Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is as good as guidebooks get
It's good to see the Rough Guide team updating their Ireland guide less than two years after the last edition.

The Rough Guide to Ireland got the basics right a long time ago. This has always been an in depth guide that gave the traveller the background to the country and gave detailed enough guided tours round the main sites to make buying extra little...
Published on 28 May 2008 by Bernard Davis

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK - but there have been better rough guides
I've used rough guides many times before and found them invaluble. This one tries to do too much so if you aren't travelling around Ireland and only visiting one or two counties I'd suggest you'd get more use from a guide specifically for that area.
Published on 2 Aug 2010 by Rach


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is as good as guidebooks get, 28 May 2008
It's good to see the Rough Guide team updating their Ireland guide less than two years after the last edition.

The Rough Guide to Ireland got the basics right a long time ago. This has always been an in depth guide that gave the traveller the background to the country and gave detailed enough guided tours round the main sites to make buying extra little guides of them unnecessary. It has slowly improved its format from Edition to Edition. The layout is clear and easy on the eye. There are a good number of maps of main towns and sites with the information you need on them. The book is thoroughly web friendly with internet addresses for everything.

The Guide starts with a `Colour Section' with pictures of `33 things not to miss'. It continues through a `Basics' Section which gives a good introduction to Ireland and how to get there.

Then comes the meat of the Guidebook - around 600 pages of well written, detailed information - taking you round the country area by area.

At the end the `Contexts' section - which goes into aspects of Irish culture - has been slimmed down.

As with all guidebooks this one is not perfect. As with all guidebooks it has not been completely updated since the last edition. Over the years it seems to have broadened out from its budget travel focus to become a more general guide - just look at all the expensive places recommended as accommodation. However the Rough Guide to Ireland is as good as Guidebooks get.

Own Tests.

Well Laid out - Five stars
Got the information I want - Four stars
Good writing style - can I actually sit down and read it - Four stars
The just got into town test - have I the info I need at my fingertips (maps help) - Four stars
Up to Date - Four stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide to Ireland, 15 Oct 2011
Was very useful on our recent trip to Connemara. Would have liked more recommendations for B&B as they only seemed to review Guest houses and hotels, however, there are so many B&Bs around I can understand why they didn't. Took me a while to discover the Index and learn to navigate the book. Might be a usability issue, or I might be getting old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Guide to a Great Country, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great series of books and this book is a very useful guide to Ireland. The book covers the island so you have complete coverage. Not everywhere is covered but then not everywhere is worth visiting! When buying a Rough Guide, make sure you buy the most up to date edition of the book. This is especially true of Ireland. Due to the well documented recession in the country, many businesses have ceased to trade. In other cases opening hours or services have changed.
I use the Rough Guides when on my travels. They are so good, I bought tho for my home country... and it was well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if a bit dated, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having tried the Lonely Planet Guide last year, since it was more up-to-date and been disappointed with it, I went back to the Rough Guides which I have always had and liked before. Only problem is that is at this stage (July 2014) still the 2011 edition and I was hoping they would have brought out a new one by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is so very easy to read and find information from. Lovely pictures and full of useful latest information for anyone wanting to visit Ireland. Supplier was first class and book arrived well within timelined. Will definately recommend this book to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ireland Eire Guide, 15 Oct 2009
By 
R. Regan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Helpful product, generally very good with suggestions for eating, accommodation and sights. Some of the restaurant listings were out of date eg restaurant closed.
generally good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ireland guide, 14 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was exactly as expected of the guide...it was comprehensive in its treatment of the area....just the job for tourist walking or travelling by car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Ireland (Rough Guide to...) (Kindle Edition)
Useful informative guide.Good balance of information and background. Really looking forward to using it on a trip to Ireland later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good guide, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a good introduction to the whole of Ireland. It gives an overall view of areas of interest around all of Ireland and provides a good insight into the maybe lesser known points. It is useful in indicating interesting areas and giving a useful description in enough detail to let you decide whether you would be interested or not, so that you could then do an internet search for further details. I found it a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guide to Ireland, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is to help us plan a trip to Ireland and gives lots of useful information
There is a more up to date version I believe but am happy with this one anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews