Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It
It's been a while since i enjoyed a british supernatural drama, I watch most of the american ones but bedlam really hit the spot. I just hope that they will make a season 2 and onwards as the great british producers alway seam to cancel after the first or second season and that they don't go by the viewing figures from sky on whether to cancel or not. The only complaint...
Published on 14 May 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It started off so nicely...
Right, first off - I am not a native speaker, so I do apologize for any mistakes.

This is your standard no-frills DVD set. Two discs (ep. 1-3 and ep. 4-6) in a single case. What really disappointed me was that there are absolutely no extras. Subtitles is all we get. Annoying. There's so much the creators could have put on the DVD - storyboards, how did they...
Published on 24 Sept. 2012 by belgianwaffle


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, 14 May 2011
This review is from: Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It's been a while since i enjoyed a british supernatural drama, I watch most of the american ones but bedlam really hit the spot. I just hope that they will make a season 2 and onwards as the great british producers alway seam to cancel after the first or second season and that they don't go by the viewing figures from sky on whether to cancel or not. The only complaint is a very big cliffhanger but overall a really good series. Well worth buying as its one that can be watched again and again.

Just to add they are now in the process of making a second series with some new cast members (Lacey Turner from Eastenders) so can't wait for that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It started off so nicely..., 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Right, first off - I am not a native speaker, so I do apologize for any mistakes.

This is your standard no-frills DVD set. Two discs (ep. 1-3 and ep. 4-6) in a single case. What really disappointed me was that there are absolutely no extras. Subtitles is all we get. Annoying. There's so much the creators could have put on the DVD - storyboards, how did they come up with the idea, what was it like for the actors, etc. Seems a bit lacklustre that they decided to go with subtitles only.
Enough of that.

The sound and picture quality are fairly good (I own a high-end entertain system, so I don't know exactly how much that contributes to the quality).

I really enjoyed the premise of the series, it kept me on the edge of my seat more than once (in particular the creepy kid Alice). A spooky story set in a former lunatic asylum with many twists and turns, what's not to love?
I liked the acting, especially by Theo James, who brought a lot of depth to the role of Jed. But Charlotte Salt as Kate? Not so much. I felt a bit sorry for her having to play such a coldhearted bitch, but she made the best of it.

However, and this is a big however, I was endlessly annoyed (and still am) at the ending. I mean, what in the sweet name of [insert deity of your own choice] were they thinking? The last episode just opened up one can of worms after the other and it leaves you desperatley wanting to know WTF happens next. And the worst thing is that the last episode made me question the five previous ones as far as logic and context are concerned.

One star deducted for poor DVD equipment, one star deducted for the ridiculous cliffhanger.
All in all a great show, I do hope season 2 will carry on where this one left off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It could have been very good if it had had a story line - just a small group of people talking about nothing really in this converted insane asylum - that's the top and bottom of it, throw in the odd ghostly figure lurking in the background and you've given the title some meaning, how they came to make a second series is beyond me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 17 Jun. 2011
By 
E. Ramshaw - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
love love loved it, not often a british tv series comes along that captures you in the way this one did, ok so no huge special effects and not always the best acting but theres something about it that you just cant quite put your finger on that keeps you watching episode after episode.some great new ideas for story lines and well thought out my only problem was as the other reviewer said the massive cliffhanger and the worry they may not be making any more !!! just as i thought i was getting to the answer of it all i was left screaming " noooooooooooooooooooo " at the tv. worth a buy, worth being in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bedlam, 30 Jun. 2011
By 
Janet E. Coulbeck (UAE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking forward to watching this after reading the back of the DVD, but I was more than disappointed, its started off well but drifted off in to silliness and as for the ending would somebody like to explain?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars catch up on series one, 5 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as I had started watching series two and loved it but was a bit lost!It does give a bit of history to the second series but the charactors are different from series two. Worth buying as a catch up but in all honesty you probably could manage without it. Special effects are good and quite creepy at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 6 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this and the first series of Bedlam after seeing some of the second series on sky. It's a little hard to follow sometimes but the spooky effects are just right for me, I'm a bit of a wuss and won't watch anything too scarey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The concept was definitely better than the execution... It was okay, but could have been a lot better & I really did want it to be better... All the elements were there to be great but it was severely lacking... Can't quite put my finger on it, was like 'League of extraordinary Gentlemen' should have been epic in its greatness given the concept, but really wasn't...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy...., 28 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
You would have to watch this to really appreciate it! A dark horror with loads of weird and interesting characters including some freak show contenders. Well written and directed with a great cast and good stories, a must for horror fans who like chills and intrigue without the blood and guts.

Moderate violence with some sexual scenes and drug references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE FOR THE WRONG REASONS, 7 July 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A rambling, dilapidated asylum (closed down because of abuses) is being converted into luxury flats. Developer Warren (Hugo Speer) hopes to make a killing; his daughter Kate (Charlotte Salt) seeks to attract clients. Just one problem: troubled souls haunt....

Kate's cousin Jed (Theo James) is there to help out, he by far the most interesting character - astonishingly self-possessed, too, in view of a history of mental problems and his ability to see the dead. Will Young (yes, the singer) is his decent, good-natured mate Ryan. Together they uncover disturbing secrets.

Sadly the series invites disbelief on many counts. First of all, ironically, one questions why anybody in their right mind would wish to live there? Only a few flats are ready for occupation; the rest of the place is decayed and forbidding. Building contractors are still at work. Why are the few tenants all so good looking and under thirty? (One wonders how they can afford the rent.) Surely there are already enough ghosts around without at least three of the tenants bringing in their own?

Acting generally is not a strength (but Rita Tushingham enhances in an all too brief guest appearance.) Many of the intended frights misfire somewhat, but those dead are genuinely scary (movements so jerky, faces so white, eyes so black).

Perhaps this IS an over-egged pudding, its cast often so unconvincingly overwrought. The six episode series, though, can still be enjoyed - provoking the occasional scare but more often a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD]
Bedlam - Series 1 [DVD] by Alrick Riley (DVD - 2011)
£6.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews