Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised me.
I was sceptical of buying this. Most lord of the rings games have never lived up to expectation, and when I saw that this was 14th in the game chart on it's release, I feared it would be another one of those poorly made games. I was pleasantly surprised.. RPG Based, picking up new items, gearing your character with strong armour, a leveling system which can improve...
Published on 25 Nov. 2011 by S. A. Rutter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment really
Well this game had the potential to be so much, and the trailer they released looked so good...but it wasn't really that great. I played around 12 hours maybe less and i'm on the last level. Graphics are average (i expected better) and gameplay is repetitive. You can upgrade your characters and give them new weapons but you can almost do that in every game now. It's a...
Published on 23 Feb. 2012 by The Azure Owl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised me., 25 Nov. 2011
By 
S. A. Rutter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I was sceptical of buying this. Most lord of the rings games have never lived up to expectation, and when I saw that this was 14th in the game chart on it's release, I feared it would be another one of those poorly made games. I was pleasantly surprised.. RPG Based, picking up new items, gearing your character with strong armour, a leveling system which can improve strength, health, dexterity etc.

Pros :
- Decent visuals, I like the fact it's been made more gorey unlike the film and previous games, where it's been toned down for the younger public.
- Easy controls, I was worried on the PC it'd be a little fiddly to use, but it's very straight forward and simple.
- Nice combinations in your attacks, a leveling system where you can upgrade skills, weapons, armour.

Cons :
- No create a character mode, You have to choose from 3 pre-made characters which is a little disappointing.
- Though it has an intriguing multiplayer system, where you can play with 2 others on your file.. I tried on numerous occasions to find a game, and it failed all the time. I'm not sure whether servers are down, or just because nobody has bought this. But it was a little disappointing.

All in all though, I think it's a solid hack n slash/ Rpg combination. I'd reccomend this to Hack n Slashers, or general lord of the rings fans. Places like prancing pony and Rivendell are captured extremely well. A great sigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have been waiting for this kind of game for 10 years. Highly recommended, 25 Nov. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have never been very fond of those role playing games where the fighting feels too "pre-programmed", like Final Fantasy often does: Where the fighting is only about pointing and clicking, and then watching a video unfold. You might as well watch a movie instead of playing rpg's like that in my opinion. However, I LOVE the rpg's where the fighting feels the same way it does in action adventure games like Zelda. And if you feel the same way as me you are going to enjoy this game, to say the least. This is a great mix of sword-/ axe-fighting, role-playing by talking to all kinds of creatures in the most civilized way, and exploring a visually stunning Middle-Earth. You might say that this game IS what "lotr: the third age" tried to be.

I generally prefer videogames from a familiar franchise, and especially if the franchise goes even beyond just videogames, like lotr. This is the ultimate LOTR-game so far, and the gameplay is so good it would have been fantastic even if it wasn't for the LOTR-license. The role playing game "Vampire: The Masquerade - Redemption" from 2000 is the game I have played before that reminds me the most of this, and i happened to like Vampire: The Masquerade - Redemption very much. Like in Vampire: The Masquerade - Redemption you travel around with two companions and you can swap the character you play any time. You can choose between a dwarf, an elf and a ranger.

I would say this game is 50% rpg and 50% zelda-style action adventure game because the combat is very arcade-like, and i like that in rpg-games. You use "wasd" and mouse to move around. Like any other rpg-game it is also about collecting experience-points, upgrading gear, buying and selling items. You can even customize the appearance (face, hair etc.) of the three characters. And it's all set in the lotr-universe so it doesn't get much better than this in my opinion. The story and many of the characters here were made especially for this game so it's sort of a lotr-"spin off". Highly recommended. There is nothing like hitting an orc with a "legendary sever" in this great game! This game is truly epic and worthy of the lotr license. Just listen to the name of the chief villain in this game: Agandaūr. Does a name get any cooler than that?

Update: This is actually becoming one of my all time favourite games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment really, 23 Feb. 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Well this game had the potential to be so much, and the trailer they released looked so good...but it wasn't really that great. I played around 12 hours maybe less and i'm on the last level. Graphics are average (i expected better) and gameplay is repetitive. You can upgrade your characters and give them new weapons but you can almost do that in every game now. It's a plain hack and slash game, so if you like those mindless sort of things go for it, because it doesn't require much brain power or strategy. Having played EVERY lord of the rings game i thought this should have been at the top but found it closer to the bottom with the third ages still in the lead. I had problems with glitchyness and lagging too which made me want to hack and slash myself. I wouldn't bother with this one folks, perhaps if it goes down in price but don't spend anymore than £15 on this one. Three stars is being generous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lord of the rings, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
great game!,amazingly high graphics through the whole game abosulty breath taking!,and good story line!,fighting in the north in the pursuit for agundower,while the main war in the south counties,gaming has completed differentiated playing levels to suit you!.the amour is amazing everything is 100% custom, and so sick being able to play with your mates! on online multi player or just play someone random!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fun but a little too short, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The game is centred on a map. This is somewhat deceiving and, ultimately, disappointing in that you only play a small proportion of it. Admittedly, the clue is in the title but why show vast swathes of land that you're not going to venture into?

I enjoyed the game but felt the ending came unexpectedly and abruptly. Further expansion would be very welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War in the North, 26 Nov. 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great game, very fun to play. Good graphics, and killing the enemy is single player is actually fun, something which has been lacking in many action games of this sort.
The makers of this game combined a small bit of rpg with a great storyline and exciting battles with the enemy to create the best LOTR game ever, although there isn't much competition really.
You will be able to pick up the game easily, and the combination of ranged attacks (which all 3 classes have a form of), and melee attacks and magic makes the game interesting.
Only con is that prior the game they said it was one of those games where you can just wonder about the maps. Its not really, as your hindered by the inability to jump so after killing thousands of Sauron's minions you get done in by a 2 ft. wall. (Not really, but this does restrict where you can go)

Great Game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bad game, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
cheaper than steam, (or i think it was on sale or something?) however the game itself was very spam basic auto attack until you can use an ability, there's no tactic or thought past that. you just hit the enemy, no interesting game mechanics. no new take on inventory/rpg loot systems, you get better loot as you progress so you fiddle with that a lot. story line doesn't even make sense, because one of those birds (that everyone makes the joke that frodo could of just flew into mount doom or even just the ring) can talk, so why in the hell are these people talking to a friendly bird, and not getting a lift over most of the stuff involved. why does the bird talk? i gave up very soon after this. also waiting on the bird cooldown to destroy buildings is extremely tedious, kill all enemies on a zone, wait on the bird for ages to fly down get 1/4 towers then 20s later 2/4, just let me leave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Arrived earlier than expected and a very easy game to navigate your way through. Will distract you from more important work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun co-op game, 16 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I bought this game for my wife and I after it was recommended by a friend at work. I loved playing Warcraft, Oblivion, Skyrim and Morrowind. We are on the last chapter on our first co-op play through.

Whats good

The combat - it is great fun. You have to connect with your sword, block, roll, time your big hits and aim with your missiles. You also have to predict the enemy moves and adapt your strategy accordingly. You can chop limbs and heads off in a very realistic way, or if your unlucky have your own head bitten off by a troll. There is no auto targeting like in warcraft, there is co-op play and hitting your enemies feels realistic, both of which were missing from Skyrim.

The Graphics - The world is beautifully rendered, the monsters are realistic.

The Progresion - This is well done and draws you into the game. The talents are fun to use.

Whats not so good

The interface - you can't compare what you have on at present with gear in shops or when your choosing a reward. Sometimes the reward bugs out and gives you the wrong choice

The length - It seams like the story is over too soon. maybe that's a factor of the enjoyment levels.

it's on rails - there is not much exploration - then again you don't ever end up lost

bugs - occasionally when we return to an instance from Rivendell I go back to the start and the rest of the party is properly teleported to were they left off. There can be blocks around some of the items

Overall this is a great fun game. Best played co-operatively but great fun solo. I have bought 3 copies now and persuaded a friend to play to. He's loving it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty for LOTR fans to enjoy here, 5 Dec. 2012
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
They sing songs about Frodo and Gandalf and that lot, but guess who was protecting their flank and fighting the battles of the north during that time? A man, an elf, and a dwarf - with help from the Great Eagles. Surely that's a story that deserves telling. There's your premise for Lord of the Rings: War in the North, a rather visually appealing cinematic experience with plenty of bloodshed and limited gore, somewhat uneven difficulty, and lots and lots of talking. There's a lot of dialogue between each chapter, but you do have a couple of options. The first time through, I wanted to explore all of the dialogue I could with as many characters as possible, but you can choose to stick solely to the choices driving the story. As for the look of the game, I found it rather visually stunning at times and completely fluid throughout. Combat isn't bad either, especially the slow motion killing blows that oftentimes send heads or various limbs flying.

You take on the role of dwarf, elf, or man, and you can switch characters as you go along. I found it easiest to play the Dúnedain ranger the first time through, then I switched to the dwarf for Heroic mode. Of course, having a friend or two alongside you to team up together is probably a lot of fun, but I only played single player mode - where my comrades sometimes served as pretty weak links. You can be tearing through a whole party of goblins and trolls, but you're usually screwed if your comrades both fall in battle - having to go heal one or both of them during a fight can get annoying (and usually leads to your own death). Along with their unique fighting skills, though, different characters also introduce a few different secondary story elements, thus making the game less monotonous on replay. Either way, though, the main storyline is quite linear. Your mission begins as a means to keep Sauron's forces - under the command of an evil Black Númenórean named Agandaūr - busy in the north and away from the Fellowship as it makes its way to Mordor with the one ring. As you fight your way across the region all the way to the dark citadel of Carn Dūm, you'll encounter goblins, orcs, trolls, sorcerers, the legendary Spider-Queen, a stone-giant, and even a dragon. You'll discover and help defend a lost band of Longbeard dwarves, take in the sights of Rivendell, make friends and allies of the Great Eagles (Beleram is easily the best character in the game), and even get to meet the members of the Fellowship as well as Bilbo Baggins.

Gameplay is all about hacking and slashing, really, with swords, axes, staffs, crossbows, elfin bows and the like. Most of the time, the battles aren't that difficult, even at heroic level, but a couple of bosses and the defense of the dwarf stronghold of Nordinbad can be pretty frustrating and require multiple replays. Disappointingly, the final confrontation with Agandaūr actually makes for one of the easier boss fights. Another disappointing aspect of the game is its length. I can't really say the game is too short, but it definitely could be longer. Even a less than competitive gamer such as myself can easily play through the entire game in two or three nights. Still, you can access different story elements and up the challenge by playing the game through again at the next level with a different character. In the end, the game's not going to blow you away, but I found it pretty darn fun to play. It should definitely appeal to the vast majority of LOTR fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD)
Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) by Warner Bros. Interactive (Windows 2000 / Vista / XP)
£7.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews