Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest I've seen in ages!
This is a brilliant film with laugh out loud moments at every turn, stellar performances from all those involved, and a well written script with a lot of witty jokes and darkly funny moments.

The general premise of the film is that Owen Wilson and Jason Sudeikis, both obsessed with the opposite sex and how life could have been if they weren't tied down with...
Published on 14 Mar. 2011 by M. Kearney

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a higher standard than you would expect
It's been a tough few years for the Farrelly brothers. After arriving on the scene brash and bold with the likes of Dumb And Dumber, and then cementing themselves as the reigning kings of the disgusto-com-meets-sweet-sentiment genre with There's Something About Mary, they'd found their thrones and were unchallenged by other filmmakers. But in recent years those crowns...
Published on 17 May 2012 by bizmandan


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a higher standard than you would expect, 17 May 2012
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
It's been a tough few years for the Farrelly brothers. After arriving on the scene brash and bold with the likes of Dumb And Dumber, and then cementing themselves as the reigning kings of the disgusto-com-meets-sweet-sentiment genre with There's Something About Mary, they'd found their thrones and were unchallenged by other filmmakers. But in recent years those crowns have been slipping. Follow-ups such as Me, Myself & Irene, and Shallow Hal we're ok but didn't really live up to the comedy gold that they were producing in their earlier career.

Now, a few years later, they're back in the comfort zone of goofball man-children and the women they lust after. The concept is a straightforward one and at first this movie seems like it is going to be like a straight to DVD American Pie type film, but it soon turns out that we are going to get treated to some old school Farrelly-style.

It's reliably safe territory for the writer/directors, who make sure to keep both of their leads believable and, to a decent degree, likable as they encounter an assortment of busty babes. And while the friends do get wrapped up in some farcical goings-on, they seem normal compared to their crazier acquaintances including a scene-stealing Stephen Merchant who actually offers most of the big laughs in the film. It's good to see Merchant in a role that has more than one line, and even though he is in a supporting role I can safely say that this film would have easily gone down a few notches on the likability metre if he wasn't in it.

Jenna Fischer is also worth a mention, who, with her mellow vibes, which I can't get enough of, really grounds the film, stops it getting to wacky and going too far into that vulgar and obvious American humour that really turn me off most US comedy films.

Nothing here tops the gross-out heights (or heart) of Mary, and Hall Pass won't prove a revelation for Farrelly fans, but it's a funnier effort than a lot of their recent work, and as a result it is genuinely entertaining rather than horribly tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest I've seen in ages!, 14 Mar. 2011
By 
M. Kearney (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is a brilliant film with laugh out loud moments at every turn, stellar performances from all those involved, and a well written script with a lot of witty jokes and darkly funny moments.

The general premise of the film is that Owen Wilson and Jason Sudeikis, both obsessed with the opposite sex and how life could have been if they weren't tied down with marriage, are granted "hall passes" (a week off marriage) by their wives - who hope that the men will see that life really isn't any greener on the other side. Much hilarity ensues when the two completely normal, middle aged men attempt to inject some spice into their lives on their week off. An equally interesting twist is the enjoyment that the wives appear to gain from the week off themselves.

This is a comedy with some well thought out and clever jokes & funny situations. The performances of Wilson and Sudeikis are brilliant - wholly believable and hilarious. As are the performances of the supporting actresses and all of the cameo appearances also (Stephen Merchant et al)

This is a brilliant comedy; it will have you laughing out loud several times and you'll want to watch it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!!, 8 Aug. 2011
By 
Mattknight (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Personally i thought this was hilarious! Very good idea!

Owen Wilson & Jason Sudeikis worked very well with each other, played the part realistically and humorously! Some awkward moments that make you cringe like in most comedies!
The idea itself was new and very entertaining!

Finally, i've never really seen Stephen Merchant in many things but i thought he was beyond hilarious in this! Especially a short extra part at the end of movie!! So keep an eye out!!

Thoroughly enjoyed, definite watch :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars High expectations, dashed, 4 April 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I've seen quite a few clips of this film when it first came out , and it looked pretty good. Although from experience they do tend to show the best bits in the trailers, and sometimes they can be the ONLY best bits, depending on the film. So when i got the chance to watch it , i leap't at the opportunity & my expectations were high, more so when i saw the full cast list & that it was from the Farrelly Brothers (There's Something About Mary & Shallow Hal).

So, 40 something's married men , Rick (Owen Wilson -Wedding Crashers) & Fred (Jason Sudeikis -Horrible Bosses) have been happily married for years to their Beautiful wives , but as they feel their relationships are becoming stale , their eyes start to wonder towards other woman , which doesn't go unnoticed by they're other halves Grace (Christina Applegate -Anchorman) & Maggie (Jenna Fischer -The Office USA). Who themselves have had enough, and with the advice of social guru/friend Dr.Lucy (Joy Behar -RL t.v Sociology Dr.) she recommends giving them a "Hall Pass", a week off from marriage. Reluctant at first , eventually they go ahead with it & comedy/mayhem ensue.

Overall i have to say that i was really trying hard to like this film , and i did in places as it was hilarious , but it didn't hit the mark every time & had me cringing more than laughing. The premise was great & the writers, cast were all of a high pedegree from comedy based backgrounds. Even the support cast with the likes of Richard Jenkins (Step Brothers) & Stephen Merchant. So i was quite surprised that this ended up being a bit of a disappointment with my lofty expectations.

In conclusion , great premise & writing/acting pedigree , but it just doesn't quite hit the spot enough for me to fully Recommend it. It has it's moments & it's okay for the genre , but nothing stand out worthy. Contains strong language, violence & mature themes. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What would you do with a week away from your wife?, 18 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Ever since Cameron Diaz first slicked up her hair with semen in 'There's Something About Mary', almost 15 years ago, the Farrelly Brothers have become almost a byword for gross-out comedy which bypasses morals for often poor-taste, but hilarious jokes. 'Hall Pass' bucks this trend a bit, and whilst the film is funny, it doesn't hold together particularly well, and never quite feels like a Farrelly film. 'Hall Pass' tells the story of Rick (Owen Wilson) and Fred (Jason Suedeikis), two buddies whose wives, tiring of them constantly checking out and fantasising over other girls, give them a week's 'Hall Pass', in which they head off to the country, and leave Rick and Fred to do exactly what they want, with who they want for a week - no questions asked. The film starts off excellently, as Rick and Fred are caught on CCTV by a group composed of family friends and their wives, discussing which of the group they admire the T&A of. This, the film's most awkwardly amusing moment, sets off a half hour or so of brilliant drunken and stoned buddy-moments, which eventually begin to grate a bit, as the plot drags, and the script throws increasingly unlikely obstacles in the way of the boys quest to get laid.

The performances from the leads in 'Hall Pass' are generally very good. Jenna Fischer ('The Office' [US]) excels as Rick's troubled wife, and Wilson himself is excellent as awkward-but-charming Rick. The script is hit and miss. There are a lot of moments to chuckle at, but fairly few real laughs, and the film gradually becomes pretty predictable. Of course the funny gross-out humour still gets a good airing, such as when Rick, struggling to escape from a jacuzzi, ends up being rescued by a man in the nearby sauna, only to turn round and find himself face-to-face with the man's rather large penis; but the film never quite seems to know if it's a childish comedy, or a weird rom-com with some crude gags; and flits towards the balance too much. The fact that the most moving speech of the film is directed to a topless female bartender confirms this. If you're looking for a relaxing, fairly likeable comedy, then I'm sure you'll enjoy 'Hall Pass', but fans of the Farrellys earlier work should perhaps not get too excited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hall Just Passed, 9 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Do you remember when the Farrelly Brothers used to be funny? All the goodwill they built up during the `Dumb and Dumber', `Kingpin' and `Mary' days are well gone in a sea of `The Ringer' and `The Heartbreak Kid'. In their best work they were able to balance sick jokes with real heart, now they seem to knock out mediocre comedies which feel awfully dated. Where does `Hall Pass' rate in their tableau of sins? About halfway as it a surprisingly decent film by the Brothers Farrelly, and although it no top comedy, it is a reasonable watch with a few laughs.

The secret to why `Hall Pass' is better than their previous few films is that the heart is back. The main characters Rick (Owen Wilson) and Fred (Jason Sudeikis) are idiots, but still likable (Fred more so than Rick). It is their wives that make the film bearable, having to put up with their nonsense with good grace and charm. Janna Fischer and Christina Applegate are the stars of the film and although they play a background role, they are the base that the film works from - if you cannot believe that they genuinely love Rick and Fred, the film just won't work.

With workable relationships at its centre, the Farrelly's would have to go a long way to ruin the film, and they almost do. The sick humour is ever present and as amusing as it was in 1998, it is pure dated nonsense by now. The entire format is tired, like a couple of blokes in their 40s churning out stuff that people used to find amusing. Thankfully, the cast make a good job of some dubious material and drag it up to an average standard. There is also the highlight of Stephen Merchant in his cameo, especially at the end.

Overall, `Hall Pass' just manages to leave the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hall and Jokes, 9 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do you remember when the Farrelly Brothers used to be funny? All the goodwill they built up during the `Dumb and Dumber', `Kingpin' and `Mary' days are well gone in a sea of `The Ringer' and `The Heartbreak Kid'. In their best work they were able to balance sick jokes with real heart, now they seem to knock out mediocre comedies which feel awfully dated. Where does `Hall Pass' rate in their tableau of sins? About halfway as it a surprisingly decent film by the Brothers Farrelly, and although it no top comedy, it is a reasonable watch with a few laughs.

The secret to why `Hall Pass' is better than their previous few films is that the heart is back. The main characters Rick (Owen Wilson) and Fred (Jason Sudeikis) are idiots, but still likable (Fred more so than Rick). It is their wives that make the film bearable, having to put up with their nonsense with good grace and charm. Janna Fischer and Christina Applegate are the stars of the film and although they play a background role, they are the base that the film works from - if you cannot believe that they genuinely love Rick and Fred, the film just won't work.

With workable relationships at its centre, the Farrelly's would have to go a long way to ruin the film, and they almost do. The sick humour is ever present and as amusing as it was in 1998, it is pure dated nonsense by now. The entire format is tired, like a couple of blokes in their 40s churning out stuff that people used to find amusing. Thankfully, the cast make a good job of some dubious material and drag it up to an average standard. There is also the highlight of Stephen Merchant in his cameo, especially at the end.

Overall, `Hall Pass' just manages to leave the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Predicatble and only funny in parts, 14 Jun. 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Rick (Owen Wilson - Wedding Crashers) & Fred (Jason Sudeikis - Going The Distance) are two best-friends who are just middle-aged guys frustrated with the throes of marriage. Their wives (Christina Applegate & Jenna Fischer) are also best friends who are equally frustrated with their husbands constantly ogling other women and degrading women in general during their guy-chat. Seeing no easy-solution to the problem, the girls decided to give the guys a "Hall-Pass" - a free week off from marriage to indulge all of these macho-bravado fantasies. Whilst the girls did it for the guys; they find out that they may have missed the single life just as much as their husbands & grab the opportunity themselves.

Not believing their luck, the guys are initially unsure what to do and find out that the way they remember their youth & ability to chat women up maybe grossly over-exaggerated, but as they find their 'mojo' once again, will either of them actually go through with it? Or do they love their wives enough to abstain, despite the free pass?

Hall Pass is a conservative film posing as a no-holds-barred-frat-boy movie. Whilst the concept is outlandish, the execution is just so limp-wristed it's unfunny, Wilson and Sudeikis play their parts adequately enough but both fall far short of being animals unleashed. Wilson is apathetic for the entire film, despite the advances of the very alluring Nicky Whelan. Sudeikis plays the brainless cohort egging Wilson on whilst Fischer (good to see her out of The Office) serves up a middle of the road performance as a neurotic wife. The beautiful Christina Applegate deserves some merit for playing a slightly more fractured character but has far too little screen-time. Bottom-line; it's all about the guys and the girls plot-lines are only there to qualify the guys behaviour.

Extra Content: All you get is a couple of deleted scenes and the original theatrical trailer, let's just say it's pretty clear why those scenes were deleted.

There is also the issue of the chauvinistic attitude of the characters, although this is somewhat countered by the equally base behaviour of the wives, but this really doesn't justify it at all. There are some funny parts to this film but they are few and far between and often just one-liners (the "Dublin" gag for example) the rest is an awkward struggle about marriage & morality. One of Wilson's weaker movies, worth a watch if you're a fan, if not, don't sweat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly and crude but very funny, 18 July 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This idiotic comedy movie has been slated in reviews so I must have just been in a good mood as I haven't laughed at a film so much in ages (since Wedding Crashers). It is a light, rude, easy comedy for couples or teen groups and delivers sexual themed jokes.

Stuck in married ruts and fed up of their husbands fantasising about being single again, 2 wives give their husbands hall passes, a week off marriage! The two men are hopeless, useless and comically unprepared for bachelor-hood. Owen Wilson leads the way, with best friend Jason Sudeikis and other group friends such as Stephen Merchant (the tall one from Ricky Gervais shows).

The cast is great, the idea amusing and enticing (if you are in a silly mood) and the film is a laugh out loud joke-fest. I thought it was effortlessly brilliant, if not predictable, daft and childish. It was after all directed by the Farrelly Brothers (Shallow Hal, Something About Mary, Dumb and Dumber).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BrownPolar Verdict, 24 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Hall Pass (DVD)
As I said in my review for Farrelly Brothers' 2007 film, `The Heartbreak Kid`, the brothers always try to push the boundaries of common decency in each new comedy that they make. However with `Hall Pass' they appear to have restrained themselves a little, because the film is much less offensive and a tad more mushy or soppy for my taste. In addition, it is more predictable in its gags than the brothers' previous outings.

Nevertheless, it is a highly enjoyable parody of married life that is going stale by the hour, like it happens everywhere at this very minute My favourite performance in the movie is Richard Jenkins' brilliant little cameo, which is naturally hilarious. Stephen Merchant is so uncomfortable in his role that it is hysterical to see him trying so hard in his first, Hollywood expose! I would not miss for the world the gaff sequence incorporated into the end credits, where the crew pulls a great little prank on the hapless Merchant.

Nor would I miss the deleted scene on this DVD, which I believe is a mistake to edit off from the movie. I am sure Warner studio bosses had a lot to do with making this film meeker than it should have been, including this unnecessary cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hall Pass [DVD] [2011]
Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] by Peter Farrelly (DVD - 2011)
£2.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews