Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son's favourite game... by far
This is my son's favourite game for his LeapPad. I have to admit that I bought his game from the Leapfrog online store and downloaded it straight to his LeapPad, it was twenty pounds but you don't have to worry about cartridges or packaging as he always has his favourite game ready.
Although it's called Pet Pals it doesn't really feature many different pets, just...
Published on 14 Jan 2012 by Sugarboo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work
This game doesn't work on the leap pad 2. The screen freezes and it's unplayable. I sent back to leapfrog and they have replaced with an alternative game as this is a known fault and they are working with the USA to try and get a fix. So don't buy if it's for a leap pad 2 !!!
Published 18 months ago by Hannah Chappell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son's favourite game... by far, 14 Jan 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Explorer Game: Pet Pals 2 Best of Friends (for LeapPad and Leapster) (Toy)
This is my son's favourite game for his LeapPad. I have to admit that I bought his game from the Leapfrog online store and downloaded it straight to his LeapPad, it was twenty pounds but you don't have to worry about cartridges or packaging as he always has his favourite game ready.
Although it's called Pet Pals it doesn't really feature many different pets, just puppies. There are approximately 6 puppies to choose from, pug, dalmatian etc. At the beginning of the game your child chooses one puppy, if they look after it for a while and earn points then they can then choose a second puppy. The puppies need to be fed, watered, bathed and stroked, you can also dress them up, teach them tricks and play with toys with them.
Outside the house there are several other activities:
* Meeting puppy friends, each time your child interacts with another puppy they are asked a question which reqiures the correct emotional response, for example, "Cupcake has lost her favourite bone, how does she feel, happy or sad?". Although basic it is nice to see an emphasis on friendship and kindness.
* Treasure hunt, my little boy's favourite, your puppy and one of it's friends take turns digging in the garden, you can find a varity of items, doggy dollars (to spend in shops), junk items or collectibles (soft toys, dinosaur bones or gems which are displayed in the house).
* Shops where you can buy items using the doggy dollars won in other activities. There is a clothes shop where you can pick hats, sunglasses and coats/jackets etc and a food/toy store, there always seems to be basic dog food in the house but the luxury food you can buy earns extra oints for puppy care.
* Trick centre (not it's official name, can't remember that) you can teach your puppy new tricks, bark, somersault, sit etc. To teach the puppy a trick you have to trace over a line or shape 3 times, this can be tricky for younger children as it seems quite sensitive on the touch screen.
* Playground so your puppy can meet up with it's friends and play ball, not sure what else you can do here.
* Dog Shows, there are three parts to the dog shows, bathing your puppy, dressing your puppy and maths. The questions in the maths section are fairly easy for younger children, for example there are three pictures, each one containing a varying number of sticks, and you have to choose which picture has the most or least amount of sticks etc. Each section is scored out of 3 stars. Not sure exactly how many stars to win but my four year old gets 1st place every time so must not be too difficult. If you get 3 stars on the maths part you gain extra doggy dollars. The trophies are displayed in the house.
Out of all the activities on the LeapPad. this is one of my son's favourites and in his opinion it definately beats his other games. It might not be the most educational game there is but there is a bit of maths and it does have some social interactions between puppies. Every instruction is spoken aloud so it doesn't require reading ability. Older children may find it a little simple and get bored quickly but it is good fun for little ones, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for young animal lovers!, 14 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Explorer Game: Pet Pals 2 Best of Friends (for LeapPad and Leapster) (Toy)
My children LOVE animals, and especially dogs. Even having two German Shepherds in the house, they still want more doggy-orientated toys and games!
I bought this when it was on offer at 10. Although for how much my children love the game, I'd say at full price it is well worth it too.
Very easy to use and there are so many different things to do while in game play. My three year old managed to easily navigate her way around the game, and with some of the explorer games aimed at a 4-7 year old audiences, she can find some things a little tough, but not this. An excellent game for youngsters.
I would highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Explorer Game: Pet Pals 2 Best of Friends (for LeapPad and Leapster) (Toy)
This game doesn't work on the leap pad 2. The screen freezes and it's unplayable. I sent back to leapfrog and they have replaced with an alternative game as this is a known fault and they are working with the USA to try and get a fix. So don't buy if it's for a leap pad 2 !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leapfrog Leappad Explorer Pet Pals 2 Game, 29 Dec 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Explorer Game: Pet Pals 2 Best of Friends (for LeapPad and Leapster) (Toy)
I bought this game for my 4 year old grandson for Christmas and he as had many hours of fun playing with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun game, 23 Aug 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Explorer Game: Pet Pals 2 Best of Friends (for LeapPad and Leapster) (Toy)
I purchased this game when it was on offer at 12.99, however after seeing my daughter playing this for hours on end I would have happily paid full price for it. I would highly recommend this game for any child, especially ones who love animals! My daughter is four and has no problems working out how to wash, feed and look after the puppies. A must buy! Delivery from Amazon superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars leapster pet pals 2, 31 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Explorer Game: Pet Pals 2 Best of Friends (for LeapPad and Leapster) (Toy)
My 5 year old son only had 2 games for his explorer. I oredered this one for xmas and he has hardly put it down he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for keeping child occupied, 31 Oct 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Explorer Game: Pet Pals 2 Best of Friends (for LeapPad and Leapster) (Toy)
Bought this for my 5 year old cousin who seems to really love this. Spent a few days with them on holiday, and I never saw him with any other toy but this one. He seemed absorbed in it all the time. Nice for the adults to have such a quiet time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 4 Jan 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Explorer Game: Pet Pals 2 Best of Friends (for LeapPad and Leapster) (Toy)
a good game for young kids. my only complain is that there is no storage case for the game they now come in a cardboard box which gets ripped getting the game out. the game is small so would be lost quite easily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pets an pals, 1 Jan 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Explorer Game: Pet Pals 2 Best of Friends (for LeapPad and Leapster) (Toy)
my 4 year old daughter loves this game ,along with all the other games.the leapster explorer has made her a very happy child..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pet Pals 2 keeps freezing don't buy, 19 Jan 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Explorer Game: Pet Pals 2 Best of Friends (for LeapPad and Leapster) (Toy)
This is an enjoyable game that both my son and daughter love, however they are frequently let down by the games quality, it keeps freezing the console and you have to remove all power and batteries to re-boot the leapPad 2. We have to consoles and have sent the original back to amazon for a replacement, this also freezes. I would suggest this is a programming error / memory leak and as such the game is really not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews