Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and fun
What a fantastic, fascinating, uplifting book!

I had no idea that people from Britain were behind so many amazing inventions, discoveries and 'world firsts'. Everything from the chocolate bar and champagne to cures for diseases and huge technological advances.

Unlike similar history-type books, which are often worthy and wordy, So That's Why They...
Published on 16 Jun. 2009 by susie

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not at all a recommended book!
The author does not cover England, but only the counties he likes, the book could have been half the length,and still be too long!
Published 11 months ago by David Whittall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and fun, 16 Jun. 2009
By 
susie (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
What a fantastic, fascinating, uplifting book!

I had no idea that people from Britain were behind so many amazing inventions, discoveries and 'world firsts'. Everything from the chocolate bar and champagne to cures for diseases and huge technological advances.

Unlike similar history-type books, which are often worthy and wordy, So That's Why They Call it Great Britain is a clear, succinct and really easy read. It's a great book to dip into when you have a spare moment. I did the random page test and found that you could open it virtually anywhere and find out at least one interesting fact.

Along with Bill Bryson's brilliant A Short History of Nearly Everything it should be on the national curriculum.

A great present for the know-it-all in your family (I've since bought a copy for my brother-in-law)or for you to buy yourself so you can sound really knowledgeable at the next pub quiz.

In these gloomy economic times it is a great reminder that we were behind some of the world's most amazing medical breakthroughs, inventions and discoveries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Recommended!, 18 Jun. 2009
Packed full of interesting and often very amusing stories about the men and women who have made Britain 'Great', from the heroic Antarctic explorers to the man who first descovered Ibuprofen could cure a hangover! Set out alphabetically in bite sized chunks, it's great for opening up at a random page and reading a couple of entries.

I read some of them out to my children and found myself frequently wondering why they don't learn more at school about our Country's incredible achievements. Having said that, there was absolutely loads of stuff I didn't know about either. It's very well researched and makes you want to try and find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 30 July 2009
There is a saying "An educated person should know everything about something & something about everything." This excellent book enables people to find out about the achievements of British people throughout the centuries & take pride in this country that is rightly called Great Britain. Steve Pope is a brilliant writer & has amassed an enormous amount of interesting information. this book should be in every home, school & library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for a present!, 23 July 2009
By 
Justin Havens - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this book might be a bit pedestrian, but it is packed with loads of really interesting information and stories.....such as the english guy who came up with the idea for an ipod but failed to patent it.

Easy to read and dip into, it's a definite winner in my books ('scuse the pun!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing facts, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So That's Why They Call it Great Britain: How One Tiny Country Gave So Much to the World (Kindle Edition)
Some amazing facts that I, for one, was never taught at school. Life at history class would have been far more interesting if some or all of these facts had been included or even mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better books, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So That's Why They Call it Great Britain: How One Tiny Country Gave So Much to the World (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't very good at history at school (many,many years ago, but have always liked it.

This book is worth reading for the history and for the little snippets of information you probably weren't taught in your history lessons ( I wasn't)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative!, 18 July 2013
By 
Rhonda Woodfine "Sunset Vampyre" (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great little book filled with such interesting information that I couldn't put it down! I highly recommend it - you will be starting every conversation with, "Did you know......."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So That's Why They Call it Great Britain: How One Tiny Country Gave So Much to the World (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It repeatedly surprised me who invented what, especially some of the locals in my area. Well worth reading - thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 15 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So That's Why They Call it Great Britain: How One Tiny Country Gave So Much to the World (Kindle Edition)
This book is entertaining, frequently funny, and informative. You don't need to be a chauvinistic nationalist to enjoy it, all you need is a gentle affection for Britain and her achievements. The tongue in cheek style and lack of pomposity make it a fun read. But you have to be the sort of person who is interested in history and finding out facts, so 4 stars not 5. Following our success at the Olympics, should there be an addendum?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 25 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So That's Why They Call it Great Britain: How One Tiny Country Gave So Much to the World (Kindle Edition)
Interestin and infomative book well written. Gives a general overview of British inventions and discoveries from way back until present day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews