Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest I've seen in ages!
This is a brilliant film with laugh out loud moments at every turn, stellar performances from all those involved, and a well written script with a lot of witty jokes and darkly funny moments.

The general premise of the film is that Owen Wilson and Jason Sudeikis, both obsessed with the opposite sex and how life could have been if they weren't tied down with...
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by M. Kearney

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a higher standard than you would expect
It's been a tough few years for the Farrelly brothers. After arriving on the scene brash and bold with the likes of Dumb And Dumber, and then cementing themselves as the reigning kings of the disgusto-com-meets-sweet-sentiment genre with There's Something About Mary, they'd found their thrones and were unchallenged by other filmmakers. But in recent years those crowns...
Published 23 months ago by bizmandan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest I've seen in ages!, 14 Mar 2011
By 
M. Kearney (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is a brilliant film with laugh out loud moments at every turn, stellar performances from all those involved, and a well written script with a lot of witty jokes and darkly funny moments.

The general premise of the film is that Owen Wilson and Jason Sudeikis, both obsessed with the opposite sex and how life could have been if they weren't tied down with marriage, are granted "hall passes" (a week off marriage) by their wives - who hope that the men will see that life really isn't any greener on the other side. Much hilarity ensues when the two completely normal, middle aged men attempt to inject some spice into their lives on their week off. An equally interesting twist is the enjoyment that the wives appear to gain from the week off themselves.

This is a comedy with some well thought out and clever jokes & funny situations. The performances of Wilson and Sudeikis are brilliant - wholly believable and hilarious. As are the performances of the supporting actresses and all of the cameo appearances also (Stephen Merchant et al)

This is a brilliant comedy; it will have you laughing out loud several times and you'll want to watch it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a higher standard than you would expect, 17 May 2012
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
It's been a tough few years for the Farrelly brothers. After arriving on the scene brash and bold with the likes of Dumb And Dumber, and then cementing themselves as the reigning kings of the disgusto-com-meets-sweet-sentiment genre with There's Something About Mary, they'd found their thrones and were unchallenged by other filmmakers. But in recent years those crowns have been slipping. Follow-ups such as Me, Myself & Irene, and Shallow Hal we're ok but didn't really live up to the comedy gold that they were producing in their earlier career.

Now, a few years later, they're back in the comfort zone of goofball man-children and the women they lust after. The concept is a straightforward one and at first this movie seems like it is going to be like a straight to DVD American Pie type film, but it soon turns out that we are going to get treated to some old school Farrelly-style.

It's reliably safe territory for the writer/directors, who make sure to keep both of their leads believable and, to a decent degree, likable as they encounter an assortment of busty babes. And while the friends do get wrapped up in some farcical goings-on, they seem normal compared to their crazier acquaintances including a scene-stealing Stephen Merchant who actually offers most of the big laughs in the film. It's good to see Merchant in a role that has more than one line, and even though he is in a supporting role I can safely say that this film would have easily gone down a few notches on the likability metre if he wasn't in it.

Jenna Fischer is also worth a mention, who, with her mellow vibes, which I can't get enough of, really grounds the film, stops it getting to wacky and going too far into that vulgar and obvious American humour that really turn me off most US comedy films.

Nothing here tops the gross-out heights (or heart) of Mary, and Hall Pass won't prove a revelation for Farrelly fans, but it's a funnier effort than a lot of their recent work, and as a result it is genuinely entertaining rather than horribly tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!!, 8 Aug 2011
By 
Mattknight (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Personally i thought this was hilarious! Very good idea!

Owen Wilson & Jason Sudeikis worked very well with each other, played the part realistically and humorously! Some awkward moments that make you cringe like in most comedies!
The idea itself was new and very entertaining!

Finally, i've never really seen Stephen Merchant in many things but i thought he was beyond hilarious in this! Especially a short extra part at the end of movie!! So keep an eye out!!

Thoroughly enjoyed, definite watch :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 11 July 2011
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hall Pass - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
In Hall Pass Owen Wilson stars as a married man who after being caught many times checking out other women and discussing with his friends how he would act given the chance, he is granted one week to live a bachelor's life, but runs into a moral snag when his wife (Jenna Fischer) heads out on her own single-life fantasy while off on vacation.

I must admit that before seeing this I had very low expectations as it sounded pretty ridiculous and shallow but as I was watching it I found myself laughing out loud every couple of minutes. The story was actually pretty decent and there was a moral of the story at the end which, although was a little predictable, put a smile on my face. It is very funny with some really cringe-worthy moments (especially the cheesy chat up lines). The characters were great and the acting was spot-on. I loved the usage of the Law & Order "clunk" for each day too - an excellent touch! This isn't the funniest film of the year but is certainly one that I would recommend to watch. [3.5 out of 5]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny Film, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Great film and very amusing.
Fab price too.
It is a bit of a lads film but my wife found it very funny too, so a good comedy choice to share with a partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Farrelly brother's best work in years, 8 April 2012
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
what this movie lacks is many LOL moments.

Laughs are few but overall it's an entertaining movie.

It's less obnoxious and offensive then farrelly brothers few last movie.

Owen and judas did nice job on acting front.

See and enjoy.

3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High Expectations Dashed, 4 April 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I've seen quite a few clips of this film when it first came out , and it looked pretty good. Although from experience they do tend to show the best bits in the trailers, and sometimes they can be the ONLY best bits, depending on the film. So when i got the chance to watch it , i leap't at the opportunity & my expectations were high, more so when i saw the full cast list & that it was from the Farrelly Brothers (There's Something About Mary & Shallow Hal).

So, 40 something's married men , Rick (Owen Wilson -Wedding Crashers) & Fred (Jason Sudeikis -Horrible Bosses) have been happily married for years to their Beautiful wives , but as they feel their relationships are becoming stale , their eyes start to wonder towards other woman , which doesn't go unnoticed by they're other halves Grace (Christina Applegate -Anchorman) & Maggie (Jenna Fischer -The Office USA). Who themselves have had enough, and with the advice of social guru/friend Dr.Lucy (Joy Behar -RL t.v Sociology Dr.) she recommends giving them a "Hall Pass", a week off from marriage. Reluctant at first , eventually they go ahead with it & comedy/mayhem ensue.

Overall i have to say that i was really trying hard to like this film , and i did in places as it was hilarious , but it didn't hit the mark every time & had me cringing more than laughing. The premise was great & the writers, cast were all of a high pedegree from comedy based backgrounds. Even the support cast with the likes of Richard Jenkins (Step Brothers) & Stephen Merchant. So i was quite surprised that this ended up being a bit of a disappointment with my lofty expectations.

In conclusion , great premise & writing/acting pedigree , but it just doesn't hit the spot enough for me to fully Recommend it. It has it's moments & it's okay for the genre , but nothing stand out worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly and crude but very funny, 18 July 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This idiotic comedy movie has been slated in reviews so I must have just been in a good mood as I haven't laughed at a film so much in ages (since Wedding Crashers). It is a light, rude, easy comedy for couples or teen groups and delivers sexual themed jokes.

Stuck in married ruts and fed up of their husbands fantasising about being single again, 2 wives give their husbands hall passes, a week off marriage! The two men are hopeless, useless and comically unprepared for bachelor-hood. Owen Wilson leads the way, with best friend Jason Sudeikis and other group friends such as Stephen Merchant (the tall one from Ricky Gervais shows).

The cast is great, the idea amusing and enticing (if you are in a silly mood) and the film is a laugh out loud joke-fest. I thought it was effortlessly brilliant, if not predictable, daft and childish. It was after all directed by the Farrelly Brothers (Shallow Hal, Something About Mary, Dumb and Dumber).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Comedy Classic: The Farrellys at their best., 28 April 2011
This review is from: Hall Pass [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
It's not often I look over a review and go and change it, when I originally wrote this review I wrote this:

The farelly brothers have come a long way from their comedic heights but the slump may have stopped with Hall Pass. The film is just funny enough to be passable. Owen Wilson plays Rick who is given a Hall Pass by his wife and along with his pal Fred who gets his after an incident in his car decide to go on the pull for women with a week off from marriage. The laughs are too few but are funny as heck when they come. Worth a Look.
I called this review: Funny just not very funny and gave this film 3 out of 5 stars. April 2011.

Well after seeing this film again and again over the last 1 and 8 months I'll admit i was wrong because this film is a riot a total 5 star classic (of course Dumb and Dumber is better but let's not compare).

Rick and Fred as amazingly funny Rick (Owen Wilson) and Fred (Jason Sudeikis) are a great double act. The one liners come thick and fast apparently too fast for me to notice the first time round. This film deserves to be viewed again and again just to see how good it really is.

The incident in the car as mentioned above is hilarious even after repeat viewing.

Fred and Rick's friends are given very little to do so do not deserve much of a mention but one friend who does steal the show is Coakley (Richard Jenkins). I love that photo, that was a great wedding...got with one of the bridesmaids...what was her name again. Fred: Jenny, my sister...Coakley: Oh how is she...Fred: Still Married... Coakley: seemed like it was in trouble.

This film is on par with the Farrelly's earlier work and trust me if you like that then you will love this.

I would also like to apologies for my earlier review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Giggler, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall Pass (Amazon Instant Video)
I gave 4 stars as its a good flick, not as many laughs as I would like but thats just me. The laughs that it did give were good uns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3948cc0)

This product

Hall Pass - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [Region Free]
7.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews