Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Op Flashpoint Red River
Operation Flashpoint Red River is a squad based first person shooter that is a lot more realistic than any other FPS game on the market. It is flawed though by a number of small graphics and game play faults that mars an otherwise perfect game.

This is the second Operation Flashpoint game to come out on the PS3, and it seems that the designers have learned from...
Published on 27 April 2011 by Neil Lennon

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Codemasters going backwards
To start with I'm a massive fan of FPS, COD as well as Bad Company and played the original Operation flashpoint when I was 13-14 nearly a decade ago and it seems to me that in Red River the developers have tried to bring the original strategy and game play back.

The first thing people will notice is the quality of the graphics. Not only compared to Dragon...
Published on 29 May 2011 by Ali Bridges


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Codemasters going backwards, 29 May 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3) (Video Game)
To start with I'm a massive fan of FPS, COD as well as Bad Company and played the original Operation flashpoint when I was 13-14 nearly a decade ago and it seems to me that in Red River the developers have tried to bring the original strategy and game play back.

The first thing people will notice is the quality of the graphics. Not only compared to Dragon Rising but to any modern FPS. People said that Black Ops went backwards in respect to quality of graphics compared to MW2 but my goodness what have Codemasters done? The graphics are nearly all pixilated and the rotors on the helis are about one pixel deep. The only cool thing is they have clearly tried to create a more realistic experience behind a weapon by giving the character hand movement and gestures such as stretching his hand etc etc but really what people wanted from the latest instalment was an improvement on Dragon Rising. Unfortunately this has not been achieved. The smoke and explosions are of low quality and the inability to enter any other type of vehicle that you may come across in the battle zone is also annoying. That was the coolest thing about Dragon Rising was that you could get into a tank or a heli and you could mess about with the different types of infra red or the type of armament you were about to unload. All of this has been lost to try and get what could have been an amazing platform version of ARMA 2 but instead they have gone backwards.

The online games are ok but again they are extremely limited. My hope is that they will be bringing out patches for the graphics and hopefuly some DLC in the near future.

AI has not improved so you just have to come to terms with the one man squad based playing format. If you play with friends on line and have a headset, which although Geeky is the only real way of enjoying the game, then it may be best to rent. The campaign is quite short but again the large laying areas gives you some ability to flank and replay in different styles etc.

One cool thing is the ability to upgrade your weapons and abilities. However, this is not like COD and so really what you wat is everything oen to you anyway and then be able to choose.

Anyway I enjoyed playing it but am just disappointed that I have waited for so long and they haven't really delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not too bad......, 8 May 2011
By 
Jack N. Lewis (northwest of uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3) (Video Game)
so its a codemasters game, what else do you expect? its founded on a good idea but isnt finished properly. Despite that you shouldnt totally write it off. As mentioned in other reviews the graphics are pretty awful for ps3, theres no real detail and the images can sometimes be a bit shakey. However having played the game for some hours now ive kinda got used to it.

The gameplay itself isnt too bad, campaign missions offer a fairly accurate insight into what fighting a war in the middle east is like these days. The missions include lots of compound clearing and long distance firefights, however they seem a bit repetitive after a bit, theres no real discernible difference between any of them. In the missions your squad leader is a man called Ssgt Knox, he basically just waffles on for ages and swears alot, you'll quickly learn to ignore every lecture he gives.

You yourself are in charge of 3 other men. They are controlled from a quick pop up radial menu which is surprisingly easy to use, if only the soldiers would follow your orders!! They have absolutely no sense of initiative, which means you feel as though your constantly nannying them, taking you out of the fight. Expect them to walk in front of your bullets and even vehicles resulting in injury or death.

Besides from the campaign theres a mode called 'fireteam missions' which is similar to spec Ops off CoD or Terrorist hunt from Rainbow six vegas. There a nice little addition to the game which are fun to play when campaign gets dull or annoying. They'll be even better when psn is back up and running.

The game has a limited variety of weapons with a few upgrades available, these are split into 4 classes: riflemen, grenadier, auto riflemen and scout. You can choose which class you and your men will be and what upgrades they will have - providing you've unlocked them.

So to sum up, the graphics are pants, the A.I is annoying and the missions are a bit dull. On the plus side though the fire team missions are entertaining and it offers a totally different perspective to the first person shooter with more realistic gun fights taking place upto 800 metres. I Picked mine up for £27 which i think is about the right price for the game. If you see it for sale at around that price i think its worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, when it shines it shines., 14 May 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3) (Video Game)
I agree with the people who say the graphics are poor and your team are stupid. Most of the time I couldn't see the bad guys, but I thought that is how it might be for real.The sargent it annoying as hell and your team have no concept of cover. Put all that to one side to enjoy the chaos. Sniping hords of chinese from rooftops and using the leveling system to play levels again as a different class or with better equipment is very rewarding. I played the game on normal and it has waypoints to follow so you don't go too wrong, leave the set route and come on the enemy from a different angle, or walk into a storm of lead. Can't wait to play online as co-op should be very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Op Flashpoint Red River, 27 April 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3) (Video Game)
Operation Flashpoint Red River is a squad based first person shooter that is a lot more realistic than any other FPS game on the market. It is flawed though by a number of small graphics and game play faults that mars an otherwise perfect game.

This is the second Operation Flashpoint game to come out on the PS3, and it seems that the designers have learned from mistakes made in the first game. If you have played the first Operation Flashpoint game you will be pleased to find that Red River is a lot more streamlined and accessible. The graphics are much improved, there are no ten mile foot hikes between missions and there are no impossibly difficult missions.

However there are problems with this game, including some graphics glitches which may or may not be fixed by later patches. These may result in flickering in some parts of the game and buildings missing details close up. Despite this I liked the look of the game, it's probably not as pretty as say Call of Duty, but the area of Tajikistan that the game is set in looks true to life. The marines and their weapons are very detailed and there are some nice effects for explosions and other weapons. You can affect the environment with weapons fire, although the effects are fairly limited.

More worrying still are some problems which affect the game play. These include a regular problem on FPS games when you try and shoot through a small gap between two objects and the game does not recognise there is a gap there. Looking through your sights you have a clear line of sight but all your bullets end up hitting into an invisible barrier as the game cannot recognise the small gap you are firing through. I've seen this problem in other games so Operation Flashpoint is not alone here, but it is still irritating.

Overall the AI in the game is pretty good, which is important as the game centres around your four man squad of marines and much of the time the other three marines are played by the AI. What is impressive though is the multiplayer options that allow you to take the game on line and fill out a four man squad with other players rather than relying on the computer. While the AI controls your squad you give them orders using a radial menu and pointing them in the directions you want them to go. Most of the time this works very well and you get the feel of working as part of a team, rather than being a lone wolf as in most FPS games. There are faults in the AI though, most notably when I was firing I found other members of the team occasionally wandered across my field of fire. Crossing in front of where someone else is aiming is something no trained soldier would ever do, and can result in you shooting members of your own squad by mistake. Another problem I encountered with the AI came with the healing system. On the whole this is a good system with each hit being recorded on a different part of the body which needs either yourself or another to actively patch the wound to stop the bleeding and then treat the wound itself. Unfortunately though the AI controlled marines in the squad are obviously so tough they don't bother to heal themselves most of the time and wander around wounded. When you try to heal them another problem arises as they are obviously programmed to keep their spacing, so as you approach they move further away sometimes leading to you chasing them about trying to heal them.

Although this is frustrating this is still a decent damage system. Wounds affect your performance depending on what part of the body they hit. If you do not stop the bleeding you will eventually pass out. Also some hits will kill you outright depending on where you are hit, by what weapon and what range. This is one of the elements which makes the game much more realistic compared with other FPS games where you shrug off bullets, pausing only to duck down for a few seconds to automatically regenerate after any hits. Operation Flashpoint is more deadly and more realistic as a result. You do worry about getting hit and if you want to get anywhere you have to use cover and suppression fire to your advantage. Combat feels a lot more like the depictions of modern combat you see on CNN or on the documentary channels. You call out targets, keep your head down and try very hard not to get hit.

As previously mentioned the game centres around a marine squad in Tajikistan where you have been sent to deal with "insurgents". This quickly devolves into an all-out war as China gets involved. There is a great deal of gung-ho macho talk by the marines in the game as they step forward to fight the good fight. However I do have some problem with the morality of games like this. Although I enjoy playing FPS games I do wonder about the ethics of a game that uses a real country not currently at war and imagines a scenario where the US invade in yet another peace keeping exercise. By the time China gets involved there are numerous racist slurs about the Chinese which the game doesn't even apologise for. The plot also makes no sense - you enter Tajikistan to deal with Muslim extremists, then communist China comes in to help them out ? At the beginning of the game it tries to summarise the last fifty years of world politics in an introduction that is as inaccurate as it is worrying. I couldn't help thinking throughout the game of the movie Team America World Police. In the end it was clear that it didn't matter in the game why you were there but you were going to shoot everyone they told you to. If you do have a problem with recent US foreign policy I would strongly suggest avoiding this game ( although this could also apply to other recent FPS games like Medal of Honour ).

Unfortunately I've not been able to play this game online yet as the Playstation network has been down ever since I bought it. However the multiplayer scenarios can be played with one player and three AI marines just like the campaign game which is a nice touch. There are only a few scenarios included with the game but others can be downloaded ( once the PSN is up and running again ). It's clear that the multiplayer focuses upon you developing one of four classes - rifleman, grenadier, scout and support gunner. Each class has its own selection of weapons and skills to gain access to, and experience can be gained through solo play as well as online play. As a result multiplayer gaming is much more about using the right skills and tactics rather than other games where it's all about elite players with access to the best weapons.

Overall then, despite all its faults, I would recommend this game to anyone who wanted a more realistic FPS game. This is about as realistic as you can get while still being playable as a game. Despite its poor grasp of world politics it seems to have a very good grasp of military weapons and tactics. The game world is a much more open environment giving you more choice as to where you go and how you complete your mission. Between each individual scenario there is usually a long boring introduction explaining the mission parameters, but this only plays once as there is a checkpoint at the end of it. And despite being so over the top pro-American you do get caught up in the enthusiasm and professionalism of the marines involved. As you engage enemies at long range using the realistically modelled weapons and tactics you get a feel for what it must really be like in the combat zone. This is a game which I think I will keep coming back to as it stands out so well against so much other competition in the FPS market. If only they could have ironed out the few bugs there are this would be the perfect FPS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What have they done?, 3 April 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3) (Video Game)
When I got my PS3 (late 2011), I had no desire to play FPS games. I bought GT5, GTA IV. I had played some FPS titles in the past on PC (Rogue Spear, Ghost Recon series, original Operation Flashpoint), but after trying Rainbow Six on PS2, didn't think it was possible to play with any degree of accuracy with a console controller. That was the reason for my lack of interest in FPS games.

Soon after I bought Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising, after watching a friend's "Let's play" videos on YT. I was extremely impressed by the game. I found it very challenging, as it's about strategy, stealth and awareness of one's environment. Also, the enemy soldiers are often a distance away, making them hard to spot, let alone shoot. In the second mission, you don't even need to fire a shot to complete it in the best possible way.

I bought MoH2k10, which I took to straight away. I found the other players friendly and was asked to join a clan on my first online game by a bloke from Brum. I'm not really into clans, but I appreciated the invitation, especially as the clan members were extremely good and I would not be an asset.

I then got CoD World At War, which I wasn't a great fan of. After that I got Battlefield 1943 from PSN for around £11.99, which I loved and still play often. I decided to get CoD BO and MW2, which I like, but am not terribly good at. I think I'm more suited to the more military of the FPS games... I then got BF3 and fell immediately in love with it. I am not a great player, although I do feel I'm progressing.

Now to Red River... Finally, right? I saw it was cheap on Amazon and decided to purchase it on my experience with OF: DR. That was a big mistake. As some reviewers have stated, the franchise has gone backwards. The graphics are awful, with a kind of comic book feel. The feel of the game is no longer strategic. I think previous reviewers are right. This game is an attempt to get CoD fans to play. It's more of an arcade title than a tactical FPS.

The storyline is rather annoying, with the dialogue full of expletives, as if to try to make it a more hardcore title.

I'm glad this poor title was cheap, otherwise I might be really annoyed by the waste of money. I had read some of the bad reviews before purchasing and assumed they were new to the Operation Flashpoint console experience and perhaps wanted a more run and shoot title.

Thankfully. this is the only game I've bought that I consider a mistake. I can't recommend this game to anyone, as it's obviously trying to be a jack of all trades and has failed.

Thank you for reading my review. I hope it was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable game - great value for a game less than a tenner now!, 16 Jan. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3) (Video Game)
Yeah, agree with all the reviews already posted (both the positive and negative). AI can be frustrating at times, graphics can be a bit pixilated, game sound really does need a total over haul, but otherwise this is a thoroughly enjoyable game!

Took me a bit to "acclimatise" to this game as I had just come from smashing Killzone3! Much harder to identify targets in this game (similar to real life I guess)!

Not really all that much more to add to whats already been said. A very solid four if you can pick this up for less than a tenner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not an improvement on OFP coldwar, 10 Nov. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3) (Video Game)
Oh dear what a sell out to the original OFP I had thought that Dragon Rising although not an improvement on OFP was at least a new game to bring back some real tactical war fun but alas it failed in many ways,sadly.Red River has continued this backwards move in game style so whats wrong with it firstly its too short about 5 hours to end of the campaign in normal mode . Second there is no real open map so missions must be played within the game zone just like all the other shootem up war games yawn ! Third the graphics are so basic it makes OFP coldwar look good . Forth there is still a problem with the controls for calling air strikes/mortar attacks . Fifth the swearing is over the top with an f word around every 10 seconds not to mention the racist comments against Chinese people these may be real world but should have no place in a game . Sixth intro/cut scenes are too long . Seventh no editor to build your own battles and where are the tanks helicopters and boats to drive ?

So what was good the AI was a great improvement but not much else, I don't think this game should have used the OFP name. This game is not as good game as the one that came out over a decade ago.

I just hope that one day there will be a worthy game to follow OFP COLD WAR CRISIS .
I did enjoy playing it but don't pay too much for it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Real Fun, 7 April 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is very realistic by far if your comparing it games like call of duty; instead of your character taking 10 bullets to die on this game your lucky if you survive one, am very big on graphics and they are fairly good and this game is a lot better than the first one by far. the game also gives an insight into the world of real combat and how they act just a really good realistic game you really can't go wrong!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First class game., 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3) (Video Game)
A realistic FPS set in the present era in Tajikistan. Although the war the campaign is set in is fictional this is still as close to be being a real US Marine fighting in proper war as you can get in a video game (thankfully). Right from the start you feel immersed in the game due to the combination of gritty real world look and sounds in the massive mainly rural landscape. Everything from the authentic handling and sounding weapons to the believable enemy AI will compel you to keep playing missions just for the experience, even when you get shot (which happens a lot until you learn by your mistakes). You can also control your squad on the battlefield and call in airstrikes in some situations. There is a lengthy campaign mode, fireteam engagements (stand alone missions with specific objectives which can be replayed to earn points - will keep you occupied for ages on their own), and of course online missions which I have not tried. There are some minor technical issues which don't detract from the overall quality of the game. In conclusion I would highly recommend this game to anyone who is looking for realistic but playable first person war game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good game..but you get dead..quick., 14 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3) (Video Game)
It's less forgiving and it's very realistic to earlier games like Ghost Recon as when you get shot....you die.quickly.
Overall it's well worth a go..but you have to be more thoughtful otherwise you end up dead..very quickly.
Glad I bought it cheaply as I feel at full price I would of been dissappointed.....but for what I paid...very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3)
Operation Flashpoint Red River (PS3) by Codemasters Limited (PlayStation 3)
£3.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews