Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Job
When I saw the size (large) of the product I thought I'd made a mistake but not so. It has turned out to be my best friend in my cookerless kitchen and has been perfect for all routine frying jobs a.nd has successfully dealt with fish, paella and risotto. It is fast to heat up and once you are used to it easy to cool down when cooking is complete. Cleaning is extremely...
Published on 5 Sept. 2011 by Weaverman

versus
88 of 90 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
Received item fairly quickly after ordering. On opening package, found the lid handle missing. This meant ringing the manufacturer for a replacement. Received a few days later, fitted. ok. Not the best start.

Have used the item a few times, so can now comment on performance, etc. Firstly, this is a large size, and will hold/cook a large amount of food. Easily...
Published on 24 Jan. 2012 by TrickyDicky


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 90 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 24 Jan. 2012
By 
TrickyDicky (Nottinghamshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1500 Watt Multi Cooker With Glass Lid -2 YEAR WARRANTY - Large 42cm Diameter - Non- Stick Surface - Cool Touch Handles
Received item fairly quickly after ordering. On opening package, found the lid handle missing. This meant ringing the manufacturer for a replacement. Received a few days later, fitted. ok. Not the best start.

Have used the item a few times, so can now comment on performance, etc. Firstly, this is a large size, and will hold/cook a large amount of food. Easily large enough for a party, or large family meal. Fairly well made for the money. Time will tell how long the non-stick coating lasts. Steelwork is fairly thin - at least it makes it light to lift. The major problem with this multi-cooker (skillet) is the temperature control. This is not just a problem with this make, I have seen reviews of other makes with the same problem. The control unit (thermostat) is built into the electric plug that attaches the unit to the mains. It has a dial on it, and a thermostat rod than pokes into the pan base/heating cavity. You can set the temperature between 1 and 5. It will heat up to the set temperature, then switch off, a few minutes later, when cooled down, it will switch back on. So there is quite a temperature swing (hysteresis) - impossible to simmer anything, as one minute it's bubbling, the next no heat. If you don't continue to stir the contents, it's very easy to burn the food in contact with the base, even on a low setting.

Note also that you cannot wash this like a normal pan. You cannot put it in water. You have to wipe it down.

Probably as good a skillet as you can get at this price. £30 is ok. I wouldn't want to pay the supposed full price of nearly £70.

I'll try cooking a few more different things over the coming weeks. I'll let you know if I find anything else you should know - good or bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Job, 5 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Andrew James 1500 Watt Multi Cooker With Glass Lid -2 YEAR WARRANTY - Large 42cm Diameter - Non- Stick Surface - Cool Touch Handles
When I saw the size (large) of the product I thought I'd made a mistake but not so. It has turned out to be my best friend in my cookerless kitchen and has been perfect for all routine frying jobs a.nd has successfully dealt with fish, paella and risotto. It is fast to heat up and once you are used to it easy to cool down when cooking is complete. Cleaning is extremely easy. Heat seems concentrated towards the edges with a cooler spot in the centre but I've found this can work to advantage if you are cooking breakfast for two or three others. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multi cooker, 21 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Andrew James 1500 Watt Multi Cooker With Glass Lid -2 YEAR WARRANTY - Large 42cm Diameter - Non- Stick Surface - Cool Touch Handles
I brought two of these to use for cooking in school, they are great, simple to use and very versitile. Would highly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEGA MULTI COOKER, 8 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1500 Watt Multi Cooker With Glass Lid -2 YEAR WARRANTY - Large 42cm Diameter - Non- Stick Surface - Cool Touch Handles
The Multi Cooker is fantastic , mainly got it for camping , everything will fit in all in 1 go , MEGA !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my best buy this year, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1500 Watt Multi Cooker With Glass Lid -2 YEAR WARRANTY - Large 42cm Diameter - Non- Stick Surface - Cool Touch Handles
Just what I hoped it was and great value have used it at parties and for keeping food hot when friends are over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars multi cooker, 16 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1500 Watt Multi Cooker With Glass Lid -2 YEAR WARRANTY - Large 42cm Diameter - Non- Stick Surface - Cool Touch Handles
Item arrived dented in the middle of the pan, because lid was squeezed onto pan. Pan is rather tinny and flimsy. Gets very hot around outside but quite cool in centre. Be prepared for burnt bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value, large and very useful, but rather flimsy and short-lived, 15 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Andrew James 1500 Watt Multi Cooker With Glass Lid -2 YEAR WARRANTY - Large 42cm Diameter - Non- Stick Surface - Cool Touch Handles
We bought this pan because a lot of Japanese domestic big meals use on the table cooking. For example, this was useful for braising (Sukiyaki) or dry frying (Yakiniku) on the table. The thermostat is not very sophisticated: it switches on when too cool and off when too hot. So it is not suitable for simmering, especially given its very large diameter and shallow depth (3.5 - 4.0 cm). The pan is quite light and the element is a single ring, so the heat is not very even. Overall, it was fine for cooking on the table for large meals, but is not for cooking with good control.

We did not use it very frequently, so I was disappointed that it stopped working after about 2-3 years. It was probably a problem with the insert from the removable thermostat, but there are no spare parts available for this pan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for the size., 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1500 Watt Multi Cooker With Glass Lid -2 YEAR WARRANTY - Large 42cm Diameter - Non- Stick Surface - Cool Touch Handles
I made the mistake of not looking at the size of this beast in more detail, it takes up a lot of counter space .......

As usual the price from Andrew James is brilliant and I will deal with the space issue.

This product is a basic electric skillet which works well for the price and is great value, but is the low end of the market.

The heating is not uniform across the thin base, which means the centre is degrees more than the outer of the pan.

The build quality is flimsy, the unit did not sit evenly on the surface this was resolved by pressing the centre of the skillet.

The heating control is not very precise, but works OK.

Boils water quickly, cooks breakfast in minutes and is inexpensive to purchase. If you are looking for quality then go for the Prestige models for £70. This product is worth the price you pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars complete waste of money, 7 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Andrew James 1500 Watt Multi Cooker With Glass Lid -2 YEAR WARRANTY - Large 42cm Diameter - Non- Stick Surface - Cool Touch Handles
have used this once, used plastic and wooden spoons, the non stick coating has now started to come off and so for safety reasons it is going in the bin. DO NOT BUY THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars electric fry pan, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1500 Watt Multi Cooker With Glass Lid -2 YEAR WARRANTY - Large 42cm Diameter - Non- Stick Surface - Cool Touch Handles
excellent cooking utensil heat is almost immediate.cooked a complete mixed grill in five minutes and uses a fraction of electricity than a normal frying pan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews