Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... typed Snoopy
A bunch of random people come to a remote mansion. There's a thunderstorm. The bridge is washed out. Curses are due to hit. A serial killer is on the loose. There's a gorilla... wait, what?

Yes, "Dark and Stormy Night" is a spoof of those... um, movies where people end up in a remote mansion, die horribly one by one, and must figure out who is the killer...
Published on 25 Aug. 2011 by EA Solinas

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Painful to watch
Obviously meant to be a spoof of all the usual who done it films set in a spooky house, this film is really painful to watch , It really doesn't work on any level and reminds me of watching Rentaghost when i was 10 years old . Granted there are a few moments in the film that made me chuckle but the whole film is just too silly to be funny or anything else and the acting...
Published 13 months ago by S. mallett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... typed Snoopy, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark and Stormy Night [DVD] (DVD)
A bunch of random people come to a remote mansion. There's a thunderstorm. The bridge is washed out. Curses are due to hit. A serial killer is on the loose. There's a gorilla... wait, what?

Yes, "Dark and Stormy Night" is a spoof of those... um, movies where people end up in a remote mansion, die horribly one by one, and must figure out who is the killer. Director Larry Blamire and his usual gang of skilled actors are hilarious as they pirouette through a maze of genre cliches, although some of the gags wear a bit thin.

Several people come to the remote mansion of Sinas Cavinder to hear his last will and testament, which leaves everything to his ward Sabasha (Fay Masterson). Among them: a loopy medium, a sad-sack nephew and his adulterous wife, a safari guide, a pair of reporters, a little league waterboy, a psychotic cook, a cabby trying to collect thirty-five cents, and a gorilla. Wait, why is the gorilla here?

But there is an addendum to the will... which unexpectedly goes missing when the lawyer is killed. Also, there's a witch's curse, and old Sinas' curse, and two killers who are somewhere in the house.

Of course, a sinister masked figure starts stalking through the mansion, killing people one by one -- and every time someone is about to either reveal the killer or read the letter, the light goes out and they're stabbed. It's up to two bickering reporters to flush out the killers before they become the next victims of MURDER MOST FOUL!

Okay, "Dark and Stormy Night" is not quite as good as The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra, which was pure gold from start to finish. Some of the gags are a little overmilked, such as the running joke where somebody is just about to reveal the killer/read the letter... only to have the lights go out and the person gets stabbed.

But it's still hilarious, especially since there are a lot of familiar faces here -- Blamire himself, Jennifer Blaire, Dan Conroy, Trish Geiger, Susan McConnell, Alison Martin, James Karen, and Brian Howe. All of them give earnest, straight-faced performances, saying the most ridiculous lines without cracking a smile ("The frog of uncertainty danced in my head too, as they say!").

The plot is ridiculously over-complex, with deliberately clumsy lumps of exposition and a dramatic style. And as you'd expect from a Blamire movie, the dialogue is cheesy ("You mean spend the night? In this awful house of pain and death?"), nonsensical ("How can I run a house when a man has something sticking from his back that makes him DEAD?!") and.... just plain goofy ("I'll lance your imaginary boils!").

"Dark and Stormy Night" isn't quite as good as some of Blamire's other cult spoofs, but it's still... what's that word... something like funniness, but more.... HILARIOUS.

And what's with the gorilla?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blamire - an auteur to cherish, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark and Stormy Night [DVD] (DVD)
So far, the american Larry Blamire has completed five features, achieving in my opinion an admirable and likable body of work, beginning with the well-received Lost Skeleton Of Cadavra (2001). Of the four I have managed to see, each has the distinctive style of its writer-director-actor: genial and humane humour, consistently amusing parody of older genres, allied with use of an increasingly familiar stock company - all of whom seem to be enjoying themselves as much as director and audience.

Blamire writes, directs and frequently acts in his own films, his careful scripts reveling in non-sequiturs and deliberate longueurs whilst eschewing coarse dialogue. The surreal Trail Of The Screaming Forehead stands the most apart from its fellows I have seen, being made in colour, perhaps more expressly silly, with increased special effects work and the inclusion of special guest players (Dick Miller and Kevin McCarthy). Perhaps because of that, whilst still very amusing, it seems a little less characteristic and considered.

I think Blamire is an auteur to treasure, one who gives the art of parody back its name and quality - especially after the dismal, bigger-budgeted attempts of the likes of Jason Friedberg and the Wayans, directors who seem to have no affection for the films they imitate and always aim for the obvious. Their films are, arguably, hardly films at all - merely narrative clothes pegs on which to hang cheap laughs, slapdash and vulgar in equal measure, where Blamire is neither.

Speaking for myself, a sure-fire indication of a good parody is my willingness to revisit the work when the original joke has been seen and gone; this is true of most of Blamire's films, which grow more amusing and endearing upon re-acquaintance. And while the film types Blamire affectionately references have typically long since left our screen, I think his own work set around them remains fresh and original.

Lost Skeleton was the first I discovered and still has a special place in my affections; but there's not much between it and Dark And Stormy Night - the finest ensemble piece in Blamire's work. Only The Lost Skeleton Returns Again I think a slight disappointment - even though it too has its moments, if only because inevitably there's a sense of deja vu in any sequel of this sort while the narrative flow seems a little forced. (I hope to rent a copy of Johnny Slade's Greatest Hits (UK: Meet The Mobsters) soon, as that undoubtedly adds another dimension to Blamire's output albeit one far more commercial.)

Although the liking, or not, of any film is always a matter of taste, I would recommend a discovery of Blamire's small but extremely likeable oeuvre, filled with charming nonsense, endearing featured players, and quotable moments of dialogue, to anyone. In a world of CGI, bloated superstar egos and coarse humour passing as wit this all comes a pleasant discovery.

All of of the films I have seen and enjoyed have been with excellent picture quality and this current title is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Painful to watch, 30 May 2014
By 
S. mallett (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark and Stormy Night [DVD] (DVD)
Obviously meant to be a spoof of all the usual who done it films set in a spooky house, this film is really painful to watch , It really doesn't work on any level and reminds me of watching Rentaghost when i was 10 years old . Granted there are a few moments in the film that made me chuckle but the whole film is just too silly to be funny or anything else and the acting is absolutely terrible , to top it all the disc played up half way through and kept changing from black and white to colour , then the sound was 5 seconds ahead of what was happening in the film . It really is a film for children to watch if they have got bored of watching scooby doo ,avoid at all costs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark and Stormy Night [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this; it is well written, acted and made. I do not see the point of having a colour version as a choice as anyone likely to watch this will want to do so in monochrome. Also a colour version defeats the point of having an old dark house movie send-up. If the film has a flaw it is that the jokes come too thick and fast; you may need to rewind while to draw breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny Homage to 30's/40's Horror, 30 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark and Stormy Night [DVD] (DVD)
Played out in the style of The Old Dark House movies from the 30's and 40's,this is an exceptionally well put together tribute with its over the top performances and Grainy Black and White picture.Its also Very funny and was clearly made by people who hold the Genre dear to their hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor show, 3 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark and Stormy Night [DVD] (DVD)
I get that this is supposed to be a spoof of those hardboiled detective and murder mystery movies of the 1950s, however I just didn't find it either clever or amusing. The jokes began to wear thin after the first one, the man who keeps forgetting his words is just lame, the pace and tone just painful, and the black and white film unrealistic. Thought I'd give it a go but I won't be watching any more Blamire efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars horrible, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark and Stormy Night [DVD] (DVD)
rubbish one of the worst films i have seen strai fght in the bin for me i dont recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark and Stormy Night [DVD]
Dark and Stormy Night [DVD] by Larry Blamire (DVD - 2011)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews