Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most original and brilliant soundtracks ever!, 5 Jan 2001
By 
This real musical gem is beautifully crafted and stunningly performed. Yared's juxtaposition of musical style and completeness of sound compares only to Michael Nyman and Bernard Hermann in film music terms. This album proves that popular and "classical" music may work as one and the same, and that "new music" may be new and inovative without succombing to extreemest 20th century compositional techniques. The highlight of this album, in my opinion, is track 2: "My Funny Valentine" superbly and apropriately sung by Matt Damon: this song, (in particular Damon's vocal style) combined with Sinead O'Connor's "Cain's Mother: a Lullably" forms a beautifull background over which the rest of the music is painted by the composer. These original versions of the songs remain in the memory of the listener throughout the soundtrack, and indeed, the film - even during the increasingly experimental jazz tracks. This soundtrack is genius. It not only enhances the film, it is greater than that. This recording stands on it's own two feet as a significant musical work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stabat Matar (Cliffs voice sends shivers down my spine), 6 Sep 2007
I watched the talented Mr Ripley for the first time last week and I was blown away not only by the movie but the soundtrack accompanying the suspense in the background. A movie is never a great movie without a fantastic soundtrack and this was a match made in heaven. Cliff Gurdins voice in Stabat Matar is unbelievable and brought tears to my eyes when accompanied with the film sequence in the seach for Dickie. Aled Jones was one of my favourites but Mr Gurdin is now one of my heroes and I long to find some more of his work. The rest of the soundtrack is just as good as this song and should be added to every movie soundtrack fans collection. Congratulations to the all involved and for the many tears I have shed listening to Cliffs sweet voice :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best soundtrack find in ages, 21 Sep 2007
What can I say, for the price this must be the music bargain of the year! Anthony Minghella wanted the music to be a substantial element of the film (particularly as the painting references featured in the book were swapped for musical ones for the film). Yared's contribution is perfection as are the numerous jazz pieces by Guy Barker and other performers. Cain's lullaby sung by Sinead O'Connor is a theme that haunts and is referenced in other tracks. I'm a great fan of 'heavyweight' film composers such as Herrman (Vertigo), Zimmer (Gladiator) and Desplat (Birth) - this rates right up there with the rest. Fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gem, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good eclectic mix of jazz and soundtrack pieces. Got this CD for the score, and main tracks are featured. Evokes a Hitchcock / Herman soundscope rarely achieved by newer generation composers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great music great film, enchanting soundtrack.I would definitely reccommend this soundtrack even if you have not seen the motion picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Talented Mr Ripley, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is in my top 5, and I've read the Patricia Highsmith books. I have been meaning to buy the soundtrack for years and Yared et all really lived up to my expectations. When cooking there is no better background music, taking me to my favourite country overseas, thinking of Ripley arriving by bus with the priest singing. If you enjoyed the film you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yum, 22 Jun 2008
Last week I was at a beach party in Portugal where the band got up and sang Tu Vuo' Fa L'Americano. Folk were divided - some running away from the 'insolent noise' to quote the film - others, me included rejoiced! Quite simply I've become a jazz disciple because of this body of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As stylish & cool as the film's locations., 26 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is fantastic mood music & serves to remind that the soundtrack was an integral part in helping to set the film's style & feel.
Close your eyes & drift to a simple, cool life where music is deeper than listening a few bars or chorus of whatever is on the radio; this music sets the tone of a life we'd love to experience.
Play in the car, in the bath, over dinner, with a friend, lover or on your own.
Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable, brilliant., 29 Nov 2007
I concur with the previous comment by "Beano". unbelievable and brilliant. When listening through what was an average compilation i was choked upon hearing the vocal delights of MR.Cliff Gurdin, move over Aled Jones. music to make sweet love to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews