Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy
No need for lots of words when just a few will do.
Hilarious, Excellent, Superb, Marvellous. A must see movie for anyone. Only people that have had their sense of humour surgically removed will find this movie dull. You cannot help but scream with laughter at one of the finest movies by the one and only Dudley Moore. Five Stars is selling this movie short. Compared...
Published on 15 Nov 2003 by piemanjason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for a sequel
Arthur 2 on the rocks is not as funny as the first film, but I still enjoyed it. Arthur is more embarrasing as a drunk, than funny in this film, but Dudley Moore is still a joy to watch. An average late 80's film revisiting the classic original 'Arthur' film, but not quite capturing the magic of the first.
Published on 19 Jun 2008 by D. J. Russell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy, 15 Nov 2003
No need for lots of words when just a few will do.
Hilarious, Excellent, Superb, Marvellous. A must see movie for anyone. Only people that have had their sense of humour surgically removed will find this movie dull. You cannot help but scream with laughter at one of the finest movies by the one and only Dudley Moore. Five Stars is selling this movie short. Compared to many recent five star movies, this deserves 10 **********
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Much Undervalued Sequel, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: Arthur 2: On the Rocks [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
For as long as I can remember, both Arthur and Arthur 2: On The Rocks have been two of my favourite films. Dudley Moore was the perfect choice for the main role and this year, 30 years after the first film came out, I still enjoy them as much, if not much more, than anything released today.

Following the massive success that was Arthur [DVD], Arthur 2: On The Rocks struggled at the box office and Dudley Moore ended up disowning it.

This really saddens me because I enjoy both the films equally and I feel lucky that I get to see Dudley Moore as Arthur for a second time. He brought that same sense of comedy, likability and warmth to the character and the film as he did in the original and I can't imagine having Arthur [DVD] without Arthur 2: On The Rocks.

So I genuinely hope that someone got to tell the great Dudley Moore that they enjoyed Arthur 2: On The Rocks as much as I have before he sadly passed away in 2002.

I'd recommend both this and Arthur [DVD] to anyone, most especially to those that have seen the 2011 Remake and didn't enjoy it for whatever reason.

In my opinion, to experience Arthur, you need Dudley Moore and Liza Minnelli and they pulled it off in 80s style that, for me, is still as appealing now as it was then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fab!, 13 Nov 2005
By 
A. O. Mcnamara "ashmacna" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a fab light hearted comedy. Just as good as the first one-makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside!Nice to see a happy ending for a change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur 2., 12 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur 2: On the Rocks [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Extremely funny and although the film is dated as you would expect it has lost none of its originality. First cvlass valuie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars out standing and very funny, 30 July 2003
By A Customer
dudley moore has to be 1 of the most funest oldies going i was a youg kid when this film and arther came out and and to this day i still find them very funny what more can i say if you havent seen these 2 film then do so well i have now made somone very happy in finding love on the rocks for there birthday there is not a unfunny moment in these films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK for a sequel, 19 Jun 2008
By 
D. J. Russell (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Arthur 2 on the rocks is not as funny as the first film, but I still enjoyed it. Arthur is more embarrasing as a drunk, than funny in this film, but Dudley Moore is still a joy to watch. An average late 80's film revisiting the classic original 'Arthur' film, but not quite capturing the magic of the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 9 May 2011
This review is from: Arthur 2: On the Rocks [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
This is one of my all time fav movies from when I was a kid as well as with Arthur 1 of course. Dudley Moore is so funny and perfect as the drunken billionaire turned poor man and Liza shines as his wife who loves him just as he is. It's a great family movie with laughs for all well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur 2: On the Rocks [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great great, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Frank Harper (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur 2: On the Rocks [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
waited a long time for this to be released on dvd this is the conclusion of arthur and it hasn't lost any of the magic from the first one if you liked arthur you will love this happy-sad-extatic who would not love this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur 2: On the Rocks [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
well worth buying Duddly Moor and Liza Mineli at there usual funniest as a team. So sad he is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arthur 2: On the Rocks [DVD] [1988]
Arthur 2: On the Rocks [DVD] [1988] by Bud Yorkin (DVD - 2011)
£2.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews