Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sectioned!
I'm a massive John Carpenter fan and I only found out that 'The Ward' was out at the cinema by accident.
It's been a hell of a long wait for a new movie since 'Ghosts of Mars' but I think that 'The Ward' is just about worth it. The cinema I watched it in was only half full, which made it a perfect atmosphere for me.
Ok, there's nothing new or original about the...
Published on 11 Oct. 2011 by Stotty

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable & ok - if you aren't expecting much
Predictable Psych Ward Drama; with a ghoul!!

It's ok to watch, however the 'ghoul' is somewhat horror dummy.. and laughable on occasion.. as if the only thing a 'ghoul' can do is 'growl' in fancy dress..

The scene shots are ok, typical one flew over the cuckoos nest setting, but without the great character actors, which is a shame. The Doc is kinda...
Published 5 months ago by Julie Casey


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sectioned!, 11 Oct. 2011
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I'm a massive John Carpenter fan and I only found out that 'The Ward' was out at the cinema by accident.
It's been a hell of a long wait for a new movie since 'Ghosts of Mars' but I think that 'The Ward' is just about worth it. The cinema I watched it in was only half full, which made it a perfect atmosphere for me.
Ok, there's nothing new or original about the storyline, but an auteur like Carpenter can take a low budget and simple script and turn it into something that is still far better than most higher profile, bigger budget horror movies out there.
The tried and tested steadycams are still in operation as well as those red herring/jump out of the seat moments that Carpenter does better than anyone else.
I think that the young actresses playing the ward patients are actually very good and Amber Heard is a decent stoic heroine in the Jamie Lee Curtis/Sigourney Weaver mold.
The ending is a touch predictable, but I still think that 'The Ward' stands head and shoulders above the majority of horror films one may watch in 2010/2011 as it doesn't rely on gore or other gross effects, just to shock an audience.
It's credit to John Carpenter's skill as a director that using simple techniques such as lighting, camerawork and suspense still make for a more than satisfactory chiller and all in all, 'The Ward' is a good addition to John Carpenter's already considerable cannon.
I just hope that Carpenter fans like myself aren't kept waiting another 10 years for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror at its best, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Dr. Michael J. Atkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This film starts out as something you assume and ends up elsewhere. Brilliant camera shots and editing. The film theme has been copied but if I tell you it will spoil the surprise. A great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent return for Carpenter, 21 April 2011
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
After 10 years away from the big screen it was great to get to the cinema to see a limited release of The Ward. I enjoyed it a lot and with the lights off there's a few moments that will make you jump - even scenes that aren't meant to be scary! The dialogue is a little wooden at times but it's beautifully shot by Carpenter and fans will appreciate what he has done on a small budget. People keep moaning about the ending being like this or that but what is "original" these days? Everything has been done. I had no idea how it would turn out and it was a nice surprise and ending for me personally. It's not the huge return we'd like to see from such a great director but it's a decent return and a good little movie that is just about the perfect length for such a film at 88 minutes. 4 / 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'WHO'S ''AFRAID'' OF 'ALICE' ??, 30 Nov. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ward [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
'John Carpenter' has, down the years been associated with the making of some memorable 'movies', great to see that he's still got the 'knack' of bringing a shock' or two to the screen.
this film tells of 'Kirsten'(Amber Heard) and her inter-actions with a small collection of patients on a ward in a psychiatric hospital.
However, all is not as it seems, horror is on the menu, as an apparently deformed former patient 'Alice'(Mika Boorem) deals out her revenge on those that had harmed her ?
Pretty 'tense' stuff with a few 'shock' moments along the way.....worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, 15 July 2014
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
John carpenter delivers in this one. A young girl gets sent to a nutty ward where she learns spooky going ins happening. Good film and good acting with a great twist at the end! Worth having
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable & ok - if you aren't expecting much, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ward (Amazon Instant Video)
Predictable Psych Ward Drama; with a ghoul!!

It's ok to watch, however the 'ghoul' is somewhat horror dummy.. and laughable on occasion.. as if the only thing a 'ghoul' can do is 'growl' in fancy dress..

The scene shots are ok, typical one flew over the cuckoos nest setting, but without the great character actors, which is a shame. The Doc is kinda creepy, in a 'clean' disney style'.. the acting is not that great & as a result I think they missed a great opportunity to make it more realistic, instead of cardboard.. That said, it is watchable, and not too unpleasant.. which makes it an ok movie to watch .

*spoiler**
Watchable, but not 'great', interesting, but not brill.. with an ending that shows that all patients need is not ECT treatment, but to jump out a window and they are miraculously 'cured'.. happy ending for a movie horror.. predictable end shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much Better Than I Was Expecting, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ward (Amazon Instant Video)
I almost didn't watch The Ward, as sometime ago I read a negative review that suggested the film was one to avoid.

However, I am glad that I finally made an effort to watch it.

The film has a great atmosphere, story and acting. It also has the touch of a real master: John Carpenter. His filming is superb, and his ability to induce unexpected shocks is in full form in this film!

As long as you are not looking for a gory horror flick, then you will not be disappointed by this compelling psychological/supernatural thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..CLASSIC CARPENTER..GOOD TWIST..", 27 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ward [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a great return to horror for John Carpenter this is his first full feature film since ghosts of mars in 2001. The ward is a step into what Carpenter is good at with a quality story full of mystery and scares and a quality twist at the end that you wont see coming!! The cast is great Amber heard is lovely as always and a great actress and plays the lead role very well, the supporting cast is great too Danielle panabaker is brilliant and sexy as always, This is not a gore slasher horror but it has its bloody moments, its more of a psychological horror. If your a Carpenter fan then check it out its a cool fun film as I said with a quality twist that makes you think back!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some Scares,but no big deal!!, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
An ok shocker with a pretty good spooky ghost and touches of slasher movies.The title is pretty much self explaining and we do have a good lunatic on the loose,but "18"certificate?mmmmm,Ive seen scarier "12"s.Its ok tho and a few jump out of yer seat moments,actings awful as it usually is with horrors not least the desk nurse in the ward,personally I think "One flew over the cookoos nest"was an inspiration for this,but as said,couple of good gory moments for the slasher fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a great horror by any means, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ward [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Not a great horror by any means...it's got a good enough storyline and the twist in the end makes it more interesting but the main problem for me was the lack of actual ghostly stuff, by this I mean the film implied that there was a ghost of a former patient but when you actually glimpsed her it was like someone dressed in a bad costume. Spoiled it for me as you shouldn't be able to hit a ghost...just saying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ward [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free]
The Ward [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] by John Carpenter (Blu-ray - 2011)
£8.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews