Customer Reviews


15 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GREAT CLASSIC SERIES
Based on the novels by James Fennimore Cooper, this series was made in Canada and starred John Hart as Hawkeye and Lon Chaney Jr. as his Indian companion and blood brother Chingachgook. John Hart appeared in many small roles on television and had also starred as the Lone Ranger for a time when Clayton Moore had a dispute with the show's producers. Lon Chaney Jr. was a...
Published on 6 Oct. 2011 by C. Kingswell

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Departure from the Cooper novel
This Canadian production has been remastered to perfect clarify and sound. The episodes are enjoyable, although recurring actors in different guest roles (e.g. one was an Indian Chief, then a British Officer and then a Colonial villian) the story arc seem to be about keeping peace with the American Indian tribes. But one must remember that these episodes date back to...
Published 12 months ago by Ronald Ostrowski


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GREAT CLASSIC SERIES, 6 Oct. 2011
By 
C. Kingswell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Based on the novels by James Fennimore Cooper, this series was made in Canada and starred John Hart as Hawkeye and Lon Chaney Jr. as his Indian companion and blood brother Chingachgook. John Hart appeared in many small roles on television and had also starred as the Lone Ranger for a time when Clayton Moore had a dispute with the show's producers. Lon Chaney Jr. was a veteran of many Hollywood movies, most notably 'The Wolf Man' (1941), a role which he played four times in the 1940s.
Hawkeye and Chingachgook are fur traders who make it their business to protect the settlers from the marauding Huron Indians, as well as to keep the peace with other Indian tribes and bring to justice unscrupulous white men.
This was an excellent series ranking alongside so many great shows from that era. It only ran for 39 episodes and the complete series is released here by Network.
Great nostalgia, and look out for Canada-born James Doohan (Scotty in 'Star Trek') in a couple of episodes. You may also recognise John Vernon, who also hailed from Canada, in 5 episodes. Incidentally, the opening sequences are taken from the movie 'The Iroquois Trail' (1950) in which George Montgomery starred as Hawkeye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans, 10 Dec. 2011
By 
gunslinger "RH" (St Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I am an avid fan of the TV Western and Adventure Series from the 1950's and Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans was exceptionally well done. I'm always a bit cautious about the quality of the transfers and have bought several over time that were indeed poorly done or were based on poor source material. I'm very excited to say that this set is an excption. The video transfers and the audio are excellent. It exceeded my expectations and is very well done. I highly recommend this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Departure from the Cooper novel, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This Canadian production has been remastered to perfect clarify and sound. The episodes are enjoyable, although recurring actors in different guest roles (e.g. one was an Indian Chief, then a British Officer and then a Colonial villian) the story arc seem to be about keeping peace with the American Indian tribes. But one must remember that these episodes date back to the mid 1950s and are enjoyable in a nostalgic context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series well worth watching if you are over 50., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series and fondly remembered from being a kid.
I didn't hesitate in buying it and wasn't disappointed...Lon Chaney is brilliant in it and even after all these years I still enjoyed it so much that I intend a rerun pretty soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars original series, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
was looking for this selection of disc's, for sometime could not find it any were. Hawk-eye and his Indian friend fighting injustice in the wilderness, this is an excellent series, especially if you like old black and white films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 1956 TV Show, 28 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The First two reviews says it all. Superb QUALITY. Story lines are real good and acting although wooden in parts is still entertaining. I would recommend this DVD set of all 39 Episodes to anybody, fabulous series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Takes me back to the halcyon days of my youth,What a brilliant old TV series this is and a real pleasure to watch again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good network dvd, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic

They don't make great programmes like this anymore.

Brought back many memories from days gone bye.

Bring out more of the old westerns on region 2. PAL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Both my husband and I watched this series as children so I thought he would enjoy seeing it again. We were delighted with the picture and sound quality, far superior to some other old series I have purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hawkeye., 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This series brought back many memories of the late 1950s. A great collection of dvds from a classic western series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans - The Complete Series [DVD]
£21.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews