Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watching a true genius at work
The word genius is much misused. I think David Byrne is as close as it gets in the world of popular music (and the visual arts where he is also very active)
I was fortunate to see two concerts on this tour, at Bristol and Barcelona. We were even lucky enough to attend the backstage after-gig party at Barcelona as VIP guests of one of the backing band. I met my hero,...
Published on 4 Jun 2011 by Mr. G. S. Walker

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More documentary than concert
Sorry to introduce a downer to all this praise but whilst the concert is fine, I didn't realise that the documentary interruptions would be so intrusive. In fact it is more of a documentary with concert interruptions.

Also, loses stars for the short attention-span camera work. There is never a prolonged full stage shot, just a sequence of slick, multi-camera...
Published on 26 July 2012 by Jf Peachey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watching a true genius at work, 4 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. G. S. Walker "Geoff" (Bridgend, Wales.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ride, Rise, Roar [DVD] (DVD)
The word genius is much misused. I think David Byrne is as close as it gets in the world of popular music (and the visual arts where he is also very active)
I was fortunate to see two concerts on this tour, at Bristol and Barcelona. We were even lucky enough to attend the backstage after-gig party at Barcelona as VIP guests of one of the backing band. I met my hero, shook his hand, and was a speechless nerd.
Not only does this DVD capture the superb live performances, the snips in between give a great insight into the process behind writing some of the music, collaborating with Brian Eno, and putting the tour together with choreographers etc..
I am not a bloke, at 54, who dances. I danced to this infectious,irresistible music played live by as tight a band as you will get. The vocal harmonies in particular are SUPERB, and the rhythmn section of Paul Frazier and Mauro Refesco is rock solid.
From his start with Talking Heads at CBGB's (now sadly gone) in New York, through all his solo work Byrne has maintained a consistently high standard across a huge range of musical styles. No-one, IMHO, has maintained this standard over 4 decades as Byrne has managed (even the Beatles put some rubbish out individually!)
Treat yourself and buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still making sense, 8 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ride, Rise, Roar [DVD] (DVD)
Like Mr Walker above, I saw two of the gigs on this tour. The Royal Festival Hall and Southampton Guildhall.

I've seen Mr Byrne play many times over the last 20 years and can safely say that this tour was his most electrifying and very best yet. My one gripe is that it doesn't contain the version of 'Help Me Somebody' that was part of the set - a chilling, edgy live performance of a song that was originally on My Life In The Bush of Ghosts. It exists as an MP3 out there on the web but isn't on this DVD.

Still - a damn fine concert film from a manic, super imaginative performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exuberant brilliance, 23 Sep 2011
This review is from: Ride, Rise, Roar [DVD] (DVD)
I went to a David Byrne concert a couple of years ago and hoped that this film might capture some of the exuberance and brilliance of that experience. The film is a joy to watch, not only a reminder of Byrnes wonderful artistry and quiet genius - and the fun of the concert , but also an interesting insight into the musicians, dancers etc who collaborated on this project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a wasted opportunity!, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ride, Rise, Roar [DVD] (DVD)
Superb reinterpretations of many old favourites, great performances all round. Yet totally ruined as a concert film by incessant, unnecessary and intrusive jump cuts that make it impossible to enjoy the careful staging and choreography. Buy as a fan of David Byrnes music - or as an excellent example of how not to edit a live event movie. 5 star music, 1 star film. Maybe they will find a proficient editor and reissue this one day.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More documentary than concert, 26 July 2012
By 
Jf Peachey (UK Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ride, Rise, Roar [DVD] (DVD)
Sorry to introduce a downer to all this praise but whilst the concert is fine, I didn't realise that the documentary interruptions would be so intrusive. In fact it is more of a documentary with concert interruptions.

Also, loses stars for the short attention-span camera work. There is never a prolonged full stage shot, just a sequence of slick, multi-camera editing.

David Byrne has aged well and gives slight insight into his musical progression and Brian Eno is lucid and amusing but for me, the extraordinary dancing of Lily Baldwin steals the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One small complaint, 25 Feb 2012
This review is from: Ride, Rise, Roar [DVD] (DVD)
Cards on the table, I am a David Byrne fan. Ever since I first saw Talking Heads 30 years ago the man can do no wrong. I was bound to love this DVD.

So having already seen the tour, bought the T-shirt and found a cinema showing the film when it first came out, the DVD was always joining the collection. It is without doubt a fascinating insight into how this groundbreaking tour came about. For those who haven't seen it, the show mixes in dancers with a standard rock band set up, blurring the edges so sometimes you can't see where the band ends and the dancers begin. The DVD is part documentary and part concert footage.

But I do have a complaint. I think the DVD presentation is a bit lazy. It is exactly the same as the cinema version. I would have expected an extras option where you could just watch the concert. In fact any extras would have been good.

Having said that it is a good film. Great for fans and newbys alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A genius at work in totality, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ride, Rise, Roar [DVD] (DVD)
The old man loved David Byrne Esq., when younger and this just showcases his ever growing talent.
You will watch this time and time again. A star DVD in our growing collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 16 Sep 2013
By 
irene burns (East kilbride,Glasgow) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ride, Rise, Roar [DVD] (DVD)
David Byrne never ceases to amaze me loved him since the talking heads days
Intelligent songwriter with a voice that is still same as it I ever was.
Excellent DVD with a mixture of live performances and interviews .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ride, Rise, Roar [DVD] (DVD)
This is a brilliant documentary of an incredible tour. The effort that went into the show is extremely impressive and the video of the performances here is excellent. The best part of this is the behind the scenes look at how the show was conceived, you get a really good sense of David Byrne's genius from the documentary. To see how the intricate eventual performance evolved from basically nothing is jaw-dropping stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Byrne incarnation, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He's a genius and responsible for what I, and many others, consider to be the greatest concert video of all time: talking Head's "Stop Making Sense". It's always going to be quirky but the music, lyrics and movements are, as usual, well thought out and not quite like anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ride, Rise, Roar [DVD]
Ride, Rise, Roar [DVD] by Hillman Curtis (DVD - 2011)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews