Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Searching
Both the other reviewers are right. I agree, a thesaurus one cannot search is useless, but it is possible to search by word. I'd say it is easier using the Kindle for PC application, but it is possible using the Kindle itself.
On my Kindle for PC application, I find this easily searchable by any word, e.g. 'difficulty'. I used the Kindle for PC application's search...
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by book_joy

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but read this before buying...
This Theasaurus does not search by clicking menu and 'Search this Book' as you might expect.
you will need to click menu then 'Go to..' then 'Table of Contents' then select the first letter of the word you wish to look up and then scroll through a list of possible words to look up.

The above mentioned method of serching is slow and frustrating but once you...
Published on 17 Dec 2011 by Clare Bear


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but read this before buying..., 17 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases - Super 2011 Edition (With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
This Theasaurus does not search by clicking menu and 'Search this Book' as you might expect.
you will need to click menu then 'Go to..' then 'Table of Contents' then select the first letter of the word you wish to look up and then scroll through a list of possible words to look up.

The above mentioned method of serching is slow and frustrating but once you have found the word the content is excellent.

hope this helps someone as it took me a while to figure out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Searching, 23 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases - Super 2011 Edition (With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Both the other reviewers are right. I agree, a thesaurus one cannot search is useless, but it is possible to search by word. I'd say it is easier using the Kindle for PC application, but it is possible using the Kindle itself.
On my Kindle for PC application, I find this easily searchable by any word, e.g. 'difficulty'. I used the Kindle for PC application's search box to type in 'difficulty' and a panel opened up with various shades of meaning so one could pick whichever was more appropriate for the task in hand.
On my Kindle, I found one has to go to the table of contents, where one finds either 'list of words by category' and 'a-z index'. Clicking the first gives you what one could call the ideas, e.g. 'means of communicating ideas - natural means'. Clicking the a-z index gives you exactly that, clicking on D gives you a list of words beginning with 'D' which you can page through to find 'difficulty'. Clicking on that takes you to the desired 'difficulty' with its myriad terms exploring the concept.
Everyone is familiar with Roget's Thesaurus, this one seems to be a pretty full edition, with many, several, profuse, various, galore, words and phrases to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Arrrrrrrrgh, 20 May 2011
Don't bother

Don't waste your 69p

A thesaurus without a search option - what's the point.

Every search I attempt brings up a note saying "This item has not been indexed yet, please try again later" very helpful.

If anybody out there knows if I am trying to do something stupid please let me know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but poor value for me at least, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases - Super 2011 Edition (With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Roget's Thesaurus [ORIGINAL UNABRIDGED EDITION] [ZHINGOORA WORLDS CLASSICS]is a better bet even though it is not perfect although nearly 5 times the price it works much better.

This super edition has very few words indexed alphabetically so the index is of little or no use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have., 30 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases - Super 2011 Edition (With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
86p for Roget is brilliant. I really can't imagine not having this to hand on my Kindle and am so glad I disregarded the previous (rather dim) reviews. Fully searchable in whatever way you want to, this is a complete must have. End of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Uselss for Kindle, 15 Jun 2012
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases - Super 2011 Edition (With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
It was advertised as searchable on the Kindle but this was not the case. It merely gives you a "This title is not yet indexed" error. The table of contents is broken down by letter which is pretty useless. It didn't even have the word I was looking for as far as I could see ("self-absorbed" fyi). If you're looking for something that works like the kindle's dictionary then don't buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a hopeless product, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases - Super 2011 Edition (With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
This is hopeless it is impossible to use it in the way it should be used ie to look up an alternative word to the one you wish to replace. I notified a so called help desk who sent instructions to reset and try again but after numerous attempts it is still a hopeless product . This experience has completely put me off the kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rogets thesaurus, 3 Nov 2011
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases - Super 2011 Edition (With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
do not bother buying this edition it is worse than useless if you (like me) use a thesaurus a lot you will get angry and frustrated with it's lack of simple word analogies - zero stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile once you get used to the format., 14 Mar 2014
By 
Pablo (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases - Super 2011 Edition (With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Definitely different to using a book but as I say worthwhile once you get used to the format.
Definitely easier to carry around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor choice, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases - Super 2011 Edition (With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Not worth purchasing even at this low price. Unable to find word description easily. Not user friendly. Regret the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaae16d5c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews