Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite Short Story Brings Back Lovely Memories
Gabriel Axel's truly wonderful film of the same name which adheres very closely to this short story by Karen Blixen(Isak Dinesen -played by Meryl Streep in Out Of Africa) has remained an enchantment since I first saw it in 1988.I had never read Blixen's story until now and unsurprisingly what a joy.

Released as part of Penguin's Celebrations marking 50 yrs of...
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by Mark Pearce

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dinesen nouvella
Disappointing
Published 1 month ago by G. Anne Fraser


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite Short Story Brings Back Lovely Memories, 23 Feb 2011
By 
Gabriel Axel's truly wonderful film of the same name which adheres very closely to this short story by Karen Blixen(Isak Dinesen -played by Meryl Streep in Out Of Africa) has remained an enchantment since I first saw it in 1988.I had never read Blixen's story until now and unsurprisingly what a joy.

Released as part of Penguin's Celebrations marking 50 yrs of their modern classics imprint,the story revolves around two deeply religious Norwegian sisters who welcome into their midst a middle aged french lady escaping persecution in France who serves the women unsparingly for 12 yrs until....to reveal more would spoil the enjoyment for anyone unfamiliar with this tale..

Even at only 54 pages,Blixen is still able to weave a beautifully subtle and nuanced tale redolent with moments of profound regret and loss which rather than make the tale an melancholic affair,does exactly the opposite and the story sparkles -Papin's letter to the sisters being a perfect example-touching and sad on the surface,he nevertheless delights in his short acquaintance with the sisters.

Truly a delightful story and one to cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much in such a short book, 21 April 2011
By 
Dr. Robert J. Barker "Bob" (Battersea, LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I agree; I also saw the wonderful film first. But there is almost more in this short story (explicit and implicit) even than in the film. I used to show that to students to illustrate some aspects of Kierkegaard's philosophy, but now I wouldn't need to. Although Kierkegaard used to think he could express his meaning better at great and sometimes confusing length, these 53 pages suggest otherwise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never read the author before but enjoyed this story, 6 July 2011
Bought this as a bookclub recommendation and despite being a short story it was really enjoyable and atmospheric. Good characters that are well portrayed and engaging within a strong storyline - I have never seen the film but I am glad I read the book first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, 16 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this film many years ago and have never forgotten it. Superb. So very pleased to be able to have my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Austerity, elegance, and quietude, 1 May 2013
In a beautifully written tale on austere existence, the two daughters and ageing followers of a late preacher are put to the test with a sumptuous meal of ostentatious splendour. Questions arise. Is their devout lifetime of sensory and aesthetic denial to be soured by such a decadent delectation? Will their values be proved steadfastly or laid bare as bygone superstition? And will the mysterious Babette be brought low by the rumoured transgressions of her past, or will fortune favour her stoic and unyielding perseverance?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful jewel of a story, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babette's Feast (Penguin Mini Modern Classics) (Kindle Edition)
This afternoon I reread Babette's Feast, a short story by Karen Blixen, best known for of Out of Africa.

The theme of a shared meal, and its ability to transform events or even to change lives, is a common one in literature. Writers have always use food and wine to bring about changes in mood, confessions, confrontations, and of course, seductions. From the Last Supper to Monty Python's The Meaning of Life, meals have meant drama.

Babette's Feast is a beautiful jewel of a story set in a quiet, rigorously Lutheran village in Norway. Two spinster sisters live a life of religious observation, modesty and prayer among the congregation of their late father, who had been the minister. Babette, a refugee from the Paris Commune, arrives unexpectedly with a letter from a long-rejected suitor of the younger sister, begging to be given shelter.

For twelve years she works tirelessly and becomes a model servant. She rarely, if ever, speaks of her former life, until she unexpectedly wins ten thousand Francs in a lottery.

He parting gift to the sisters is a French meal, to which twelve of their friends are invited. General Lorens Löwenhielm arrives with his aunt, but finds himself brought low by melancholic thoughts of his youth. Returning to the house has reminded him of his unrequited love for the younger sister.

As a young officer he had spent several years in Paris, where he gained a taste for, and some knowledge of, fine food and wine. To his astonishment, the meal flawlessly recreates the signature dishes of the Café Anglais, and its celebrated chef, whose work he had once been captivated by.

This is an enchanting story, simply and skilfully told, by a writer at the height of her powers. Perhaps Blixen too, on her farm in Africa, sometimes yearned for the magic of great food and conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic vinette, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babette's Feast (Penguin Mini Modern Classics) (Kindle Edition)
What a beautiful book this is - the beautiful prose and carefully drawn characters in such a short story. I loved it - the subtle interplay of religion, artistry, a life of sacrifice and a sacrificed life. A wonderful fable - read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An old-fashioned lesson in grace, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Lance Mitchell (Hampshire, UK, Northern Hemisphere, Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
The story and the language (translation) are so quaint.

As it such a short story, it would be difficult to summarise and add detail to the publisher's blurb, without spoilers, so I won't. What I would say, though, is that this is a book that I could read several times, and learn something new each time. You know how it is when you view a detailed oil painting for the tenth time, and notice something that you've never seen before? Well, this is the equivalent in book form.

Watch out for a lesson in grace.

This book is almost guaranteed to be different to anything that you have ever read before. Try it for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babette's Feast (Penguin Mini Modern Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Penguin call it a modern classic and it deserves that title. It is a short novel and quite unexpected. I have read it once and must read it again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dinesen nouvella, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babette's Feast (Penguin Mini Modern Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews