Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to the past
John's best work for sometime sees him return to the analogue age of sublime electronica that will have you addicted to the album from the very first listen. Reminds me of raw old skool Ultravox through to the established eerie sound and fantastic Metamatic. Not a bad track here and easily a brilliant 5*
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by Lord of the Rings reader

versus
5 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Dark with unclear lyrics played in a style that has long since passed. I'd not kept up with John's work since the eighties but I was delighted recently when I found out John was still composing and had worked on this album. This, and all the accolades I thought I couldn't go wrong. I didn't listen to it all, as by the 5th track I'd had enough.
Published on 26 Mar 2011 by Johnny7


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutalism Electro for the Now..., 27 April 2011
By 
Christopher Hunter "cjhunter2001uk" (Farnham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
Wow! I can't get enough of this. I know many have tried to re-create that past-synth sound on modern synths but it never quite works! Well this is truly magnificent. Classic retro synths, partnered up with modern production techniques, Foxx's cold line vocals and some pumping, bleeping beats. Just pure electro magic. Like 1980 has jumped forward 30 years....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 25 April 2011
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
I pretty much have every Foxx disc going back to the Ultravox days and this is a great addition to the collection. I've really enjoyed the recent Louis Gordon collabs...there's a different vibe on Interplay, maybe due to the old-school analog instrumentation, but, well, it's John Foxx...same themes since forever, same great voice, etc. Maybe I could contrast this to the Louis Gordon collabs by saying it feels a bit less forced. If you like synth-pop, this Foxx reunion with his old gear is a no-brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure foxx class, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
forget modern pop,re-makes and wannabes and listen to one of my personal,favourite albums of the year....john foxx and the maths. there's not one bad track on this disc.every one has class written next to it,and having just seen this album performed in its near entirety on john's recent tour,its only confirmed that the man has always been seminal and has never sold out.for fans or novices this is a must have.john foxx you are a legend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It blew my mind, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
OMG.....this album has blown me away. I have loved John Foxx since Ultravox and his first solo album Metamatic was played to death and I was in John Foxx heaven.
This album for me is just pure genius with that clear crisp distinctive voice and lyrics that are meaningful.
As for a previous person who said it was 'Dark with unclear lyrics played in a style that has long since passed'.....WRONG!.....(it would be like saying Iron maiden should do some trance hip hop)if you love John foxx's style of music then you will love this album, I can't stop playing it x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice, 25 Mar 2011
By 
R. Nicklin (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
Bought on the premise of the Destination MP3 download and not disappointed at all - Highly recommended.

I can't be bothered writing all the rubbish about where its going to or where its from, look its funky and cool so shell out the dosh and play loud.

Enough said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collaboration....often challenging....more please!, 25 Mar 2011
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
This album arrived on my doormat the same time as Credo, but aside from them both being 80s artists collaborating with current co-writers/musicians, there is little comparison. I am a huge HL fan, more so than Foxx, but Interplay leaves Credo shivering in it's wake. There is simply no comparison....
Interplay is edgy, varied, challenging and at times beautiful. John stretches his vocals in places, always successfully, and the music veers from electro-punk to minimalist dance to semi-ambient. The drum tracks are textured, the treated sections of vocal just work, the production is pristine.

It's only 42 minutes long, but that's actually about right, as no track outstays its welcome, and the resulting album leaves you wanting more.

John had previously worked a lot with Louis Jordan, another young electro-guru, but after 4 or 5 albums things weren't quite a fresh as they could be, so John moves on to other collaborations. A lot of these have been very ambient (too much for my tastes). With Benge of The Maths he has found a perfect musical partner, and I hope they will produce another album, or even a live album, in the not too distant future. Nice fold-out packaging too, if you get the initial digi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interplay [180g Vinyl] (Vinyl)
If you like electronic music you're going to love this you're in for a treat John Fox at his near best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Past and future intersect here..., 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interplay [180g Vinyl] (Vinyl)
The golden age of John Foxx in "Metamatic" are back and still point to the future ... Highly recommended for anyone who admires the use of good old analog synths with the whole experience of great artists in charge ... This album should be part of any collection of vinyls who admires good music ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something different, 8 Jun 2013
By 
Brian E. Viercant (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interplay [180g Vinyl] (Vinyl)
Another album that goes in a different direction musically. Some of the tracks need to be listened to attentively as they do meander in various directions and the same sound wise. But, I think this album will get to grow on anyone who takes the time to spend time understanding it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interpreting 'Interplay', 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
This latest CD is another quality product from John Foxx whose musical output stretches back over 30 years and has consistently been interesting and creative. Another welcome addition for the electronic section of my music collection joining Kraftwerk and Ultravox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Interplay
Interplay by John Foxx (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews