Customer Reviews


287 Reviews
5 star:
 (177)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera Stanhope - the best so far
Jenny Lister was perfect - a caring mother, a committed and principled social worker and, when DI Vera Stanhope opens the door to the steam room at a fashionable health club, perfectly dead. Vera doesn't believe in perfect people - and she's not that keen on social workers.

The investigation oscillates between the semi-private world of the health club and the...
Published on 1 Feb. 2011 by hbw

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Having never watched the tv series but heard good things about it, decided to try one of the books. This is one of those occasions where the tv is better I think. Don't like the characters, the storyline was boring. Got to the point where I didn't care who done it.
Published 6 months ago by mrs ann tickle


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera Stanhope - the best so far, 1 Feb. 2011
By 
hbw (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jenny Lister was perfect - a caring mother, a committed and principled social worker and, when DI Vera Stanhope opens the door to the steam room at a fashionable health club, perfectly dead. Vera doesn't believe in perfect people - and she's not that keen on social workers.

The investigation oscillates between the semi-private world of the health club and the Tyne Valley village of Barnard Bridge, where Jenny lived. Both communities are hives of gossip, rumour, snobbery and infighting, but is there anything that would justify murder? And is there any connection with the death of six year old Elias Jones, the boy Social Services was supposed to protect?

This is by far the best Vera Stanhope novel to date, with the same strengths and none of the weaknesses. Vera is now well established as the sharp-witted, sharp-tongued detective who is not above using Miss Marple's tactic of a cosy chat over a nice cup of tea ("if you're putting the kettle on, pet"), even if she would prefer whiskey.

Once again, Cleeves maintains a brisk pace, using a well crafted blend of narrative and dialogue. She has a strong sense of place and a feel for the way in which landscape shapes the lives of the inhabitants of England's most sparsely populated county. This is used to dramatic effect in a final race against time when even the forces of nature seem determined to thwart the police as they close in on the killer.

If you haven't read any of the other Vera Stanhope novels, you could do worse than start with "Silent Voices".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Voices, 28 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has been my favourite 'Vera' so far. Wonderfully real characters as usual and no way of guessing whodunnit. The interweaving lives of a small community with the coincidences and chance-meetings are absolutely believable and tantalising. And Vera,a bit more sympathetic in this one I thought, and a bit more appreciative of her team, but not so much that we lose the curmudgeonly reluctance to actually praise them. The usual red herrings of wierdos are cheek-by-jowl with long-buried secrets and skeletons in cupboards, with Vera eventually teasing all the threads into rather a sad conclusion that leaves you thinking about the characters left behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera, a very unorthodox detective, 24 Mar. 2012
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Had I known that this was about missing children it would not have been my choice of reading - a subject I tend to steer clear of. Yet once I had begun reading I was gripped. Vera is a strange woman and a strange detective with many "issues" emanating from her poor relationship with Hector her father and her own guilt and Hector's resentment that she is alive and her mother dead in childbirth. Hector is alongside her most of the time. She is unable to free herself from him and his cruelty with birds especially is a constant recurrence with her. That said her concentration on crime-solving, whilst not totally attentive, brings results with the help of the long-suffering Joe Ashworth. This story opens when Vera, an unlikely member of a gym club, finds the body of Jenny Lister, a social worker. Vera has no time for social workers but becomes involved with another, Connie, and thus begins so many twists and inter-relationships resulting in an unexpected denouement. I just love the way she "pets" everyone. Only someone so non-pc could get away with it. She's lovely. So sad she's never had a man - or a woman. Love has eluded her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another case where a definitive parenting handbook could have saved a lot of problems, 15 Jun. 2012
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Silent Voices (Vera Stanhope Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Ann Cleeves has a fine feel for the dynamics of families and often writes about the consequences of family breakdowns. "Silent Voices" fits into that category--maybe bringing definition to it. Estimable protagonist Vera Stanhope, Detective Inspector in a northern English county, often deals with her own family issues as she dives into a case involving the murder of a social worker who is connected to the much-publicized killing of a child under the supervision of her services office. As DI Stanhope's investigation of the woman's murder broadens, a moderately large cast of walking wounded characters is added to the mix, each with some motive for the crime. A second murder removes one of the suspects, but doesn't immediately resolve the first killing. Resolution eventually comes down to the mysteries and pitfalls of parenthood and their potential for invisible damage to hapless offspring.

This is a deftly written story with characters that outweigh the storyline in importance and interest. The intrepid Vera is onstage virtually every page, and while her own preoccupations with her less than stellar appearance are close to excessive here, her integrity and humanity compensate for the frequent self-absorption. This a good read with only the occasional red herring/false note to annoy fans of the genre. Cleeves is a terrific writer who is definitely up there with the best in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pet, 24 July 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Silent Voices (Vera Stanhope Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I first met Vera Stanhope in the television series, 'Vera', played by Brenda Blethyn. I liked this series annoy because of the bedraggled Vera, who is large and obese, and knows it, and doesn't give a darn. She has her trusted colleagues who follow her ,and who know she is the best detective they will ever work with, even if she is annoying at times.

In this novel, Vera has been told by her new physician she must exercise or some unwanted, awful thing will befall her. She knows it is the right thing to do and joins an exercise club. She swims, and on this day decides to have a steam bath. Instead she finds a dead woman in the steam bath, and her new case begins. The woman, a social worker, has led somewhat of an exemplary life, but there are many other characters who knew her who have unsavory pasts or things to hide.

I like Ann Cleeves writing, the characters come to life and are very believable. . Vera seems to be able to run her investigation as she pleases, which does not seem to be the real life of a detective. Vera is very clever, she knows how to get under the skin of the people she talks to, and she knows when to be kind and motherly. She calls everyone, Pet, which conveys several meanings, and you have to be able to pick the one that fits the situation. The conclusion is smartly done, and since much of Vera's life revolves around food, the final chapter is at the Inn where thevmurder took place in the dining room. Vera and her colleagues celebrate their good choices.

Recommended. prisrob 07-24-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Voices (Vera Stanhope Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Having never watched the tv series but heard good things about it, decided to try one of the books. This is one of those occasions where the tv is better I think. Don't like the characters, the storyline was boring. Got to the point where I didn't care who done it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera, 6 Jun. 2011
By 
Ms. Wk Kelsall (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic new novel from Ann Cleeves. Really love Vera, I had read all the Ann Cleeves novels before they were televised and really enjoyed them all, not just the 'Vera' ones. Keep writing Ms Cleeves, I am ready for the next one and thank you.

Wendy K
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunites, 14 Oct. 2014
By 
RT Twinem "freeloader" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Voices (Vera Stanhope Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Inspector Vera Stanhope is played to perfection in the TV series by the wonderful Brenda Blethyn and thus I was interested in reading this book when offered on the kindle daily deal. Vera is not like other detectives who tend to have affairs and problem home lives. By her own admission she is large and shambolic with bare legs and blotchy skin and never wears makeup. There is a comical, even touching scene when Vera interiews the main suspect in the murder of social worker Jenny Lister, and there is a stirring of lust within her...."He smiled again and sat on the floor facing them. The movement was fluid, very graceful, and it came to Vera, unbidden, that he'd be very good at sex. The physical stuff. Was that part of his attraction? She felt a moment of panic, of the old regret that time was slipping past. Then something close to lust."

The story however is somewhat stilted and apart from this wonderful portrayal we are reduced to chapter upon chapter of police procedural as the team gathers together suspects in an attempt to find not only the murder of Jenny Lister but teenager Danny. DI Stanhope is helped in her investigation by Sergeant Joe Asquith a colleague she is jealous of with his settled home life and trendy "Ikea" furniture.

I believe this story would have been more attractive if greater attention had been paid to the unravelling of the main characters and their flaws together with a better use of the setting...the beautiful rugged Northumbrian coast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly engrossing read., 12 July 2014
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
First Sentence: Vera swam slowly.

It’s not every day a police inspector finds a dead body sharing a sauna with her in a hotel health club, especially when that body is of a murder victim. Vera and her team work to find a killer in a village filled with people, and their secrets.

From the very first paragraph, one is caught up in the author’s voice; her dry humor and the character. By the end of the first chapter, on is also caught up in the story.

There is so much one could say about the characters, particularly Vera. How nice it is to have a female protagonist such as Vera. She’s a mature woman, overweight and unconcerned about her appearance—except, not totally unconcerned. She does care about being fair to her team, knows what motivates each of them, and is a very good leader; even though she drives them hard. She’s respected by her colleagues, even when they frustrate her. The relationship she has with Joe, her sergeant, is an interesting one…”Sometimes Vera though he represented her feminine side. He had the empathy, she had the muscle. Well, the bulk.” Even with the suspects, she doesn’t just investigate clues, but motivations; what makes people do what they do, what drives them.

Cleeves has a very interesting style. Although the story is told in 3rd person, when she focuses on Vera, it switches somewhat to first person as we gain insight on her life and character through an internal monologue and her observations…”These days, people expected senior female officers to walk straight out of “Prime Suspect.”

There is a very strong sense of place and wonderful descriptions. Particularly appealing is the contrast between the town and the desolation of Vera’s home. It’s very much part of her character.

Although the story is character driven, it certainly doesn’t lack for plot or suspense. We’re given plenty of characters with motives, nice red herrings and plot twists. “Vera” is currently a television series done by British ITV, and very well done it is. The only way I knew the villain in the book was having seen the episode. Otherwise, it really wasn’t obvious.

“Silent Voices” is a thoroughly engrossing read. It’s not a book you’ll put down and come back to later. Cleeves is a wonderful author who should be much better known to American readers.

SILENT VOICES (Pol. Proc-Det. Insp. Vera Stanhope-England-Contemp) – VG+
Cleeves, Ann – 1st in series
A Thomas Dunne Book for Minotaur Books, 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 25 April 2014
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Voices (Vera Stanhope Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Over the two books I've read featuring Vera Stanhope, I've become quite fond of the character. Middle aged, overweight, likes a drink, occasionally curmudgeonly, sartorially challenged and a discerning eye for a younger man, she's the antithesis of so many of her male counterparts in crime thriller series. Although she often seems slightly out of step, there's a comfortable feel about her. The apparently shambolic appearance and attitude hides a razor sharp mind and acute psychological insight which takes the reader through every twist and turn of the plot.

Vera discovers a social worker's body at the local health spa. She was involved with a case where a child was murdered. The finger of suspicion swings back and forth; Anne Cleeves is adept at both dropping clues and throwing in red herrings. A diverse range of characters could have opportunity and motive. Characterisation is excellent and I felt as if I were sitting in on the interviews and discussions as the story both develops and unfolds.

Part of the joy of these stories is the apparent simplicity. They seem to roll along what could be a dull investigative route. In fact, there's a lot going on, all character driven and there is insight and perception in the telling. People are the main players; their troubles, aspirations, motivations and shortcomings are carefully built up and dissected as the tale progresses. I'm looking forward to reading further books in this series. Very different to the Shetland books, equally enjoyable and, for me, will remain unsullied by TV adaptations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Voices (Vera Stanhope Book 4)
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews