Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars20
2.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2011
I quite enjoyed this 2009 slasher and it was much better than i expected. The story is of a group of goth friends who break into an abandoned warehouse to set up for a big party. But also lurking there is a brutal killer who picks them all off one by one...
If you're a slasher fan then story and set up will of course be familiar to you. But also i think there will be something to enjoy for you too. The usual typical and annoying characters are all here as you'd expect as is the booze,drugs and sex. After a slower start things pick up quickly when the killings begin. There is a bit of suspense although mainly not too effective, but the deaths are the main highlight of the film. The hulking killer in the welders mask does have a bit of a creepy look and when he starts killing the blood and gore starts to flow. The gory and bloody carnage that comes is made even more satisfying as those being killed are all annoying. I didn't like the female minions of the killer who just seem to scare or chase the next victim and then vanish. This seemed totally pointless to me.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Well acted (for what it is), well shot, terrible. As a massive fan of low budget and cheesy horror film fan I've seen them all. Find the techs and acting talent and get them them a horror flick that is good! If you must watch start about 49 minutes in. I gave up before the hour. I'm off to give the writer of class of nuke 'em high an oscar for best script...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
This film is pants! The killings r rubbish and bad effects! Strange woman crawling around after the victims for no point at all, just made it even more sillier. Not worth watching at all. Very poor camera work and acting. Plus very very drawn out. Dont bother.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
If you like your blood and guts by the bucket load then you'll love this movie!

A total eighties inspired slasher gore fest! A total classic and witty B-Movie!

I wasn't really expecting much from this movie apart from lots of blood and guts, that's exactly what I got and I enjoyed the movie for what it was. If you like your horror movies with deep and detailed story lines then this isn't for you at all!

This movie is for the kind of person like me who loves classic old 80's horror movies and b-movies, it's a total homage to movies from that era and the music soundtrack is awesome too!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
Independent horror films are usually very hit and miss, yet you can't help but root for them as the underdogs of the film industry. We've also seen plenty of these underdogs really tear the genre a new one and redefine it to great success. Sadly, however, Sweatshop is not one of them. Like a student film you can feel the creators enthusiasm and love for their work, but this just doesn't translate into a good movie.
The villain is fantastic - his hammer weapon pretty devastating - and for a low-budget film his design is impressive as it is imposing without creating unnecessary costs for the production team. He reminded me a little of pyramid head from the Silent Hill series, but his companions let him down - why were those girls following him about? All they seemed to do was gurn at the camera, and by the end scene they'd all but disappeared.
The ending is pretty satisfying too: as all the characters are extremely annoying and undeveloped, it's difficult not to feel relieved as most of them inevitably meet their end. I know this is a horror gorefest and great plotting is not expected from this genre, but all the characters have literally the same personality, and seem only to be defined by their sexual orientation. As previously stated, they are all very very annoying and whiny, so watching them get slammed in the face with a massive hammer like a human whack-a-mole is strangely satisfying.
The gore is pretty bad. Not only have we seen the majority of death scenes before, but they are very cheaply done and visibly so. We know that good gore can be done on a budget (see Tucker And Dale vs Evil) so if the gore isn't up to scratch and the story fails, what's left? Not much.
It's certainly not the worst horror film out there, but by no means is it one of the best: not by a very, very long way.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
Plot is unecessary and pretty much immaterial to the content and as there's no exposition iether those who require these things will not be interested in this film.
This is strictly for the hardcore, splatter, gore and horror fans who can happily switch off and view the goings on as they unfold on screen as the makers (Stacy Davidson in particular) have gone above and beyond in making this as gruesome as possible. The blood is plentiful and the gore and splatter just keeps on coming. The killer is a very tall individual wearing a welders mask and looks plain creepy.
Wonderful stuff and i loved it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
I'm a huge fan of horror movies, big or small budget. I approached this one with high hopes, after reading the recommendations. How wrong I was. Its amateurishly made and acted. True, the blood and gore does flow fairly copiously, which in the end was probably the idea but it can't cover up the huge pitfalls.
It kinda reminded me of a 1980s inspired splatter horror. But a bad one. A very bad one. Avoid!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
A horror film I really enjoyed. Gorily violent and fast-moving. A completely satisfactory SAW/HOSTEL 'torture porn' knockoff. Watch that massive sledgehammer go!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
I enjoyed this a lot. It got going quickly without wasting time on pointless backstory and characterisation and just dealt up a maniac in a welding mask with a massive mallet thing smashing some raving teens up -- pretty much what the cover suggests really. Some of the gore effects were very good (albeit standard CGI stuff), some were less convincing but all in all, if you like mindless violence, this is pretty good and builds to a great climax.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Terrible horror, very random no story. One of the strangest films I have seen.

Give it one star because I can't give zero stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.74

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)