Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a typical Regency romance but still wonderful
This was never one of my favourite Heyer's when I first started reading her books, probably because I was looking for romance, and in this book that element very much takes a back seat. I re-read it recently on holiday however and really enjoyed it for completely different reasons. The story mainly focuses on Gilly (the Duke of Sale) who is fed up with being molly...
Published on 22 Aug 2008 by CJ

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A first for me
I LOVE Georgette Heyer. I buy them in the certain knowledge that I will enjoy and it will be a little frothy adventure that will be easy to read. However, I got so irritated by the 'hero' in this one that I lost interest and didn't finish it. Shame.
Published 10 months ago by Dawn Spencer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a typical Regency romance but still wonderful, 22 Aug 2008
By 
CJ (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Foundling (Paperback)
This was never one of my favourite Heyer's when I first started reading her books, probably because I was looking for romance, and in this book that element very much takes a back seat. I re-read it recently on holiday however and really enjoyed it for completely different reasons. The story mainly focuses on Gilly (the Duke of Sale) who is fed up with being molly coddled by his many doting retainers and protective relatives. Our hero is far from your traditional tall, dark and handsome alpha heros but is 'below average height', slightly delicate and very gentle with a 'sweet disposition'. He is reluctant to hurt the feelings of those who have his interests so much at heart but is totally fed up with being thwarted every time he tries to assert himself by all the well-meaning busy bodies who surround him. He decides he'd like to see what it's like to be just plain Mr Dash from Nowhere and his cousin Matthew gives him the opportunity. Matthew has become entangled with a very dodgy character who claims to be the guardian of the blindingly beautiful but extremely dim-witted Belinda (the Foundling of the title). The adventures Gilly encounters as plain Mr Rufford are what makes this book so charming and so enjoyable. He becomes involved with a runaway school boy, various colourful rogues, highway men and inn-keepers, he gets captured, escapes and manages to fend for himself very well in the end. As usual there is loads of wonderful detail and plenty of funny moments. They wind up in Bath where Gilly enlists the help of his betrothed (who he proposes to at the beginning of the book at the suggestion of his uncle who has virtually arranged the match). His Harriet is the perfect match for him, shy and gentle but with a strong core and the whole muddled, complicated plot comes out happily in the end. Of course. If you are looking for passionate romance this is not for you but if you love Heyer, her insights into Regency life, her humour and originality this one is definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book, 4 April 2010
By 
F. Brown (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Foundling (Paperback)
This is one of Georgette Heyer's better books; the plot is really interesting and the end is not immediately obvious. I loved the lead characters, and really the more I think about it, the more I love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a cheerful romp, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Sarah A. Brown (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Foundling (Paperback)
The Foundling lacks Heyer's usual faultless narrative drive, I feel, but it is still a very engaging story. Gilly is perhaps Heyer's most feminised hero - he is small, rather delicate and compliant. In fact he is more 'feminine' in some ways than most of her heroines! Romance plays second fiddle to adventure and intrigue in many of Heyer's Regencies but here it is particularly understated. In some ways Gilly's most charged and intense relationship appears to be, not with Harriet, but with his dashing cousin Gideon. The relationship between them is reminiscent of the relationships between Heyer's more conventionally masculine and sardonic heroes and her sprightly, slightly rebellious young heroines. Gilly's development from a shy and uncertain youth to a more self reliant and confident young man who can stand on his own two feet is very satisfying - and, as is usual with Heyer's novels - minor characters provide some delightfully absurd humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure and (a little) romance, 6 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Foundling (Paperback)
This is a fabulous Georgette Heyer, full of energy, witty and with a good plot. The romance between The Duke of Sale, a wonderfully unusual quiet and shy hero, and Harriet is understated and not given many pages, but the adventure and characters make up for this. The romance when it happens is also very real and lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book - spoilt by typographical errors, 23 April 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Foundling (Kindle Edition)
Excellent story. Shame that Random House don't take very good care with regard to proof reading. Numerous errors which spoilt the flow of the story somewhat for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less Romance, more excitement, 29 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Foundling (Paperback)
A slightly different Heyer novel. The hero is not the dashing type, but a very young man born to rank and wealth, but with very little confidence in himself.
Through taking on a mission to help out a young cousing who is in trouble, he finds that he can manage very well for himself, and proves to be resourceful and brave under very trying circumstances. The heroine is also a shy young woman, and one feels by the end of the book that they really will live happily (almost all of the time) everafter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Male coming of age., 30 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Foundling (Paperback)
Unusually for a Heyer romance, Foundling centers on a young man who is too timid to ever stand up to his overprotective (and overbearing) guardians who take the shape of uncles, aunts, servants, etc. Starting out to try to help his younger cousin, he goes on a journey to help him discover how to take control of his own life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Georgette Heyer, 3 Nov 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Foundling (Paperback)
As virtually every other Georgette Heyer book - this was brilliant. Light, witty and a pleasant escape from the modern world. If you haven't read any Georgette Heyer before, pick one at random and welcome to the Regency world. The conventions of that world are beautifully described, together with heroes and heroines who delightfully do not conform to the strict manners required at the time. We only meet the rich - servants, chambermaids, inn-keepers etc. and the reality of life in England at the time being carefully excluded or alluded to only in so far as they help the plot lines along. The pace of life - very hectic rounds of parties but taking days to get to places such as Bristol or Yorkshire from London - is far removed from the 21st century!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast delivery, 21 Feb 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Foundling (Paperback)
I am very happy with the purchase that i made and I will definetelly recommend to my friend to purchase this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Foundling, 28 Jan 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Foundling (Paperback)
I was so pleased to get this book. It was written by the very best writer of Regency novels and almost completes my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1b604a4)

This product

The Foundling
The Foundling by Georgette Heyer
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews