Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hustlers of pool and life, 16 Feb 2006
By 
Carlos Vazquez Quintana "cvq" (Linares- Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hustler [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
Fast Eddie Felson is the best gambler in American billiard. He’s a pool hustler but that’s only for pure need and survival. Instead, there’s Bert Gordon played by George C Scott, who really is another hustler, much more dangerous as he gambles over the lives of other people. Bert is a rich but destructive businessman as he invests over the talent of other people, as he envies the ability of these persons. Eddie is one of these people, as he’s at last an artist of the sub- world of billiard. When Eddie feels he has played good he feels in heaven, but truly, few people understands him. People who surrounds Eddie only want money, but Eddie wants glory.
But he can’t reach glory only supported by his narrowminded, short sight and modest financial mate, superbly played by Myron McCormick And so, only three people understands Eddie: one is Sarah, a tormented neurotic and lonely girl without love. Sarah, a sensible person, has the intuition Bert Gordon is a cruel man who likes to destroy people which has capacities he’s unable to attain. The third person is paradoxically Minnesota Fats, the other most extraordinary player of pool, and the most hard adversary of Eddie, but truly a loyal enemy, mostly a colleague. All that in a dramatic, even tragic but quiet mood and superb black& white photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hustler (1961), 7 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hustler [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If it was perceived by the critical fraternity that Paul Newman was more impressive in The Colour of Money, The Hustler's sequel, then a great travesty has been done. Coupled of course with the loss of this film, in the best picture stakes, to West-Side Story.

The Hustler was Robert Rossen's cinematic masterpiece, and for all the stylistics and photography employed, it is the contest of pool talent over self-assurance that makes the lasting impression. Newman sneers, barks and grins his way through a consistently impressive script with deadbeat conviction, all the while teetering on the brink of Rossen's stark landscapes, and infinitely cynical world.

Newman is at times breathtaking as 'Fast' Eddy Felson, a young and talented pool hustler in search of the holy-grail, the legendary Minnesota Fats. He plays a hustler with aplomb, he roars anger and he whimpers in defeat.

A strong supporting performance from Piper Laurie, adds a romantic interest, and ultimately highlights the importance of love over the all-mighty dollar. George C. Scott impresses as a sociopath gambling-addict, and yet somehow Newman is the only one you see. Piper Laurie's melodramatic character traits threaten to upstage, but it's Newman all the way.

Jammed full of quotable lines, this film sometimes risks losing itself in the moment, but it is the very excellent script, and Newman's performance as one of the greatest anti-heroes to date, that sets this aside as one of the greatest post-noir achievements of our times. Whatever you think of West-Side Story there is no denying the more enduring of the two, or indeed the more affecting. Whatever you think of West Side Story, this is glorious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul Newman at his best ( as ever!! ), 2 Feb 2004
By 
J. C. Eames "Winston" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hustler [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film. Paul Newman is one of my favourite actors, after seeing 'Cool Hand Luke' I was hooked. His presence on screen is bedazzling and although he did eventually win an Oscar I still feel he is somewhat underrated. Another film which I would recommend with Paul Newman in is "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid".
During my earlier years I was somewhat of a pool fanatic and frequently visited the nearest pool table to me. The film came on late night television and I was late getting up the next day but it was oh so worth it! This is what lead me to searching out a copy of my very own. The acting is superb, almost enigmatic of Paul Newman, the story brilliant and moving, the pool is awe inspiring and the DVD is not bad at all either. With a few extras including a demonstration of all the trick shots used in the film, performed by the world trick shot champion, this is not one to be missed. The semi true story of Fast Eddie Felson is essential viewing for any fan of the green baize and a great film besides. Well worth the money and I'm sure a worthy addition to anyone's DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Then and now, 2 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. J. Cook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hustler [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
American films now are routinely full of violence and swearing (though curiously never all that much sex) but are at heart almost invariably juvenile, soft-headed and sentimental. I was shocked by this film - which contains one "Bastard!" and some off-screen violence portrayed by means of a scream - because of the brutal adult honesty of the dialogue and the tough bleak view of human existence. Paul Newman is mesmerising, a great actor and a true star; the histrionics of Damon, Di Caprio, Pitt etc laughable by comparison. George C Scott is maybe even a shade better. The film lets the viewer inhabit a world he wouldn't otherwise know: the seedy smoke-filled pool rooms, gambling tables, bars of a nameless American city. It's not the glossy - and now so often CGI-d - fantasy world that American film has shown ever since I've been old enough to go to the cinema. And the pool itself is truly exciting: the exquisite editing never lets you forget the battle of wills behind every shot. For me it's the first masterpiece of that great age of American cinema that reached its height in the `70s and as iconic a representation of American life at mid-century as `Death of a Salesman'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book & DVD, 5 Sep 2007
By 
Steven R. Mirante "stemir2004" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ordered the Book & DVD combo. Great price and great idea. How many times have you seen a movie based on a book and wanted to read the book to see if it was better than the film? For less than the price of the book alone you can get both the book and the movie based on it. Even though I'm in the states, I can play region 2 dvd's on a region free dvd player and save a lot of money ordering them from amazon.co.uk.
Cheers from the US!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better on bluray, 23 Oct 2013
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hustler [Blu-ray] [1961] (Blu-ray)
I've watched the film twice since I bought the bluray, because firstly its a great film anyway, and secondly on bluray it looks stunning. The black and white photography looks like it was filmed yesterday rather than 52 years ago.

The cast are superb with Paul Newman and the leading actress (whose name escapes me) giving great performances, ably supported by George C Scott who plays the agent/promotor/manager. As somebody else in another review said the film isn't really about Pool. In fact large chunks of it are in the realm of kitchen sink drama, and thats no bad thing as it contrasts starkly with the Pool room scenes.

The film is in 2.35:1 ratio and the extras, which I watched some months ago are pretty good. But the main reason to get this is the bluray transfer, which, for a film of this age is one of the best I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best, 23 Nov 2013
By 
W. Rodick (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hustler [Blu-ray] [1961] (Blu-ray)
I've had the Special Edition dvd for quite some time now. A perfect recording of the widescreen BBC broadcast. Or so I thought. Even upscaled the movie is grainy when projected large screen. This blu-ray is immaculate monochrome.

As I was watching it I was struck by just how intimate the movie is. Conversations in bed, over dinner, resting on a bar, leaning against a pool table: the faces are this movie. The dialogue still hits home as a philosophical treatise.

But on this viewing age was the 9 ball corner pocket. Charlie's age. 'Get old and die' Fast Eddie Felson tells his partner, his fellow con-man. It's only recently that I've begun to ponder the abyss that comes after life. Only age brings that perspective. The Hustler is about youth. And being a man. Finding yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...One Ball...Corner Pocket...", 1 Mar 2012
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hustler [Blu-ray] [1961] (Blu-ray)
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2011 BLU RAY REISSUE - UK Standard Issue and the US 'Book Pack' Version ***

Back in the mists of 2008 - I reviewed the 1951 Sci-Fi classic "The Day The Earth Stood Still" and the UK-Only DVD series it belonged to - 20th Century Fox's "Cinema Reserve" series (type in Barcode 5039036025935 into the search bar above and you'll get the review). "The Hustler" was Number 10 in that series (Barcode 5039036028455). I actually collected all 17 of those titles in their fetching numbered steel tins before Blu Ray saw the series off. And of the lot - this 1961 black and white gem starring Paul Newman and Jackie Gleeson had by far the most immaculate print.

Well - I'm glad to say that the BLU RAY reissue of "The Hustler" is the same - obviously using the same restored elements. The print on here is TRULY GORGEOUS and adds hugely to your enjoyment of the dingy smoke-filled poolrooms and dodgy characters therein. And the copious amount of extras that accompanied the original DVD release are all here too.

The only real downside is that the US version (again on 20th Century Fox) is in a beautifully done 'book digipak' (non-region coded so it will play on all players). You can buy it as a separate entry - but it's almost double the cost. Shame the UK issue wasn't given the same luxury presentation (it comes in a standard plastic clip case).

To sum up - if you just want a basic version then the UK issue at just over seven quid will do.
But if you want "The Hustler" in its best form (and looking luxurious too) - then pay up more and plumb for the US 'book' version.

It's highly recommended either way...

---------------------------------------------------------------

PS: 20th Century Fox's "Cinema Reserve" Series was originally released in the UK only on DVD between 2006 and 2007.
Each was in specialist 'steel tin' sets. Numbered on the spine - "The Hustler" was part of that series.
Here is the full list in alphabetical order:

1. Number 003: All About Eve (1950)
2. Number 013: Beyond The Valley Of The Dolls (1970)
2. Number 007: Butch Cassidy & The Sundance Kid (1969)
4. Number 019: Cleopatra (was due 2007) - CANCELLED
5. Number 001: The Day The Earth Stood Still (1951)
6. Number 009: The Fly (1986 Remake)
7. Number 010: The Hustler (1961)
8. Number 011: Kagemusha (1980)
9. Number 004: Laura (1944)
10. Number 005: Lifeboat (1944)
11. Number 018: The Magnificent Seven (1960) (was due 2007) - CANCELLED
12. Number 016: Midnight Cowboy
13. Number 002: My Darling Clementine (1946)
14. Number 006: Patton (1970)
15. Number 008: The Seven Year Itch (1955)
16. Number 017: Some Like It Hot (1959)
17. Number 012: Tora! Tora! Tora! (1970)
18. Number 015: Valley Of The Dolls (1967)
19. Number 014: The Verdict (1982)

Cinema Reserve on BLU RAY:
As of July 2012 - "All About Eve", "Patton", "Butch Cassidy And The Sundance Kid", "The Hustler" and "Tora! Tora! Tora!" are all issued in BLU RAY 'Book Pack' packaging in the USA. Now budget-priced at $10 each - all are also REGION FREE issues - so will play on all BLU RAY machines. The corresponding UK issues are just in standard clip-case packaging.

"The Day The Earth Stood Still", "The Seven Year Itch", "The Fly", "Midnight Cowboy" and "Some Like It Hot" are in standard clip-case packaging in the USA...

"My Darling Clementine", "Laura", "Valley Of The Dolls", "Beyond The Valley Of The Dolls" and "The Verdict" are unissued as yet on BLU RAY

"Lifeboat" has been given a UK BLU RAY release on Eureka's "Masters Of Cinema" series (licensed from 20th Century Fox).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Newman / Pool Classic, 3 April 2007
This review is from: The Hustler [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
The cameo from Willie Mosconi adds credibility to this excellent Pool film. This is essentially a love story about a flawed genius who's ability is comprimised because of his character.

Paul Newman plays this part to perfection. Thanks to Mosconis tutoring he is convincing as the excellent Pool hustler that gives Minnesota Fats a run for his money. Newmans defeat, and struggles thereafter gives him the strength to have a better go at beating him the second time around. Felson may beat Fats, but this is not the end of his struggles. Love, Blackmail, Talent and the lengths one goes to win and what it ultimately costs are themes explored in this classic movie.

Together with the Color of Money, filmed 25 years later, they are excellent films set against the backdrop of Pool and gambling. This film started a large upturn in the amount of people who played pool in the 1960's, after you have seen it, you will see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant, modern and disturbing, 18 Dec 2011
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Hustler [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
This film starts quiet laconically - two travelling salesmen on a trip in the middle of nowhere in America - one of them gets drunk and plays badly at pool. Then the whole thing turns on its head and we're in a bleak monochrome underworld. The characterisation is superb - I didn't think there were characters like this on screen in the early 1960s. Observing as a wannabe screenwriter, gesture tells eloquent stories and the action is gripping. It went places I didn't expect it to go, and the lines and lyricism of the story kept me engrossed. Unforgettable acting and a chronicle of a way of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hustler [Blu-ray] [1961]
The Hustler [Blu-ray] [1961] by Robert Rossen (Blu-ray - 2011)
£10.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews