Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised me.
I was sceptical of buying this. Most lord of the rings games have never lived up to expectation, and when I saw that this was 14th in the game chart on it's release, I feared it would be another one of those poorly made games. I was pleasantly surprised.. RPG Based, picking up new items, gearing your character with strong armour, a leveling system which can improve...
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by S. A. Rutter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment really
Well this game had the potential to be so much, and the trailer they released looked so good...but it wasn't really that great. I played around 12 hours maybe less and i'm on the last level. Graphics are average (i expected better) and gameplay is repetitive. You can upgrade your characters and give them new weapons but you can almost do that in every game now. It's a...
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by Little hobbit boy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised me., 25 Nov 2011
By 
S. A. Rutter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I was sceptical of buying this. Most lord of the rings games have never lived up to expectation, and when I saw that this was 14th in the game chart on it's release, I feared it would be another one of those poorly made games. I was pleasantly surprised.. RPG Based, picking up new items, gearing your character with strong armour, a leveling system which can improve strength, health, dexterity etc.

Pros :
- Decent visuals, I like the fact it's been made more gorey unlike the film and previous games, where it's been toned down for the younger public.
- Easy controls, I was worried on the PC it'd be a little fiddly to use, but it's very straight forward and simple.
- Nice combinations in your attacks, a leveling system where you can upgrade skills, weapons, armour.

Cons :
- No create a character mode, You have to choose from 3 pre-made characters which is a little disappointing.
- Though it has an intriguing multiplayer system, where you can play with 2 others on your file.. I tried on numerous occasions to find a game, and it failed all the time. I'm not sure whether servers are down, or just because nobody has bought this. But it was a little disappointing.

All in all though, I think it's a solid hack n slash/ Rpg combination. I'd reccomend this to Hack n Slashers, or general lord of the rings fans. Places like prancing pony and Rivendell are captured extremely well. A great sigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have been waiting for this kind of game for 10 years. Highly recommended, 25 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have never been very fond of those role playing games where the fighting feels too "pre-programmed", like Final Fantasy often does: Where the fighting is only about pointing and clicking, and then watching a video unfold. You might as well watch a movie instead of playing rpg's like that in my opinion. However, I LOVE the rpg's where the fighting feels the same way it does in action adventure games like Zelda. And if you feel the same way as me you are going to enjoy this game, to say the least. This is a great mix of sword-/ axe-fighting, role-playing by talking to all kinds of creatures in the most civilized way, and exploring a visually stunning Middle-Earth. You might say that this game IS what "lotr: the third age" tried to be.

I generally prefer videogames from a familiar franchise, and especially if the franchise goes even beyond just videogames, like lotr. This is the ultimate LOTR-game so far, and the gameplay is so good it would have been fantastic even if it wasn't for the LOTR-license. The role playing game "Vampire: The Masquerade - Redemption" from 2000 is the game I have played before that reminds me the most of this, and i happened to like Vampire: The Masquerade - Redemption very much. Like in Vampire: The Masquerade - Redemption you travel around with two companions and you can swap the character you play any time. You can choose between a dwarf, an elf and a ranger.

I would say this game is 50% rpg and 50% zelda-style action adventure game because the combat is very arcade-like, and i like that in rpg-games. You use "wasd" and mouse to move around. Like any other rpg-game it is also about collecting experience-points, upgrading gear, buying and selling items. You can even customize the appearance (face, hair etc.) of the three characters. And it's all set in the lotr-universe so it doesn't get much better than this in my opinion. The story and many of the characters here were made especially for this game so it's sort of a lotr-"spin off". Highly recommended. There is nothing like hitting an orc with a "legendary sever" in this great game! This game is truly epic and worthy of the lotr license. Just listen to the name of the chief villain in this game: Agandaūr. Does a name get any cooler than that?

Update: This is actually becoming one of my all time favourite games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fun but a little too short, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The game is centred on a map. This is somewhat deceiving and, ultimately, disappointing in that you only play a small proportion of it. Admittedly, the clue is in the title but why show vast swathes of land that you're not going to venture into?

I enjoyed the game but felt the ending came unexpectedly and abruptly. Further expansion would be very welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lord of the rings, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
great game!,amazingly high graphics through the whole game abosulty breath taking!,and good story line!,fighting in the north in the pursuit for agundower,while the main war in the south counties,gaming has completed differentiated playing levels to suit you!.the amour is amazing everything is 100% custom, and so sick being able to play with your mates! on online multi player or just play someone random!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Arrived earlier than expected and a very easy game to navigate your way through. Will distract you from more important work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War in the North, 26 Nov 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great game, very fun to play. Good graphics, and killing the enemy is single player is actually fun, something which has been lacking in many action games of this sort.
The makers of this game combined a small bit of rpg with a great storyline and exciting battles with the enemy to create the best LOTR game ever, although there isn't much competition really.
You will be able to pick up the game easily, and the combination of ranged attacks (which all 3 classes have a form of), and melee attacks and magic makes the game interesting.
Only con is that prior the game they said it was one of those games where you can just wonder about the maps. Its not really, as your hindered by the inability to jump so after killing thousands of Sauron's minions you get done in by a 2 ft. wall. (Not really, but this does restrict where you can go)

Great Game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment really, 23 Feb 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Well this game had the potential to be so much, and the trailer they released looked so good...but it wasn't really that great. I played around 12 hours maybe less and i'm on the last level. Graphics are average (i expected better) and gameplay is repetitive. You can upgrade your characters and give them new weapons but you can almost do that in every game now. It's a plain hack and slash game, so if you like those mindless sort of things go for it, because it doesn't require much brain power or strategy. Having played EVERY lord of the rings game i thought this should have been at the top but found it closer to the bottom with the third ages still in the lead. I had problems with glitchyness and lagging too which made me want to hack and slash myself. I wouldn't bother with this one folks, perhaps if it goes down in price but don't spend anymore than £15 on this one. Three stars is being generous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Already owned a copy and needed another since the manufacturer was nice enough to strip the split screen coop. This annoyed me as I can't play it with my girlfriend on the TV, one of us has to use a small laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars bad game, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
cheaper than steam, (or i think it was on sale or something?) however the game itself was very spam basic auto attack until you can use an ability, there's no tactic or thought past that. you just hit the enemy, no interesting game mechanics. no new take on inventory/rpg loot systems, you get better loot as you progress so you fiddle with that a lot. story line doesn't even make sense, because one of those birds (that everyone makes the joke that frodo could of just flew into mount doom or even just the ring) can talk, so why in the hell are these people talking to a friendly bird, and not getting a lift over most of the stuff involved. why does the bird talk? i gave up very soon after this. also waiting on the bird cooldown to destroy buildings is extremely tedious, kill all enemies on a zone, wait on the bird for ages to fly down get 1/4 towers then 20s later 2/4, just let me leave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great service, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
the service was fantastic.has for the game well that another matter.cant seem to get into it at all.dont get me wrong it looks well done and looks fantastic.not sure it was right for me though.just personal taste I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD)
Lord of the Rings: War in the North (PC DVD) by Warner Bros. Interactive (Windows 2000 / Vista / XP)
£4.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews