Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good concept but some disappointing features
My four year old loves 'reading' with the help of his Tag reader pen, so I was delighted to discover this new set designed to help children develop their writing skills using the same system. This set comprises of one story book (in the usual hardbacked Tag format) as well as four paperbacked note book style workbooks and three pages of stickers (with over 70 stickers all...
Published on 28 Jan. 2012 by Book Worm

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good quality but expensive
The book is good for the leapfrog tag system, but the price is unreasonably high for just one real tag book and the othe books are normal paperbook textbooks!
Published 21 months ago by Tanya


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good concept but some disappointing features, 28 Jan. 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Tag Book Set: Learn to Write and Draw with Mr. Pencil (Toy)
My four year old loves 'reading' with the help of his Tag reader pen, so I was delighted to discover this new set designed to help children develop their writing skills using the same system. This set comprises of one story book (in the usual hardbacked Tag format) as well as four paperbacked note book style workbooks and three pages of stickers (with over 70 stickers all together - all of which produce different sound effects when touched with the Tag reader.)

The set as a whole is reasonably good value for money although both me and my son were really disappointed to discover that the four workbooks don't actually have any sound effects at all and don't have any features that work with the Tag reader. Essentially, children are expected to work through the story, games and activities in the main book and then practice writing the different letters and colouring/drawing in pencil in the workbooks. This is a little disappointing as we could use any basic notebooks for that kind of doodling and I bought this set purely for the fun and novelty of the audio effects that the Tag offers. Despite this, my son does enjoy practising his letters in the workbooks and seems to prefer the doodling pad out of the whole set.

That said, the main book is better than I had anticipated. It is much longer than most other Tag books, at over 40 pages, and includes a full length, fairly entertaining story which my four year old enjoys. There is also lots of opportunities for the child to practice 'drawing' different letter shapes (both upper and lower case) throughout the book, with lots of different games and activities. I have found that many of the activities are a little too advanced for my son who is halfway through his Reception year at school. I suspect that he may be beyond the stage of needing to use this kind of learning aid by the time he is able to understand some of the instructions and tasks. I do think that some of the activities are a little confusing and not very well explained, meaning that my son sometimes gets frustrated or bored before completing the tasks.

My son's preferred aspect of this whole set is the stickers. Kids love stickers and these are even more fun as they can actually speak to the child! Some of these look as they are designed to be given out as a reward for completing the tasks (with words such as 'great!' and 'superstar'.) My son would cheerfully stick these all over the house but, as a practical parent concerned with ongoing play value, I've actually stuck them inside the workbooks in the appropriate alphabetical place, to make those books more appealing and interactive.

One last caution is that this set doesn't come complete with a Tag reader pen as this has to be purchased separately. I'm not just stating the obvious as this comes in a boxed set and a potential purchaser could well assume that the reader is also included. (The fact that it isn't is only written in tiny letters at the bottom.) As with all Tag products, the audio needs to be downloaded via the Leapfrog website before the books will 'work'.

Overall, this is a clever and useful addition to the Tag collection, albeit with some flaws. The stickers, book and the lengthy story (particularly the fun song at the end which my son plays repeatedly) balance out the disappointing workbooks and the confusing activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good buy !, 5 Oct. 2013
By 
Scooby (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Tag Book Set: Learn to Write and Draw with Mr. Pencil (Toy)
Our little girls writing is limited to being able to put her name in cards, bit wobbly but readable !
She enjoys drawing and colouring, but gets bored very quickly if we try to get her to do letters.

We have just spent a fantastic 45mins before teatime 'playing' with this, she picked it up really quickly, and enjoyed getting it right especially as we were able to make a big fuss, and encourage her, due to her not getting bored.

Can't wait to get back to it tomorrow morning ;-))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars books, 11 July 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Tag Book Set: Learn to Write and Draw with Mr. Pencil (Toy)
Love it. This is a toy worth buying. My four year old loves it. He is learning to read and write with leap frog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic books at great value, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Tag Book Set: Learn to Write and Draw with Mr. Pencil (Toy)
my 4 year old loved these books. These got her more excited about learning her letters.There is one hardbacked book for use with the tag reader that helps with the strokes needed to write, then there are 4 sketch pad style books that your child can draw in that help with shapes and mark-making that is required in writing.Your child can work through the books in order, (drawing with shapes,Capital letters,small letters and create your own).The set also comes with 3 sticker sheets that work with the tag reader.This set is fun and extreamely good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good quality but expensive, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Tag Book Set: Learn to Write and Draw with Mr. Pencil (Toy)
The book is good for the leapfrog tag system, but the price is unreasonably high for just one real tag book and the othe books are normal paperbook textbooks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit miss-leading, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
K. Moore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Tag Book Set: Learn to Write and Draw with Mr. Pencil (Toy)
Although OK. It is a bit naughty that the 4 workbooks are actually nothing more than standard paper. You could buy this in any shop. Yes, the stickers are interactive as is the one Tag book. I think overall this is a poor value Leap Reader product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent materials for starter readers, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Tag Book Set: Learn to Write and Draw with Mr. Pencil (Toy)
great for the grand kids as they start to learn to read. pricey but worth it, i do belive that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars daughter loves them!, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Tag Book Set: Learn to Write and Draw with Mr. Pencil (Toy)
Expected all the books to be interactive with the pen but this is not the case, only one is another rest are normal workbooks. But my 4yr old loved them and needed no encouragement to get stuck in. I'm amazed with the interactive stickers! Worth it but I probably wouldn't have bought it if I knew only one book was to use with the pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Tag Book Set: Learn to Write and Draw with Mr. Pencil (Toy)
I bought this as part of a gift for my 5 year old son. I was a bit dubious as there had been some negative comments previously but was delighted when it arrived. I opened the box and thought it was excellent value for money and I know he'll have hours of fun with it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great handwriting practice, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Tag Book Set: Learn to Write and Draw with Mr. Pencil (Toy)
A lovely addition to my son's collection. An excellent aid to teach writing skills. Only one of the books is interactive, the others being workbooks to practice handwriting skills which could be picked up cheaper elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews