Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real hero
I had to clear my house loft of vermiculite, a very dusty granular insulating material. I dug most of it out and was left with a 1 inch deep layer of dust and granuals in between the plaster lumps coming through the old fashioned lats. Its a 30 litre cleaner but can be manhandled into a loft single handed. This machine works with no bag,(if you want it to) it just fills...
Published on 19 Jan. 2012 by Mr. Keith Whittle

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its performance is not as good as its appearance promises!
I bought this to give Henry a rest from his vacuuming paths and decking under trees. However I'm disappointed in this machine. It's probably best for wet use. Compared with a Henry it's noticeably and disagreeably noisier, and yet has less suction, maybe 20 - 30% less. Considering that it's presented as designed for more rough use, the suction tubes are very badly...
Published on 15 Sept. 2012 by Jeremy Holmes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real hero, 19 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: JCB 70341 Wet and Dry Vacuum Cleaner 30 Litre, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
I had to clear my house loft of vermiculite, a very dusty granular insulating material. I dug most of it out and was left with a 1 inch deep layer of dust and granuals in between the plaster lumps coming through the old fashioned lats. Its a 30 litre cleaner but can be manhandled into a loft single handed. This machine works with no bag,(if you want it to) it just fills up the tin and will keep sucking until it is absolutely full. There's a filter to protect the motor from bits which eventually gets clogged. Its a big filter and has to be taken out and tapped to remove the dust(in a plastic sack to hold the dust). I dragged it about the loft, mistreated it, filled it up to over flowing, bashed the filter clean numerous times. I did this for 5 days and its still going, it looks ready to do it again, I'm not, I've had it. I've not tried the wheels or the fancy attachments or filled it with water but sucking up dusty bits day after day, it does realy well, Theres a no mucking about place to coil the cable, a hose called uncrushable and it is. Replacement filters are £10 but I did not need one. I'm chufted to bits with this cleaner, its a real hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy duty DIY dream cleaner!, 22 Feb. 2012
By 
M. Dasani (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JCB 70341 Wet and Dry Vacuum Cleaner 30 Litre, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was very excited when this massive black and yellow box arrived, I was very anxious to test out this beast. It takes a few steps and a couple of minutes to un-box and put it all together, then you're good to go. The box contains all the usual attachments you'd expect to find, as well as separate filters for wet and dry use and also a bag.

Overall I'm very impressed with the performance and suction power. For me, the best part of this device is the ability, not only to plug in a power tool, but also attach the hose to the back of the device (mini sander in my case) so that a majority of the sawdust is removed with the synchronised powering on and off of the cleaner. Another great thing about this vacuum cleaner, is you don't mind throwing it about a bit, it gives the impression of being incredibly sturdy and will be able to take a beating.

I've never used a wet and dry cleaner before, but the drainage point of the bottom of the cleaner seems like an exceptional feature. East to open and close, although if the seal were to give way, it'd probably cause you some problems.

If you're looking for a home vacuum cleaner, then this probably isn't the best contender on the market. But if you're doing DIY or have a workshop of some sort, this will probably be just what you're looking for. It has a large capacity, is durable, tough and can take a beating, and you don't have to worry about ruining your Dyson on picking up DIY rubble once you have this.

Great device, in my opinion value for money too. Suitable for constant heavy duty DIY and workshop use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Mar. 2012
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: JCB 70341 Wet and Dry Vacuum Cleaner 30 Litre, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Most people wouldn't purchase this to be their only household vacuum. Although it does everything required when it comes to carpets and upholstery this beast was designed for other things. Tough jobs. Even hoovering the car is a bit too delicate for this workhorse, it wants to be doing things that would destroy a normal vacuum cleaner! This is ideally suited to those who need a second vacuum for dirty jobs and DIY clean-ups. If you regularly do DIY or create an exceptional amount of mess, then this is the device for you! A tough and sturdy metal canister on wheels with an unbreakable hose, the ability to suck up liquids and all manner of debris which would dramatically shorten the life of the average household vacuum.
There is even a socket on the side for feeding a power tool. This is handy for those tools which have a vacuum connector, allowing the sawdust and wood shavings to go directly into the vacuum. It even powers-up automatically as you use the device and switches off when you do. Finally there is a drain plug on the lower side of the canister to unload liquids easily down a drain. As the unit has a large capacity, this is a handy feature because the canister would be too heavy to lift otherwise.
All in all a brilliant purchase for most men in the family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Workshop/General Utility Vac, 21 Feb. 2012
By 
Old Timer (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: JCB 70341 Wet and Dry Vacuum Cleaner 30 Litre, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This JCB 70341 is actually from the Morphy Richards stable, and has nothing to do with the makers of earth-moving equipment. Being a Morphy Richards is no bad thing because the company is very good with support and spares, and in my recent experience - our main home vac is currently a Morphy Richards Never Loses Suction 73410 Anti-Allergy Upright Bagless Vacuum Cleaner - they supply well-made and dependable appliances.

The product arrived, and very promptly, in a JCB branded carton. There is a small amount of final assembly to be done, but this consists of little more than fitting the castors and filter and takes but minutes. Two filters are supplied; one for dry use and the other for liquids. A bag is also supplied, and this can be used to line the collection bin. The instructions say the bag should be used to prevent the filter being clogged with fine dust, but my application for the 70341 does not involve fine waste I have not fitted it.

If you have used a wet/dry vac of any brand over the last 20 years you will find all aspects of the 70341 to be totally familiar. From the way the motor housing fits to the waste cylinder, to the way the hose attaches waste canister, to the float that prevents the motor ingesting liquids, all is simple, obvious, and really fairly impossible to get wrong.

But the 70341 does have one less usual and immensely useful feature, the synchronised power tool outlet.

Located on the motor housing is a outlet socket that can be used to supply a power tool rated up to 1500W. Obviously the power tool must have the facility to have a vacuum hose connected for this feature to have any worth. With the power switch of the 70341 set to an auxiliary position the outlet is live, and when an attached tool is run for a few seconds the vacuum cleaner is automatically switched on, thus removing waste. After the power tool has been switched off the 70341 continues to run for a few seconds to empty the hose, and then it too shuts down.

The instruction book suggests using the feature with devices such as jigsaws and circular saws, but my experiences with portable tools has been that an attached hose can be more of a hindrance than a help, and my 70341 will be used with fixed machinery such as my bandsaw and router table.

For general use such as vacuuming out the car the 70341 has the usual range of tools, all of which can be stored on-board. A large floor cleaning head is supplied, but of course a machine of this type is not really intended to compete in the carpet-cleaning stakes, for that a machine with powered brushes is needed.

As a general workshop/garage vacuum cleaner, and one I believe will last for very many years, the JCB 70341 seems ideal, especially when taking into account the unusually large 30 litre capacity and the synchronised power tool outlet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful man hoover, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
margesimpson "wifi" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: JCB 70341 Wet and Dry Vacuum Cleaner 30 Litre, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
this hoover is alot of things, sturdy, well built with a large capacity, its a work horse of a hoover and would be great for any builder or diy enthusiast. my husband loves this its great for the car and for diy with or without the bag inside. when you pick up large particles the bag is removed and you take a fair old time to fill it up with consistant pick up. picking up spills with it is a great feature and very esy set up(take out the bag and put a sponge sock on the filter)
the real greatest part of this hoover is it comes with a power socket to connect your power tools to in the side of it so you can connect the tool and the dust outlet to the hoover and extract the dust from the job as you go
the only downside is the tool storage on the rim , the tools just wont all fit but its a small issue.
im very happy as now we have a house hoover and a man hoover, so he can do what he likes with this one and i think it will stand up to alot of abuse plus a very long guaruntee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even I couldn't break it., 15 Mar. 2012
By 
Road Apple "who brings the mustard?" (Mean Gene's Bar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: JCB 70341 Wet and Dry Vacuum Cleaner 30 Litre, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When it comes to something as tough as this, I don't really care about looks or even ergonomics, but I have to say this is a treat use and really looks the part too.

It hasn't stumbled. First off with normal carpet it was fine, not as good as a typical Dyson but good enough. Moving on to more nasty tasks this vacuum was fantastic. Clearing out semi-renovated loft was a doddle, pieces of wet gunk from cleaning were no trouble, neither were wood chips, plastic bits, even some tiny metal strips. It also performed as expected when sucking up kitchen mess, such a load of cat food (don't ask) and the results of a leaking washing machine. It's almost a shame I won't get to use it more often, almost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its performance is not as good as its appearance promises!, 15 Sept. 2012
By 
Jeremy Holmes (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JCB 70341 Wet and Dry Vacuum Cleaner 30 Litre, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this to give Henry a rest from his vacuuming paths and decking under trees. However I'm disappointed in this machine. It's probably best for wet use. Compared with a Henry it's noticeably and disagreeably noisier, and yet has less suction, maybe 20 - 30% less. Considering that it's presented as designed for more rough use, the suction tubes are very badly designed - the joining sockets are all 'the wrong way round'. All the internal tube ends and ridges are AGAINST the air flow so debris can easily catch or build up against them at the joints, which causes regular blockages; especially if there's any dampness in the debris. There's even a sharp right angle into the receiving canister which again is a great blockage creator. The tube sockets are a promising 40mm internal diameter but the flexible hose end piece is only 32mm id! In my opinion they've lost an opportunity to make a serious piece of kit for workshop and roughish use. To be honest, If I could return it I would, and pay more for one of Henry's big brothers. LATER COMMENT: Since writing the above I've experimented by not using the bent 'handle' joining piece between the hose and the poles. It means you can't regulate the suction airflow but it's better than before. NEW Update June 2013: trying to sell it off! A waste of space. Every time I used it, the less I liked it. Noisy and constantly blocking. It would be OK for just (dry) small dust and (wet) water. But give it any mixed stuff and it clogs very quickly. As I've said above, the intake flow has to negotiate lots of narrowing and stepped joints between tubes etc. If you've never used a Henry or George you'll think it's OK; but don't buy it for serious work, the looks are deceiving. Shames the name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love everything about this vacuum..., 10 April 2012
By 
Coffee & Vanilla "Margot" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: JCB 70341 Wet and Dry Vacuum Cleaner 30 Litre, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love everything about this vacuum, non of that prissy cyclone, ball, whatever-is-the-latest-technology-gizmo-thingy about this vacuum, just good old fashioned rugged JCB horsepower.

I took this outside and dirt, debris, small toys all got hoovered up in a jiffy. A good power cable length meant that I could have a large "working" area. A large (30l) container meant less time emptying and more time hoovering.

I'm not sure how it does with normal carpet cleaning, it doesn't look like it was built for that. However given the solid job it did in my back garden I wouldn't be surprised if it's just as effective indoors.

I haven't been careful with it either, I'd say it's solidly built no worries on that front.

Now for me to find a wet situation to test it with water...

4 stars so far, will update once used in wet conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JCB 70341 Wet and Dry Vacuum Cleaner, 29 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JCB 70341 Wet and Dry Vacuum Cleaner 30 Litre, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Great item, very satisfied with the performance of this vacuum. Robust & powerful machine.
I would recommended this vacuum to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great vacuum, 30 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JCB 70341 Wet and Dry Vacuum Cleaner 30 Litre, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
this is a great vacuum really useful and handy to have in my tool shed for cleaning will come in handy when i'm sanding down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews