Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2011
This Theasaurus does not search by clicking menu and 'Search this Book' as you might expect.
you will need to click menu then 'Go to..' then 'Table of Contents' then select the first letter of the word you wish to look up and then scroll through a list of possible words to look up.

The above mentioned method of serching is slow and frustrating but once you have found the word the content is excellent.

hope this helps someone as it took me a while to figure out!
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
Both the other reviewers are right. I agree, a thesaurus one cannot search is useless, but it is possible to search by word. I'd say it is easier using the Kindle for PC application, but it is possible using the Kindle itself.
On my Kindle for PC application, I find this easily searchable by any word, e.g. 'difficulty'. I used the Kindle for PC application's search box to type in 'difficulty' and a panel opened up with various shades of meaning so one could pick whichever was more appropriate for the task in hand.
On my Kindle, I found one has to go to the table of contents, where one finds either 'list of words by category' and 'a-z index'. Clicking the first gives you what one could call the ideas, e.g. 'means of communicating ideas - natural means'. Clicking the a-z index gives you exactly that, clicking on D gives you a list of words beginning with 'D' which you can page through to find 'difficulty'. Clicking on that takes you to the desired 'difficulty' with its myriad terms exploring the concept.
Everyone is familiar with Roget's Thesaurus, this one seems to be a pretty full edition, with many, several, profuse, various, galore, words and phrases to choose from.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
Don't bother

Don't waste your 69p

A thesaurus without a search option - what's the point.

Every search I attempt brings up a note saying "This item has not been indexed yet, please try again later" very helpful.

If anybody out there knows if I am trying to do something stupid please let me know.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
Roget's Thesaurus [ORIGINAL UNABRIDGED EDITION] [ZHINGOORA WORLDS CLASSICS]is a better bet even though it is not perfect although nearly 5 times the price it works much better.

This super edition has very few words indexed alphabetically so the index is of little or no use.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
It was advertised as searchable on the Kindle but this was not the case. It merely gives you a "This title is not yet indexed" error. The table of contents is broken down by letter which is pretty useless. It didn't even have the word I was looking for as far as I could see ("self-absorbed" fyi). If you're looking for something that works like the kindle's dictionary then don't buy this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
This is hopeless it is impossible to use it in the way it should be used ie to look up an alternative word to the one you wish to replace. I notified a so called help desk who sent instructions to reset and try again but after numerous attempts it is still a hopeless product . This experience has completely put me off the kindle.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
86p for Roget is brilliant. I really can't imagine not having this to hand on my Kindle and am so glad I disregarded the previous (rather dim) reviews. Fully searchable in whatever way you want to, this is a complete must have. End of.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
do not bother buying this edition it is worse than useless if you (like me) use a thesaurus a lot you will get angry and frustrated with it's lack of simple word analogies - zero stars
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Well, i read all of the other bad reviews so i can't say i wasn't forewarned. I simply didn't think it could be quite as bad as stated. Sadly, I was wrong and it really was a total waste of 77p. This version seems to almost defy its purpose; it's all but impossible to find the synonyms & antonyms you're looking for as the index and search functions are ... worse than useless; they're actually confounding, infuriating and exasperating. Even using Kindle for PC. So i bought a good old fashioned paper one, 2nd hand from a marketplace seller, for 1p + postage. Now i have instant access and instant results. This electronic version sucks. Big time. BELIEVE the bad reviews.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
It is rather difficult to trace a word and its alternative e means or words that are of a similar nature. Sometimes I have been lucky but the actual book has a definite advantage for easy access.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)