Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


284 of 295 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blu Ray Box Set that Soars Above the Rest - Essential!
***WARNING***
My review of this Blu Ray collection has been duplicated by Amazon so it appears on 2 products.The review I originally posted was for the 8 disc version which has the case with the Superman symbol in the middle with the Fortress of Solitude in the background and uses this product link The Complete Superman Collection [Blu-ray] [1978][Region Free]. This...
Published on 13 Jun 2011 by Mr. S. W. Steel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazon's own review was misleading as to the contents
Amazon's own review - Amazon's, not other those of other customers' - was misleading as to the contents. It implied that a director's cut was included - it isn't. It referred to a different product.
The seller won't refund because I opened the package. Only then did I see what was missing.
It was no small purchase either.
Published 18 months ago


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

284 of 295 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blu Ray Box Set that Soars Above the Rest - Essential!, 13 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Superman Motion Picture Anthology 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
***WARNING***
My review of this Blu Ray collection has been duplicated by Amazon so it appears on 2 products.The review I originally posted was for the 8 disc version which has the case with the Superman symbol in the middle with the Fortress of Solitude in the background and uses this product link The Complete Superman Collection [Blu-ray] [1978][Region Free]. This is the edition you want if you want all the extra goodies - because i don't own the other collection I can't tell you what is missing in terms of extras in the 5 disc package though from reading various comments i understand that this package doesn't have the extended cuts of the films and i am guessing more of the extras are missing too!When you think about is a three disc difference in the two packages so i would guess quite a lot is missing from the 5 disc set. Incidentally the 5 disc set has the Superman symbol on a PLAIN BLACK BACKGROUND and it's product link is Superman Complete Collection (5-disc Edition) [Blu-ray] [1978][Region Free].
My personal recommendation is to go for the 8 disc edition as it contains a huge amount of extras as listed in the main review below, and is only slightly more expensive than the 5 disc version. I apologise to anyone who accidentally bought the 5 disc version on the strength of my review - it is purely down to Amazon duplicating the review and not me posting it twice.

***MAKE SURE YOU ORDER THE CORRECT EDITION FOR YOU***

This is an amazing Blu Ray package and one I would recommend to any Superman fan.
For a start, there are 8 discs included in this set absolutely packed with all the films so far - Superman I(theatrical release),Superman I (expanded edition) Superman II (cinematic version), Superman II (the Richard Donner cut), Superman III, Superman IV and Superman Returns. So, before you even get into all the extras, this package is an absolute bargain (just over £4 per Blu ray disc is amazing!).
One issue that has been posted in the discussion regarding this blu ray is the fact that the discs all have Spanish printed on them. However, the rest of the packaging and the playback of the blu ray discs are ALL in English - so fear not! Also, the title denoting which disc it is, is very hard to find on the actual disc (it is in tiny writing around the edge) and this makes it a little annoying when trying to separate the two versions of Superman:The Movie, and the two versions of Superman II (cinematic release, and the Richard Donner cut). But ultimately, this makes no difference to me and didn't frustrate me in the slightest - so don't let this very minor niggle put you off!
For those of you who already own the DVD version of this set, Superman - The Ultimate Collection [DVD] I can honestly say that it is worth upgrading to this Blu Ray version. All the extra features in the DVD collection have been transferred to the Blu Ray version, and with a couple of extra goodies that haven't been seen before on a collection. These include Heart of a Hero: A Tribute to Christopher Reeve, The Science of Superman, and most notably the unseen start to Superman Returns. This has never been released, and for the ultra-fan is probably going to be the place to start. Without spoiling what goes on, this sequence shows Superman returning to the destroyed fragments of Krypton.
I am not completely au fait with all the technical aspects of what these Blu Ray discs play like - so I can't talk about aspect ratios, frame rates or sound specifics, I am afraid. However, I can tell you that all the films have been lovingly cleaned up on Blu Ray. They all look fantastic - very clean, precise and rich in colour, and if you compare the quality of the films to the prints contained in the deleted scenes section of the discs you will see what I mean.
The packaging is of a high quality too - my copy arrived with all the discs securely attached,and unlike some boxed sets, I expect this to last a very long time without falling apart.
I am a huge Superman fan. Superman: The Movie is the first film I can remember going to see at the cinema (showing my age now!) and it was an amazing experience for me back then in 1978(is it really that long ago now??!!), and this blu ray collection brings it all back to me. It is great to see the films so lovingly restored. Warner Bros deserve a lot of credit for producing a package of this quality.
If you loved these films, you will definitely want to own this box set. If you are a Superman fan, you will simply HAVE to own this set - buy it now, and don't even stop to think about it! These are great family films to own too, so if you want a collection that can be pulled out on a Sunday afternoon, this is well worth investing in.
Obviously, all the films aren't perfect in their content, style, scripting or even their effects and Superman IV The Quest for Peace is still an appalling film (right up there with Batman and Robin), but when they are good, they are something special to watch. Without Superman The Movie, there probably wouldn't have been other comic book adaptations - it set the bar very high for what was to come.

