Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent return for Carpenter
After 10 years away from the big screen it was great to get to the cinema to see a limited release of The Ward. I enjoyed it a lot and with the lights off there's a few moments that will make you jump - even scenes that aren't meant to be scary! The dialogue is a little wooden at times but it's beautifully shot by Carpenter and fans will appreciate what he has done on a...
Published on 21 April 2011 by Everlasting

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable Movie
Not exactly scary, and somewhat confusing end. It's an OK movie and Amber Heard is easy on the eye, but found it lacking in suspense.
Published 3 months ago by Des Christian


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent return for Carpenter, 21 April 2011
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
After 10 years away from the big screen it was great to get to the cinema to see a limited release of The Ward. I enjoyed it a lot and with the lights off there's a few moments that will make you jump - even scenes that aren't meant to be scary! The dialogue is a little wooden at times but it's beautifully shot by Carpenter and fans will appreciate what he has done on a small budget. People keep moaning about the ending being like this or that but what is "original" these days? Everything has been done. I had no idea how it would turn out and it was a nice surprise and ending for me personally. It's not the huge return we'd like to see from such a great director but it's a decent return and a good little movie that is just about the perfect length for such a film at 88 minutes. 4 / 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sectioned!, 11 Oct 2011
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I'm a massive John Carpenter fan and I only found out that 'The Ward' was out at the cinema by accident.
It's been a hell of a long wait for a new movie since 'Ghosts of Mars' but I think that 'The Ward' is just about worth it. The cinema I watched it in was only half full, which made it a perfect atmosphere for me.
Ok, there's nothing new or original about the storyline, but an auteur like Carpenter can take a low budget and simple script and turn it into something that is still far better than most higher profile, bigger budget horror movies out there.
The tried and tested steadycams are still in operation as well as those red herring/jump out of the seat moments that Carpenter does better than anyone else.
I think that the young actresses playing the ward patients are actually very good and Amber Heard is a decent stoic heroine in the Jamie Lee Curtis/Sigourney Weaver mold.
The ending is a touch predictable, but I still think that 'The Ward' stands head and shoulders above the majority of horror films one may watch in 2010/2011 as it doesn't rely on gore or other gross effects, just to shock an audience.
It's credit to John Carpenter's skill as a director that using simple techniques such as lighting, camerawork and suspense still make for a more than satisfactory chiller and all in all, 'The Ward' is a good addition to John Carpenter's already considerable cannon.
I just hope that Carpenter fans like myself aren't kept waiting another 10 years for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable Movie, 9 April 2014
By 
Des Christian (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Not exactly scary, and somewhat confusing end. It's an OK movie and Amber Heard is easy on the eye, but found it lacking in suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different!, 30 July 2013
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
To say that this film was unusual is putting it mildly!I have never seen a film like this one! It was a completely different horror that has to be seen to be believed! I would recommend this to anyone who wants something completely different! Go for it-you will like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror at its best, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Dr. Michael J. Atkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This film starts out as something you assume and ends up elsewhere. Brilliant camera shots and editing. The film theme has been copied but if I tell you it will spoil the surprise. A great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..CLASSIC CARPENTER..GOOD TWIST..", 27 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ward [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a great return to horror for John Carpenter this is his first full feature film since ghosts of mars in 2001. The ward is a step into what Carpenter is good at with a quality story full of mystery and scares and a quality twist at the end that you wont see coming!! The cast is great Amber heard is lovely as always and a great actress and plays the lead role very well, the supporting cast is great too Danielle panabaker is brilliant and sexy as always, This is not a gore slasher horror but it has its bloody moments, its more of a psychological horror. If your a Carpenter fan then check it out its a cool fun film as I said with a quality twist that makes you think back!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ward!, 22 April 2011
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The ward is a really good horror movie, it is about 5 girls in an institution and 4 of the girls have been there a while and one of the girls kristen has just got there, and the girls have a secret there not telling kristen and as she finds out the girls go missing one by one by this ghost type thing. It is a very good movie and had a few jump scenes so i would reccomend this movie to anyone who likes a good horror movie. im buying it as soons as its out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice comeback from John Carpenter., 19 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
It's been almost a decade since director John Carpenter has applied his talents to a cinematic feature, the big screen has been poorer for his absence and considering the generally poor quality of some horror films these days (too many remakes), there's an opportunity for Carpenter to really make a resurgence. The driving force behind such films as Assault On Precinct 13, Halloween and the classic horror film The Thing, Carpenter has been oddly quiet since the dreadful Ghosts Of Mars, the 2001 misfire starring Natasha Henstridge and Ice Cube. When it was announced that Carpenter was returning to feature directing with the supernatural thriller The Ward, I was both thrilled and anxious. Could the former master of horror cinema regain his creative muse in the new millennium? Early signs are encouraging. In an eerie, well-shot opening scene that both looks and sounds like Dario Argento's Suspiria, we're treated to prowling shots of an under lit mental hospital, the flickering light from a thunderstorm playing off peeling paint and the scratched patina of laminated furniture. It's a great shot with brilliant atmosphere that shows us that Carpenter still has it.

We're then treated to something that has become increasingly rare in modern cinema: a protracted, artfully designed opening credits sequence. This one, which juxtaposes woodcut prints and photographs with splintered glass and provides a welcome gateway to Carpenter's film, establishing its sombre mood and its themes of madness and paranoia. When the words 'John Carpenter's The Ward' flash across the screen, in the same white out of black type the director has used since Halloween, the message appears to be: the Carpenter we once knew is back. Amber Heard plays Kristen, a disturbed girl of indeterminate age who, having burned down a farmhouse, is dispatched to the creepy and isolated psychiatric hospital. Under the watchful eye of Doctor Stringer (Jared Harris) and his hard-faced team of orderlies, Kristen and her fellow inmates are menaced by a shadowy, malevolent figure.

There are numerous moments - false scares, prowling shots, long shadows - that have been seen a couple of times in numerous other slasher horror and suspense movies of the last 30 years. Although in fairness, Carpenter established many of these clichés himself in his early work, and it feels at all times that the director wants to stay firmly within his comfort zone, freely referencing the jolts and POV camerawork of Halloween, the hospital setting of its sequel, and the murky atmosphere and sudden slayings of The Fog, and I think that it worked quite well and was quite effective. One killing, which involves a bout of eye damage worthy of Lucio Fulci, was surprisingly gruesome to. Carpenter may work on a small scale, but he's one of the few filmmakers left who genuinely doesn't compromise and his style is simply his own - this movie might not be original but it could not have been made by anyone else. A beautifully crafted little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Auguste Luys "DVDMAN" (OSTEND ,BELGIUM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ward [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This Product Was Great Clear And No Skipping I Rated It As A 4 Because I Love The Film And Like I Said Good Purchase Would Order from This Seller Again xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ward [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free]
The Ward [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] by John Carpenter (Blu-ray - 2011)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews