Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Bible with Pros and Cons on the Kindle platform
Don't get me wrong. I Like the ESV (Anglisised because I am a Brit). In fact the ESV is my preferred 'Word for word' translation of the Bible and I use the print version almost every day. But to the Kindle version, on a Kindle, there are Pros and Cons.

Pros.
1) It is FREE. That is amazing and warrants it 5 stars! (American version only, the Anglicised you...
Published 7 months ago by Believing Thomas

versus
92 of 102 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great text implemented inelegantly
I really like the ESV text so why the 2 stars? Because of issues to do with formatting and navigation. I use Kindle 3 (I do not know if my comments apply to other Kindle models) and here is what I have found:

- It is hard to know which book of the bible you are in. The chapter headings consist of chapter and verse number only (e.g. 5:1) and if you press the...
Published on 18 Jan. 2011 by JC64


‹ Previous | 111 12 13107 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing free gift!, 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've actually been looking for this Bible and when I realised that it was free I could not believe it. Many thanks. It's a great Bible and so good for serious students of the Bible. Excellent cross-referencing system. I would recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not very easy to find my way around it, it doesn't read like a conventional bible at all, am finding it very difficult to find a chapter or verse that I need, I don't think I will be forsaking a conventional hold in my hand Bible any time soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HOLY BIBLE ESV, 13 April 2014
This review is from: The Holy Bible, English Standard Version (without Cross-References) (Kindle Edition)
HOLY BIBLE ESV
iI wanted a copy of The Revised English Bible on my Kindle and this version is the nearest I could find.
Not quite what I wanted but near enough.
Recommend to anyone who wants an easy to read version of The Bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's very clear and relatively simple language & in church ..., 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's very clear and relatively simple language & in church if you read a very familiar passage people recognise that it is different and it promotes dicussion. Often differing bibles when viewed together give a clearer picture of the event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic work of fiction by, well, who knows really., 12 Nov. 2014
By 
Kevin J. Sharpe "giblet" (houston texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mark is quite a fun read. Interesting to note the discrepancies between the different authors. Written from the third person and not an eyewitness account but is written as an historical account. I'm not sure if that approach really works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ESV Bible, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an easy-to-use bible. As a UK English speaker though, I did find it slightly irritating to find it to be American English. Why are there so few UK English online bibles?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great version!, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like this text. Really clear, but not too loose. And sticks to older familiar phrasing, but sharpens up translation where needed.

Also, it finds a reasonably happy balance as far as inclusive language is concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars free book, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was downloaded for nothing, so cannot complain. The books that are available for free download are not up to date or best sellers, but there are some good classics and books of interest. Worth looking through for what's on offer !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest story ever told!, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can you say about the Bible? Essential reading for all Christians, Jews, and all others who wish to understand the root of modern civilisation. In a handy and accessible format which is great for reference any time you need it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is God's breathed Word. It doasn't get better than this.><>, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not one book, it is 66 books written over about 4000 years. The same theme is carried throughout, and details God's relationship and demonstration of His love for mankind dispite our sometimes terrible conduct.><>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13107 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews