get inside. It just about fits with nothing to spare despite it apparently being the right size for the laptop itself. I would suggest this would be a better bet for a smaller...say...
Published on 28 Mar 2011 by Arthur Dooley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars versitile and strong, 26 Mar 2011
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wenger GA-7686-02 Sherpa Slimcase for up to 14.1 Inch Notebooks with Protective Computer Compartment (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This protective carrying bag, which is recommended for a 14.1 inch widescreen laptop and notebook, has two compartments.

The main compartment for the laptop/notebook measures 34.2 cm by 25.4 cm by 4.5 cm (internally). It has a thin padding to help protect your precious machine. All the seams have been covered in a braid and double stitched for extra strength.

The other compartment is a side pocket which measures 26 cm by 20.5 cm, though it does reach an extra 5.5 cm above the zip making a 26 cm by 26 cm flat storage area.

Externally the bag measures 38.1 cm wide by 30.5 cm deep by 5.1 cm across.

Both pockets have, what appear to be, very strong zips.

The top handles are made of a thick woven mesh-type braiding which is solid at first by does soften with use. The shoulder strap is not detachable, and has a reinforced fixed shoulder pad, but it is capable of adjustment at either side of the pad.

There is a woven mesh strap with a Velcro fastener which can be used to attach it to the handle of a trolley suitcase.

As with a lot of laptop bags there is a problem of where to keep the plug, cables, etc. You must either push them in to the main pocket with the laptop risking damage to the computer or try to fit them in the flat pocket at the front. If you have to put the plug in with the machine then I would suggest that you wrap the plug in a sock to help stop the possibility of scratching.

This bag is meant to hold a laptop/notebook, but it also holds a personal DVD player securely with room at the side for the dreaded plug, cables and headphones.

The bag is very well made but would you expect less from a product made by SwissGear who are "the makers of the genuine Swiss army knife". They are so sure of the quality of their bag that it comes with a limited lifetime warranty covering manufacturing faults only.

This is a small but quite impressively made lightly padded laptop bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Kit, 16 May 2012
By 
David G. O'Brien (Cork Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wenger GA-7686-02 Sherpa Slimcase for up to 14.1 Inch Notebooks with Protective Computer Compartment (Personal Computers)
I have had this bag for a couple of months now and it has impressed me no end. It is large enough to contain my 13.3 laptop and an iPad 2 at the same time and to carry the leads and other bits and bobs needed though it is a tight squeeze for both. However I usually use it for the iPad and some documents for work and for that purpose it is absolutely perfect.

There is a side pocket which is very useful for smaller bits and pieces. So far it looks as good as new despite daily use. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for MacBookPro 13.1", 19 Oct 2011
This review is from: Wenger GA-7686-02 Sherpa Slimcase for up to 14.1 Inch Notebooks with Protective Computer Compartment (Personal Computers)
I bought this for my new 13.1" MacBookPro (MBP) which is a slim laptop and admittedly a little small for this bag but that is exactly what I wanted as I didn't want to force it in. I have ordered a skin for the MBP which will make it a little bigger when installed so that should make it even a better fit in the case. The quality is there as you would expect, especially with the zips which are very smooth .I am quite pleased with my purchase and would recommend it to anyone with a small laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wenger GA-7686-02 Sherpa Slimcase for up to 14.1 Inch Notebooks with Protective Computer Compartment (Personal Computers)
Having searched around for a little while to find a decent 14 inch laptop bag this is a winner!

As soon as the item arrived and I put in my Sony 14 inch laptop it was a perfect fit. I did have small doubts that the laptop would be a tight fit but its an ideal match! The laptop fits perfectly with around 5mm gap on either sides. So don't worry if your laptop is a 14", it should fit fine.

The bag is made out of very good quality material. It is padded on all sides and double stitched in most places making it very rugged and wear resistant. It is made out of soft material which you will find in laptop sleeves which is double the thickness and has a soft velvet interior.

The bag also has a strap which unfortunately is not detachable but has a nice "tear resistant" shoulder pad and somewhat fair amount of travel on the straps. (will be too short for you if your over 6 foot).

There is a small pocket at the front of the bag which is big enough for a notepad and some pens but will be a very tight fit if your planning of putting books in it.

In general I am highly pleased with this bag and would recommend it!

DISCLAIMER: Unless your planning on buying this for a 13 inch laptop, there will NOT be enough space for a charger if your buying this for a 14 inch laptop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality laptop bag, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wenger GA-7686-02 Sherpa Slimcase for up to 14.1 Inch Notebooks with Protective Computer Compartment (Personal Computers)
My 14 inch laptops fits perfectly plus there is 2 cm of room to spare, my power brick mouse and RJ-45 calbe fit perfectly inside the side pocket of the bag. The added strap means you can carry your laptop any where plus it look good. Great product !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality but a bit of a squeeze!, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Arthur Dooley (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wenger GA-7686-02 Sherpa Slimcase for up to 14.1 Inch Notebooks with Protective Computer Compartment (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had just been given a HP laptop and this looked just the job to keep it in. I have to say though.Despite the bag itself being very good quality,the laptop itself is ever such a faff to get inside. It just about fits with nothing to spare despite it apparently being the right size for the laptop itself. I would suggest this would be a better bet for a smaller...say 12"...laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, ideal solution for 13" screen notebook, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Allan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wenger GA-7686-02 Sherpa Slimcase for up to 14.1 Inch Notebooks with Protective Computer Compartment (Personal Computers)
The case is a good fit for the 13" screen computer leaving adequate space within the main compartment for notes / power supply and the external pocket is ideal for keeping separate items which could mark or damage the finish on thenotebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 26 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wenger GA-7686-02 Sherpa Slimcase for up to 14.1 Inch Notebooks with Protective Computer Compartment (Personal Computers)
bought this carry case for my 14.1 inch acer laptop and it was too good.
Perfectly suit with the laptop.
very attractive.
Just simply love the product.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good quality but basic, 28 Mar 2011
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wenger GA-7686-02 Sherpa Slimcase for up to 14.1 Inch Notebooks with Protective Computer Compartment (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a small lap top bag which has some nice features but also lacks some too. It's a nice simple design, sturdy and well made, and if you want a simple bag for your lap top this is probably perfect.

Made by Wenger - the same people who manufacture the infamous Swiss Army Knife:Victorinox 1679500 Swiss Army Knife Champ - Red this is a bag built to the same exacting standards of quality and reliability.

It comes with a lifetime guarantee (excluding normal wear & tear) and a promise to be free from defects. It's design, although simple in appearance on closer inspection reveals a few very nice details such as the instantly recognisable badge or emblem of the red Swiss Victrinox Cross on its zipper and front.

There are also smaller splashes of red tucked away subtly where the zipper is stitched into the main body of the bag and where the trolly strap is stitched on. This leads me onto the negative points of this product.

This lap top bag has a trolly strap so it can be attached on top of your luggage, record box or weekend trolly - which is a great idea and nice little touch. Sadly though, it lacks any other Swiss Army Knife type gadgets.

I have a lap top bag at home which has all sort of clever design to help keep your lap top safe. It has shock absorbers in its bottom to protect you computer when you put it down on the ground. It has straps on the inside to keep your lappy help firmly in place, and for me this is what the bag lacked. It is quite simply, too simple.

There aren't even enough pockets on it for my liking, so even stashing, plugs cables and cords becomes a problem. With one front pocket you're severely limited. I don't know about you but I like to have the option to put a few pens, maybe a book, passport and so on and so forth in with my lap top on long journeys, so for me I won't be using this bag but sticking with my old one.

To sum up - this is a bag for day to day use, I think. If you have a lap top you need to take to and from office on a daily basis I think this will be ideal to bung it in and sling it in the car, but for anyone who wants a laptop bag that does more than just hold a laptop I'd maybe look at some others.

Features/Product spec:
Soft Grip Handle
Front Zippered Pocket
Trolly Strap
Tear Resistant Shoulder Strap
Protective Computer Compartment
Computer Pocket: L=34.4cm x W=4.5cm x H=25.4cm
Exterior Dimensions: L=38.1cm x W=5.1cm x H=30.5cm
Volume: 7 litres/0.70 cubic litres
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for the price., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wenger GA-7686-02 Sherpa Slimcase for up to 14.1 Inch Notebooks with Protective Computer Compartment (Personal Computers)
This is just what i have been looking for, it is small compact and of very good quality and a good price. it fits my 14 inch HP laptop perfectly and has room to take the mains charger and a mouse. it is very comfortable to carry by the handles and the shoulder strap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews