Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book
Another of my favourite Heyers along with Frederica. Such an unlikely couple at the outset (just like Alverstoke and Frederica) Sylvester and Phoebe's love for each other at the end is therefore even more touching. The plot is wonderful, varied, entertaining. We go from country house, snow-bound inn, society London, the Channel, France and back to London. The period...
Published on 7 Oct 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story less than satisfactory audiobook
This is a wonderful story. I would by far prefer it to be unabridged but at least it hasn't been badly abridged.

The disappointments for me are the unwanted bursts of music - why do audiobook publishers feel that Regency novels need the addition of music?? Do they not realise how irritating it is to gently fall asleep listening to an audiobook only to be woken...
Published on 1 July 2012 by Trio Ross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvester (Kindle Edition)
As ever I loved this sparkling glimpse into Regency romance.
Ms Georgette Heyer's small children are always a true delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sylvester, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvester (Kindle Edition)
I love her books. I can always be sure of an entertaining read. Sylvester is a delightful story. I have read this one many times over the years and still enjoy it just as much as the first time. A humorous, light , clean delightful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 10 Mar 2014
By 
G. E. Penny - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet again , Richard Armitage reading the Georgette Heyer novel.
Rich wonderful voice that read each character to the full.
Amazing to listen to.
His voice was warm, but also made me laugh.
That is a true reading for an audiobook, when you can believe the characters via the reader.
Hope he will do many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wicked Romance, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvester (Kindle Edition)
A true Georgette Heyer romance, with plots and sub plots and written with a wicked sense of humour. It makes you smile and lights up a difficult day or dull weather. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 31 Dec 2013
By 
D. Jameson "the huntress" (cumbria uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvester (Paperback)
bought this for my sister who has nearly read all her books and also collected nearly all.. she loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it all, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was concerned about the music - but the overall experience of music and a lovely reading voice overcame
my worries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvester (Kindle Edition)
It was wonderful georgette hayer at her best full of old fashion romance just what this world is missing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvester (Kindle Edition)
Georgette Heyer's books do not disappoint and this one certainly is very enjoyable. A real escape from ordinary day stresses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Made me laugh out loud, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not a huge Georgette Heyer fan but a great piece of story telling by Richard Armitage and I'm beginning to reevaluate my opinion of her work. RA's comedic timing is superb so much so that at one point I laughed out loud. I enjoyed this so much that as soon as I finished it I listened to it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a plain brown mouse wins a handsome duke - hilarious comedy with a great romance, 6 Aug 2013
This review is from: Sylvester (Kindle Edition)
this story doesn't follow the pattern of most GH novels which features beautiful heroines. I love the fact that our heroine is a witty but non-ravishing member of the ton. She has the family credentials but isn't the beauty one would expect to snare a duke. However, GH puts forward a great romance with excellent comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sylvester
Sylvester by Georgette Heyer
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews