Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Version 7
I looked at other reviews and saw that the problems look to have being edited out.
Kindle fire allows colour pictures to be view and with touch screens it is easier to use. Delphi Classics editions have a full output of available works. It is great value for money. Short stories are llsted by date and in a to z order.
Published 24 months ago by Scott M Burdon

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
I bought this mainly for the short stories and some of the rarer novels. My main quibble is with the formatting. "Watch and Ward" and "Confidence" were fine, "The Reverberator" suffered from the block-capitals-instead-of-italics problem noticed with other Delphi editions, which gives the unJamesian impression the characters are shouting at each other, and "The Other...
Published 21 months ago by Disgruntled


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Version 7, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of Henry James (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I looked at other reviews and saw that the problems look to have being edited out.
Kindle fire allows colour pictures to be view and with touch screens it is easier to use. Delphi Classics editions have a full output of available works. It is great value for money. Short stories are llsted by date and in a to z order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value., 12 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of Henry James (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
My first purchase for my new Kindle and I must admit that I am generally very pleased with it.
I already own most of the major novels and bought this mostly for the tales,which are hard (and very expensive!) to get hold of.
I have not yet read all the tales but have found a slight problem trying to find "The Real Thing". The link on the contents page leads to a tale headed "The Real Thing" but this turns out to be a quite different story,actually "In the Cage",which is also at the end of it's own link.
Some of the text has some very strange hyphenation,but not so that it really distracts from the reading experience.
As another reviewer has previously mentioned it would be nice to know which text was used,but that is a small quibble.
All in all,for the price paid, I cannot complain and will be buying more Delphi e-books soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 14 July 2012
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of Henry James (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this mainly for the short stories and some of the rarer novels. My main quibble is with the formatting. "Watch and Ward" and "Confidence" were fine, "The Reverberator" suffered from the block-capitals-instead-of-italics problem noticed with other Delphi editions, which gives the unJamesian impression the characters are shouting at each other, and "The Other House" was such a mess as to be unreadable. So far I've only scratched the surface of this enormous collection, but the rule seems to be that the more obscure texts are the ones most likely to contain errors. You get a lot for your money, but the standard of presentation is inconsistent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the effort - slightly dated language but rewarding to read, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of Henry James (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Superb writing - so pleased to have finally started reading Henry James. What triggered it? I saw an excellent film, What Maisie Knew, based on a Henry James book. The film is about parents who use their small child as ammunition to hurt each other with complete disregard for her feelings & welfare. It is so relevant to today so I wanted to read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Riddled with typos, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Kirk McElhearn (Near Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of Henry James (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I'm a huge Henry James fan, and the idea of having (almost) all of his works on my iPhone was tempting. But many of these texts show that they weren't even proofread. The typo of scan-os that show up are the most basic. This should not be sold in this state. I know it's not expensive, but save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete works of Henry James, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of Henry James (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
There are thousands of words here, and many many novels. I haven't started reading them yet, and if I ever get round to reading the lot then I'll send you a review - probably in about 50 years time. Meanwhile it's a comfort to know they're safe in my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Making nonsense of Henry James, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of Henry James (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I would give this no stars were it possible. Reading through the Tales of Henry James, some of them, such as "A Problem", are so full of ghastly errors and peculiar signs instead of letters, that one cannot make sense of them. Just try reading that one story alone. I guess the photographic method of reproduction has taken over with ridiculous results. Other stories have "it's" instead of the possessive "its" throughtout. I won't go on. This is not an edition to be taken seriously. It does not merit the title of "edition" because it is unedited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dog's dinner, 13 Nov 2011
By 
WP "WP" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of Henry James (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Even if all you want is a "good read", you had better avoid this edition, which is cobbled together with barely identified texts and carelessly chosen photos. James carefully revised many of his texts between their first periodical appearance and their final book productions; the earlier texts received the greatest revisions, which were often substantial. None of this is indicated and in fact, for the Portrait of a Lady, you get a snapshot of the first page of the early periodical (Atlantic Monthly) and then the following text, very much revised, of the much, much later New York Edition. For the Golden Bowl, you get a photo of the cover of the English book publication of -- !! The Wings of the Dove !! -- and a non-descript snapshot of an unidentified person in a casual T-shirt in front of what is, in the background, probably Lamb House in Rye; this supposedly is a help for identifying The Golden Bowl. A dog's dinner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ee58cfc)

This product

Only search this product's reviews