Okay, that is the main part of my review. In my opinion, it is an essential Blu Ray box set to own and I can't give it anything less than five stars.
The highlights for me are the reproduction quality of all the films ; Superman has NEVER looked so good. The huge amount of featurettes and documentaries are worthy of praise. Superman II the Directors Cut is a gem (see what the film would have been like had Richard Donner been allowed to direct the sequel). And to see the previously unreleased sequence at the start of Superman Returns, was a very interesting watch.

At the bottom of this review is a full list of all the languages on each disc - spoken and subtitles.

Below is a complete list of what is contained on each disc - to give you a/ a feel for how much is contained within this set and b/ for the fans to compare with what was contained in the aforementioned Superman : Ultimate Collection on Dvd. Hope this helps!

Disc 1 - Superman the Movie: Original theatrical release. Commentary by the producers, Tv special Making of documentary, 1651 theatrical feature Superman and the Mole men starring George Reeves, classic cartoons Suepr-Rabbit, Snafuperman and Stupor duck, Tv spot and theatrical trailers

Disc 2 - Superman the Movie : Expanded Edition, commentary by Richard Donner and Tom Mankiewicz, Restored scenes, additional deleted scenes, screen tests, music only audio track, audio only bonus : additional music cues, 3 documentaries :Taking Flight(developing Superman), Filming the Legend and the Magic Behind the Cape.

Disc 3 Superman II: Original Theatrical release, commentary by the producers, tv special Making of documentary, additional scenes, featurette First Flight :The Fleischer Superman series, 9 Fleischer Superman cartoons, Theatrical trailer

Disc 4 Superman II : 2006 Richard Donner Cut, commentary by the director, introduction by Richard Donner, featurette Superman II Restoring the Vision, additional scenes, 8 1940s cartoons

Disc 5 Superman III , commentary by the producers, tv special Making of, Additional scenes, theatrical trailer

Disc 6 Superman IV The Quest for Peace, commentary by co-screenwriter, vintage tv special Supermans 50th Anniversary, additional scenes, theatrical trailer.

Disc 7 Superman Returns, 9 documentaries on how the film was developed, and evolved, Resurrecting Jor-El (as played originally by Marlon Brando), additional scenes (including the previously unseen opening of Superman's return to Krypton), theatrical trailers, Bryan Singers video journals.

Disc 8 All Documentaries and Featurettes :Look, Up in the Sky! the Amazing Story of Superman, feature length documentary in 5 parts : Origin (Superman in the Media and the challenges the Salkinds faced), Vision (creating the script, choosing the right direct and the right cast), Ascent(production and launch of a new kind of a fantasy film), Crisis (complications and conflicts between the creative forces of Superman II) and Redemption (criticisms and burnout of Superman III and Superman IV).TV documentary Science of Superman, Mythology of Superman: Legend, folklore and cultural influences that shaped Superman, Heart of a Hero: tribute to Christopher Reeve, Adventures of Superpup 1958 Tv pilot

Languages on the Discs

Extended Superman I
Spoken - English, French, German, Italian, Spanish
Subtitles - English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Russian

Theatrical Superman I
Spoken - English 5.1, English 2.0 (original theatrical), French, German, Itallian, Spanish, Portuguese
Subtitles - English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish

Superman II Richard Donner Cut
Spoken - English
Subtitles - English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese (Brazillian), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Finnish, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Slovenian, Swedish, Turkish

Superman II Theatrical
Spoken - English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Subtitles - English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, Finnish

Superman III
Spoken - English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Hungarian, Polish
Subtitles - English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Hungarian, Polish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Portugese, Romanian, Sweden, Turkish

Superman IV
Spoken - English, French, german, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Hungarian, Polish
Subtitles - English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese (Brazilian), Danish, Finnish, Hungarian, Norwegian, Polish, Portugese, Romanian, Swedish, Turkish

Superman Returns
Spoken - English, French (Quebec), French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Czech, Hungarian, Polish, Russian
Subtitles - English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portugese (Brazilian), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Finnish, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Slovenian, Swedish, Turkish

Bonus Disc
Spoken - English
Subtitles - English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese

Just a quick note on these languages; every one of these was taken from what appears on each blu ray disc and NOT what it says on the packaging. The packaging is very bad - it is very generalised, and doesn't really give specifics for what is on each disc. As you can see from the above list, some languages are on one disc, but not on another! And finally, there are some languages on the discs that are in symbols that I don't know and haven't the facility to look up so I apologise for them being excluded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Box Set (Pun intended), 26 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. S. Frost (S-O-T UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Superman Motion Picture Anthology 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The superman films have always had significant meaning for me as along with He Man were my staple diet of superhero nutriion as I was growing up.
This box set therefore in my opinion is absolutley fantastic. The only thing I dont understand is why I didnt buy it sooner.

Great quality sound and visuals, only let down by Superman IV(Which I remember seeing at the cinema aged 6). The storyline and the cost cutting production I am sure was an embarrassment for all involved.

Apart from that the extra features and the restoration of the first three films and the inclusion of Superman Returns (which was harshly treated by critics and fans)is great value for money. The box packaging is also great with the only negative being the Spanish script on the discs.

Why buy it?

Christopher Reeve is terrific as Superman/Kent in the first three films and his portrayal has stood the test of time. Superman II in my opinion is the best of all of the films included in this set. It is a fantastic story of romance and good old fashioned good v evil with Reeve adding another dimension to the dilemma of Superman as he becomes mortal.

The Donner cut again is an excellent addition with the extra scenes of Brando a real treat and is really how the original Superman II should have been released back in 1980. It is worth buying this set just for the Donner cut and the featurettes so go on you wont regret it.

The best box set money can buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious and worth every cent, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Superman Motion Picture Anthology 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I originally bought Superman The Movie, Superman II: The Richard Donner Cut and Superman Returns on HD DVD, and those satisfied me for a while - but I knew I always wanted the sequels, Superman III and Superman IV The Quest for Peace (a guilty pleasure of mine) on Blu-Ray. When the chance arose to get this at a decent price (including shipping it was around $35), I couldn't refuse to get this 8-disc box set.

The first two films are spread across the first four discs - that is, theatrical cuts and then Richard Donner's versions. Superman III is disc five, Superman IV is disc six, Superman Returns, disc seven, and an eighth disc which has the fantastic documentary chronicling the history of Superman in film and television - both George Reeves and and Christopher Reeve get a moment of silence from mentioning their passing.

The set is exhaustive - of particular interest to me was the inclusion of the Fleischer cartoons, of which I watched many times as a youngster. As far as I can tell they are in high definition as well, and they look beautiful. Also included in the first episode of George Reeves' Superman show from the 50s, as well as a never-aired/never-released/completely frightening "Adventures of Superpup" pilot.

The only thing missing from this set, that even though it wasn't a Christopher Reeve movie, was Supergirl. Mentioned in some of the documentaries, its exclusion is a bit perplexing, as it was made between Superman III and Superman IV. Hopefully a standalone release will come in the future.

The set is worth every cent for Superfans and with eight discs worth of material to watch, including theatrical versions of all the films and expanded/director's cuts of the first two, including commentaries on all except for Superman Returns, this is a set that will take a good while to work through. Highly, highly, HIGHLY recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 9 Jan 2012
By 
R Lough (Sunderland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Superman Motion Picture Anthology 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This could well be the best blu ray box set that I own. Not only does it feature all five Superman movies in stunning HD, but it also includes the expanded edition of Superman The Movie and the Richard Donner Cut of Superman II. As for the special features - they are some of the most comprehensive that I have ever seen. If you have even just a passing interest in the Superman movies, then buy this now. At £27 it is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christopher Reeve is Superman..., 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Superman Motion Picture Anthology 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
It seems that Superman isn't as popular as he used to be; which is a shame because the first two Superman films ranks among some of the best superhero films ever made.

Superman The Movie introduces Christopher Reeve as the man of steel himself, and in my opinion, no one will be able to top his performance as this character. While the first movie is not my favourite of the series, it is still a great film with great performances all round, particularly from Gene Hackman as the villainous Lex Luther.

Superman II however is definitely my favourite film of the series, with a great story and terrific villains lead by the spectacular Terence Stamp as General Zod. While not a popular opinion, the theatrical version of the film remains my favourite to date even though I liked the inclusion of Marlin Brando in the Richard Donner Cut and some of the silly comedy being removed. The Richard Donner Cut just didn't feel like a complete movie and the decision to have Louis Lane discover Clark Kent's true identity as Superman in the first scene just fell flat. Turning the world back at the end of this cut didn't make sense either, as it would have been impossible for Clark to get his revenge on the bully in the diner as it never happened because of the time changing. The Eifel Tower scene is also missing, which I is one of the best scenes of the theatrical cut.

In my opinion Superman III isn't a bad film; it's just a bad Superman film. The comedy is ridiculous and the inclusion of Richard Pryor really hurt it, but it still has some great moments. While it was disappointing to see Louis Lane as a minor character, Annette O'Toole does a very good job as Clark's first crush Lana, and seeing Christopher Reeve as the evil Superman is one the highlights of the entire series which climax's with a spectacular junkyard showdown between the evil Superman and Clark Kent.

Superman IV: The Quest for Peace on the other hand was just a complete disaster. The film is way too short (though that's probably a good thing considering everything else that's wrong with the film), the special effects are incredibly dated even for a film from the 1980s and Nuclear Man is one of the worst villains every brought to screen with some of the worst dialogue I had ever heard in a film.

Superman Returns however, is one of the most underrated superhero movies ever made. While not as good as the first two films, Brandon Ruth does a very good job as Clark Kent and Superman and Kevin Spacey makes a great Lex Luther. While the film is a little long, it is still better than the over hyped Man of Steel which isn't much longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super., 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Superman Motion Picture Anthology 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
An amazingly definitive collection of all 4 Christopher Reeve Superman movies, & Bryan Singer's 2006 Superman Returns.
Extra features are truly exhaustive, with vintage making of features as well as newly commissioned retrospective documentaries. This boxset also contains both the theatrical and directors cuts of the original movie. And the re edited "Donner Cut" of Superman II, which largely removes some of the sillier aspects of the 1980 theatrical version (which is also included.).
Parts 3 & 4 are also included, no matter what your opinion is of them. Superman Returns, in my opinion, is a fairly underrated movie. It's a little slow paced and lacking in action, but as last years Man Of Steel has shown us, too much destruction and set pieces can be a bad thing too! Picture and sound quality is excellent overall. Though it's unlikely many people will ever play Superman 4! The collection is rounded out with a bonus disc that houses a 2hr documentary, that covers ol' Supes from his 1938 comic debut, until 2006's aforementioned 'Returns. All in all, a great package, and a must for fans of the original Reeve movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's okay but it could be better.., 7 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Superman Motion Picture Anthology 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Absolutlely awesome collection the original movies starring the late Christopher Reeve the transfer to blu ray is seriously fantastic.
But I have a few criticisms. firstly why put 2 versions of the movie on seperate discs, every blu ray I have that has dual versions are on 1 disc and includes the special features.
The Richard Donner cut of Superman 2 is quite frankly stupid, it has scenes that were put together from early shoots and screen tests, so one minute Clark and Lois look like the original movie the next they look totally different, I hardly recognised Christopher Reeve as it was shot before he bulked up a bit for the part, he looked extremely scrawny.. In other parts the story just didn't make sense and having the world turn back sequence from the 1st movie, after you had just seen it, was wierd to say the least.. Don't watch this version or your head will explode..

The biggest ommision considering this was all the Salkind movies is not having the Supergirl movie in it, instead of the attrocious Superman Returns film..
Overall not bad but it could have been a hell of a lot better..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You've got me, who's got you?, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you grew up in the 70s there's a possibility your mom and dad took you to the cinema to see these movies. It's great watching these again in full Dolby digital remastered 5.1 on the first three movies. Superman 1 takes a long time to reach some real super hero action. What did Superman ever see in Lois Lane? How could Superman hide his identity behind a big pair of glasses? Clumsy with his glasses on too! Obviously Lois wasn't into men in glasses.
Superman 2 is where the this box set shines. Terence Stamp as General Zod was superb casting, the plot is the best one in the series.
I can't help thinking how much better the Christopher Reeve movies would have been with today's CGI wizardry.
Superman 3 relies to heavily on comedy to disguise it's poor plot. Superman 4 is where it all goes belly up, poor story backed up with poor effects. Still it's better than the the batman sequels after Batman Returns in the 90's.
Revisit your childhood get this box set, I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relieve the magic, 9 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Superman Motion Picture Anthology 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This blu-ray boxsext is worth for Superman and Superman II alone. For me and many others, Mr Christopher Reeve will always be the one and only true SUPERMAN. He made us al believe a man could make a difference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marvelous entertainment for the people who love adventure. It will not be for everyone's liking but I love something different in my library and this set fits quite well. So if you like superman and the ironman icons than this is a must have. There is plenty of action and suspense throughout so what are you waiting for, get moving pick up the popcorn and go put your feet up and relax to a delightful night of fabulous entertainment. I rated this an A grade for the great acting by the performers and the feeling of been there involved with the story and something that is different to all other shows plus being in Blu-ray shows even better. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Superman Motion Picture Anthology 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978]  [Region Free]
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews