Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traffic Trio At Their Creative Best
This album found the Traffic trio of Winwood, Capaldi and Wood at their creative best and represents a peak in their musicianship as three players whose chemistry really found it's collective muse here post their initial disbandment. For me, not only is this one of the best albums of it's era but it's one of the best of any era.The re-mastering on the first disc of the...
Published on 3 Mar 2011 by Garry B Grove

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The Traffic I Had Expected!
I understand that Traffic had disbanded in the late 1960s, however Steve Winwood had got them back together for John Barleycorn Must Die which was released in 1970.
This is a much more jazz like experiance than I had expected, although the title track is folk music at it's best,similar to Fairport Convention.
So not everyone's cup of tea, if in doubt you could...
Published on 25 Mar 2011 by J. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars good cd, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very pleased with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barleycorn mustn't die, 5 Jun 2011
By 
C. R. Davis "Christian Davis" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good to hear this again. Some regard it as Traffic's best but, personally I prefer the rawness of Mr Fantasy and the much overlooked second album. Not overly impressed with the second, bonus CD but it is there to make people like me buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 3 May 2013
By 
Mr. Clifton Jones (Matlock, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only debate on this on is whether this or 'Low Spark' is the best Traffic album. Steve Winwood at his finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANCE, 28 Aug 2011
I saw them debut this at Mothers in Erdington. This remains my most played album of all time. And to put that in context, I love The Beatles. RIP Chris and Jim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The Traffic I Had Expected!, 25 Mar 2011
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I understand that Traffic had disbanded in the late 1960s, however Steve Winwood had got them back together for John Barleycorn Must Die which was released in 1970.
This is a much more jazz like experiance than I had expected, although the title track is folk music at it's best,similar to Fairport Convention.
So not everyone's cup of tea, if in doubt you could try before you buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grumpy old git, 28 Sep 2012
By 
Geoffrey Parkes (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How is this a deluxe edition. Another case of the record companies squeezing our lemons until our pips squeak. I loved this album, still do, but will be damned if I will pay £12 for it. over the years I have owned this Album in all its formats (vinyl, cassette etc.). Give me the original album at a reasonable price and I will buy it, "John Barleycorn Must Die" deserves 6 stars but not in this format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Here Come The Seventies, 28 Aug 2009
By 
scoon2 "scoon2" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Well Steve Winwood reaches the 1970s.
There's some jazzy bits.
There's some folky tracks as well and, while there's no denying the talents of those involved, this has not aged all that well.
Maybe you had to have been around at the time to fully appreciate it. Steve Winwood's voice is always great to listen to but some of the sax playing tends to cloy.
I think the whole jazz rock sound on it is curiously old fashioned.
It's not bad really, I just found it hard to love in a lot of ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ... song for alot of money the rest was purrrrrrrrrrrre crap, 16 July 2014
By 
Mr. D. Hyde "dave hyde" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well were do i start the whole album would of been torcher if i was deaf absolotly rubesh i would throgh it in the bin but the song jhon barlecorn is superb so will say iv bought one song for alot of money the rest was purrrrrrrrrrrre crap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic, 15 Oct 2003
One of the greatest albums of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Gary G (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took a punt on this after hearing the title track 'John Barleycorn Must Die'. I love this very folky track and, without having done my homework, assumed the rest of the album would be similar in style. Nope. It's a prog-y, jazzy, poppy catastrophe with one great track inserted.

I should've done more research before taking the plunge. Not for me at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews