Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost in Admiration
Sometimes a piece of work comes along that is so brilliantly put together that it remains lodged in your mind. When I first saw Lost for Words many years ago I thought it was touching, funny, artfully directed and amazingly acted. When I saw it again recently, when my own mother was a long way down her slide into dementia, it spoke volumes of the incredible observational...
Published on 23 Jan 2011 by Sue Campbell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars True life
Good film with brilliant acting by Pete Postlethwait and Thora Hurd, Based on true life. One to bring you back to reality.
Published 9 months ago by Keith Mills


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost in Admiration, 23 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Lost For Words [DVD] (DVD)
Sometimes a piece of work comes along that is so brilliantly put together that it remains lodged in your mind. When I first saw Lost for Words many years ago I thought it was touching, funny, artfully directed and amazingly acted. When I saw it again recently, when my own mother was a long way down her slide into dementia, it spoke volumes of the incredible observational writing. This time there were more tears, but it's still one of the best films I have ever seen, with Pete Postlethwaite and Thora Hird at the top of their game. Watch it. It's a British gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, shouldn't be missed, 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
Lost for words is a truly inspired, magical piece of autobiographical writing by Deric Longden, all about his mothers fight with senility. It is full of pathos and humour, so much so that sometime I didn't know whether to laugh or cry, and ended up doing both. The casting of Thora Hird as Annie, and Peter Postlethwaite as Deric was spot on, as they both gave such skillful heart wrenching performances. It is one drama that, if I could bear to, I would watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 30 Mar 2003
By A Customer
Ever since i saw this a few years ago on tv i have meant to buy it and since the sad death of Thora Hird i have made the effort in earnest. For those who haven't seen this wonderful piece, just go and buy it. Buy it for the humour especially the scene where Annie {Thora} invites all her perspective house buyers to one single viewing ensuring that she points out all the faults of the house in detail.There's much more to make you laugh out loud and as one of the great exponents of her art Thora also turns it on it's head and plays some tear wrenching scenes when her character suffers a stroke and has to move into a nursing home. I was riveted the whole way through and would happily watch it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost for words, 5 April 2011
By 
David Rowland - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost For Words [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Lost for Words is an immensely likeable, funny and moving story of the loving relationship between a middle aged man (played by Pete Postlethwaite) and his elderly mother (played by Thora Hird) as she gradually develops dementia and physical incapacity following a stroke. As a former social worker who worked for many years with people who have dementia and their carers and also being the son of someone who developed dementia I can see a lot of my own experiences mirrored in what the character superbly portrayed by Postlethwaite goes through as he watches helplessly as his mother weakens in both body and mind.

Thora Hird, as always, is brilliant as a lovely, warm and generous lady who is robbed of her mental faculties by this cruel and merciless disease. The scenes where she puts her house up for sale and then goes out of her way to tell the people who come to view the property everything that is wrong with it are wonderful.

The film is sensitive and touching and shows that in the midst of human suffering there can be humour as well as sadness and that the bond of love between a mother and her son can overcome everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality writing and acting, 25 May 2006
This review is from: Lost For Words [DVD] (DVD)
With Thora (bless her) in this screenplay, you would have thought that it had been written by the Master, himself, Alan Bennett. It wasnt and yet it has all the hallmarks of Bennett's best writing and I loved it. Deric Longden has come up with a powerful piece; funny, sad, thoughtful and ultimately entertaining. Pete Postlethwaite has probably had more demanding roles, but he is the perfect 'son' and the pathos shines right through as of course does the wit and frustration. Thora is truly superb and this performance should have won awards (maybe it did). What happens? Not a lot, but then you'd expect nothing more in this fine British film about old age and the slide towards dementia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars almost as good as the book, 3 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost For Words [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The 1st book I read by Deric Longden was the Cat That came in from the Cold, I quickly followed it by Diana's Story - the Only book that I have ever read cover to cover without stopping and then read again straight away, then Lost for Words. The book was (as all Deric Longden's books are) funny, real and beautifully written. It was a great pleasure, then, to see the dvd and find it was so like the book (a rare thing!) No great surprise, as Deric Longden also wrote the screen play...the characters were superbly portrayed and the story remained both funny and heart-rending..Deric Longdens particular skill to humanise such situations...I just wish Diana's Story (Wide -eyed and legless) was available on DVD..maybe somewhere in the future it will be...for anyone who enjoyed this film..buy the book...all his books..they are all brilliant, I am sure that one day in the future kids will be studying them in schools as classics of our age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost for words, 19 Mar 2011
This review is from: Lost For Words [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd is the best I have ever purchased.The story is so very true to life and is so typical of those who have experienced stroke and all of its implications first hand.A very moving but at the same time amusing story performed by an exceptionally talented cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REAL WORK OF ART :-), 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost For Words [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This a very moving Film with a perfect mixture of pathos, humour, understanding and dignity. Thora Hird and Peter Postlewaite, both actors unfortunatly no longer with us, showed their skill and experience in bringing to life the main protagonists with great feeling and optomism. This was a very brave story based on the true life events of the authors mother whose later life was a reflection of so many and brings a tear to the eye of the most hardened amongst us. There is humour in abundance which is played in such a way as to show the elderly lady's take on things whilst her mind gradually stared to fail. There is one point where Peter is buying his mum a mothers day card and Thora meets up with him in the shop, she is allowed to choose her own card which is totally the wrong celebration, but, she is happy and Peter is quite happy to let her keep it. Another great piece of the film is when she is selling her house and, despite Peter trying to arrange things differently, has a number of couples in to view; then promptly shows all the bad points and even gets a willing lady to make Tea for the viewers who sat around the front room. There are many little snippets like this which makes this film a must for any home. It is is a gem and warranted accolades which didn't get credited to either film or actors. This is a perfect memorial to two brilliant actors whose various film, tv and stage performances are a permanent tribute to these national treasures. Whether you are avid fans of Thora Hird & Peter Postlewaite or are in the very small minority who are not, this film is a must have addition to any dvd collection and it will appeal to young and old alike as it crosses any boundarys which it entails very enjoyable and i have no hesitation in very, very highly recommending it knowing that it cannot fail to please in all aspects. Go on, buy it with confidence, you will not be dsappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British acting at it's best, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Lost For Words [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I watched this the first time around when it was aired on the BBC. I was delighted to find it available on DVD. It is both heartbreaking & funny. It has warmth & heart. The fact that it is a true story, reaches out to you, the relationship between son & mother is one to be treasured. And for me, you cannot get any finer actors than Pete Postlethwaite & Thora Hird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, 22 Mar 2004
This review is from: Lost For Words [DVD] (DVD)
All praise to Deric Longden i wasn't disappointed, the book brought tears of laughter and sorrow. The screenplay was exatly what was playing out in my head while reading the book. You truely feel for Deric and his mother through out. My only wish is that i bring up children that will care for me so loving and respectfully in my old age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost For Words [DVD] [1998]
Lost For Words [DVD] [1998] by Alan Bell (DVD - 2011)
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews