Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice movie
This is certainly a movie with a young public in mind. The idea is relatively original, there is a good amount of nice action, nice effects and the actors are good and promising. There are some cliches: some look good and make the movie funnier whereas other are just simply too much and they definitely damage the story.

You have to be into this kind of movie...
Published on 26 July 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Teenage romance meets Sci-Fi
This is a film which is much more of a teenage high school romance than a serious science fiction film. The basic plot is that the good-looking high school hero is the last of an extra-terrestrial race hunted by another race of ruthless aliens. He is trying to remain anonymous but falls in love with a girl at his school, and both are in danger as the homicidal aliens...
Published on 27 April 2011 by John M


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Teenage romance meets Sci-Fi, 27 April 2011
By 
John M "John M" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: I Am Number Four [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film which is much more of a teenage high school romance than a serious science fiction film. The basic plot is that the good-looking high school hero is the last of an extra-terrestrial race hunted by another race of ruthless aliens. He is trying to remain anonymous but falls in love with a girl at his school, and both are in danger as the homicidal aliens close in on him. He has some extraordinary powers which he discovers which help him in his battle with the evil alien race. It would have been improved by exploring the story behind the alien conflict a little more, rather than focusing on high school relationships.

Basically it's a bit of OK escapist fun, but nothing for the serious SF fan to get excited about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice movie, 26 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Number Four [DVD] (DVD)
This is certainly a movie with a young public in mind. The idea is relatively original, there is a good amount of nice action, nice effects and the actors are good and promising. There are some cliches: some look good and make the movie funnier whereas other are just simply too much and they definitely damage the story.

You have to be into this kind of movie for young people, you have to be into sci-fiction, action movies, fantasy, extra-terrestrial stuff and forget about the bad cliches. In that case it's quite a nice movie and certainly worth renting it or buying it like I did. If you are not in the previous list and can't get past the cliches (some of them are funny though) this might not be the movie for you. But if you like action, sci-fi, fantasy movies it's quite nice and worth buying.

It won't get an Oscar (maybe special effects) but you will spend a nice afternoon watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheese mania, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Number Four [DVD] (DVD)
The books of this series are amazing. Loved them all. They were sci fi and totally epic!

This movie is a disappointment. They alienness is cheesy and it's more kids with magic powers running about like headless chickens!
The story has became a romance with superpowers mixed in.
The acting is bad and the only reason I gave it two stars is because of the amazing books

Write more books, no more movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good romp, 8 July 2011
By 
Dr. Vernon M. Hewitt (Bristol, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Am Number Four [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film - partly I have to say because my expectation of main stream sci fi has been somewhat dumbed down: and I am a sucker for blonde women on bikes and young men with good shoulders. This is a pretty film, well made if not overdone
on the computer graphics: at least Number Four acts with a certain moody boy charm - unlike Edward in Twilight who seems to confine himself to narrowing his eyes and snorting. The premise is good if undercooked - and I certainly agree with the perceptive reviews above that this has a sort of pilot feel to it: a lot of lose ends. The fact is, that Twilight Meets ET aside, this is a close re-working of Roswell: in fact it contains the same universe down to the sheriff, the mean sheriff's son (made good at the end), the geeky boy, the box, the communication device, and the Nasedo character pretending to be daddy. In this sense I saw it - and enjoyed it - not so much as a film rip off but a sort of trope about sci fi and identity. Alas it turns into a sort of transformers-mutant approach towards the end with very BAD baddies and lots of explosions, but it was a good day out on a wet windy British bank holiday - teen music over moody shots is a bit wearing though after a while. Serious sci fi fo rme is stuff like Clooney's extraordinary reclaiming of Solaris - almost in many senses better tyhan the original - but it wasnt a hit and studios are driven, like political parties and fashion - into a middle ground in which content and dialogue and ultimately plot give way to a bland derivative format of bang bang kiss and moody endings. I liked the dog though, that was sweet - and this does get a place on the Hewitt sci fi shelves between Roswell Series One and Supernatural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent movie, very teen focussed but fun for everyone., 24 Feb 2011
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Am Number Four [DVD] (DVD)
This is a review based on the Cinema release.
It shares a lot in common with the Twilight Saga as it's set in a small town with the lead male being an outcast mysterious hunk who falls for the local small town girl. As per the Twighlight saga he falls in Love with her and is destined to protect her from all the dangers and horrors they will encounter in the movie. There's also plenty for the teen boys with motorbikes, hot girls, and lots of Sci-Fi gadgets and guns.
I don't wish to spoil the movie but there were lots of chuckles and 'Cool' being murmured throughout the audience. The story is incredibly predictable but to be honest I wasn't expecting a plot full of twists and turns. I was expecting to be entertained with a reasonable story and lots of action and special effects. I got it in spades. There's one or two 'kind of' surprises but you knew they were coming and a disney moment here and there. The film has been left open for sequels and I'd be really shocked if there wasn't at least another one of these coming down the pipe. I would think given what's on at the movies at the moment (True Grit, The Kings Speech) this will have no problem sucking up all the adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller ticket money. All in all I'd recommend this and the 12 rating is bang on. Total family film with focus on Teens. Sci-Fi meets Twilight. Please remember to vote if you read this. Thanks !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Looks like a run of the mill T.V. intro, 1 Aug 2011
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The intro or trailer tells the whole story. Good aliens fight bad aliens on Earth. The aliens good or bad get intertwined with earthlings. Evidently they did not hear Carl Sagan's warning that making love with an alien is like making love with a petunia.

There is a little valence and car chasing but no profanity, nudity, or blood. There is no number two.

I wonder if the same people will be in the TV series should this take place. I guess this presentation was tied to the book series do they could not really wrap it up in the end.

The DVD extras include deleted scenes. Becoming number six. After years Blu-ray and 60" TV's there is no need to tout the visuals and audio.

Actual quote "I think the chance of a man mating with a petunia is much greater than the chance of him being able to mate, much less produce offspring, with an inhabitant of another planet."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A SCI-FI TREAT', 6 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is certainly one for Sci-fi and Action fans.
Just a few have survived, those that have are trying to blend-in and make 'earth' their home.
The beings that killed 'the many' on their planet have come to seek them out on earth.
'John' (Alex Pettyfer) has had to change his name and location many times as the beings hunt his kind down one by one, 'John' is number four on the list.
'John' befriends a school aquaintance who's father because of his beliefs of 'Alien' visitation down the years has made him a target for bullies.
'John' has to learn about his special powers quickly as the 'beings' that hunt him down are getting closer.
Another series that never came to fruition sadly, could have been an interesting franchise to follow,
Great action throughout, good c.g.i .....well worth a spin......enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting themes all woven together, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Am Number Four [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is very unexpected and not predictable. You can guess the basic story line but the more complex details take you completely by suprise. Alex Pettyfer plays the main character, John Smith or 'Number Four', who is an alien (aliens have never looked so good!) that is being hunted by other aliens from the destroyed planet of Lorien. There are eight other teenagers like John who make up the 'Garde', who are Loriens with special 'Legaices' and powers. The Garde can only be killed in a certain order and after the death of 'Number Three', John is next.

It gets a little bit too 'Star Wars' for my liking at the end but nonetheless this is a great movie. It is action packed with some of the oddest themes that are woven carefully together to create an interesting story. There is action, fighting, aliens as well as teen drama - romance and bullying. One would not expect these themes to gel well together but they do in 'I Am Number Four'. I highly recommend this movie to anyone really, but in particular teenagers. For me, personally, the ending was unexpected, because I thought that it would end with your typical teen romance, but it didn't. It left you in suspense wanting to know more. As 'I Am Number Four' was the first of a series of six books hopefully we'll see the sequels brought to our screens soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars was ok, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Number Four [DVD] (DVD)
this film was a good watch but it seemed to be a bit repetitive and my mate who i watched it with found she thought it was very repetitive also, best bit is when the women comes in who kick ass better then the guy who has been in whole way through bit of a bummer when fit guy older dies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great adaption of the book., 15 April 2012
This review is from: I Am Number Four [DVD] (DVD)
This film is about John Smith, who is a 15 year-old from the planet Lorien who escaped to earth as a baby with his protector, Henri, after the Mogadorians invaded. They now live in America, moving constantly to stay hidden from the Mogadorians. They have killed the first, second and now the third of the refugees seem to be doing fine until their life on the road is brought to an abrupt halt when John Smith meets Sarah Hart.
This film, directed by D.J. Caruso is a stunning adaptation of the book, by Pittacus Lore. Despite a few changes, which are inevitable in these cases, all of the major elements are kept the same and the plot is entirely unchanged from the original. Upon watching this film for the first time, I was amazed to see that the characters matched the image in my mind's eye, which does not often happen. The acting is astounding, and the choice of Alex Pettyfer as Number four, and Timothy Olyphant as Henri was definitely a good one. Generally, I am not the biggest fan of Sci-fi, but this film kept me gripped from the start. One point that could be improved is the excessive fight scenes near the end, for there are points when you think that it's over, but there is still more to come. Despite this, it is a superb film and I would definitely recommend watching it as soon as you have the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Am Number Four [DVD]
I Am Number Four [DVD] by D.J. Caruso (DVD - 2011)
£5.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews