Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to the past
John's best work for sometime sees him return to the analogue age of sublime electronica that will have you addicted to the album from the very first listen. Reminds me of raw old skool Ultravox through to the established eerie sound and fantastic Metamatic. Not a bad track here and easily a brilliant 5*
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by Lord of the Rings reader

versus
5 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Dark with unclear lyrics played in a style that has long since passed. I'd not kept up with John's work since the eighties but I was delighted recently when I found out John was still composing and had worked on this album. This, and all the accolades I thought I couldn't go wrong. I didn't listen to it all, as by the 5th track I'd had enough.
Published on 26 Mar 2011 by Johnny7


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to the past, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
John's best work for sometime sees him return to the analogue age of sublime electronica that will have you addicted to the album from the very first listen. Reminds me of raw old skool Ultravox through to the established eerie sound and fantastic Metamatic. Not a bad track here and easily a brilliant 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving forward, looking back, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
I've felt that of late that John Foxx has been releasing albums that are variations of the same theme.
What a pleasant surprise then to hear his latest offering in collaboration with Ben Edwards. Each track is tight, snappy and holds the listener in a 4 minute grip. Foxx's early influences & peers are to be found throughout with 'A falling star' reviving a Brian Eno era Roxy music complete with Brian Ferry style vocals. The closing track is for all the world a re-take on the classic Kraftwerk track 'Europe endless' and everywhere are haunting similarities with the 'Reproduction' & 'Travelogue' Human League outpourings and even OMD feel to be lurking behind many tracks. Once you've played this through a few times there's fun to be had looking out for the many homages & nods to the early pioneers of the serious synthesiser scene.
While all similar the tracks are still all inventive and often startle with their ability to mix the heavy, white noise of analogue synth with bass lines that thud through your head and drive everything along at a fair old pace.
Every one of these ten tracks is a song for the lost generation of the late 70's and 80's who wanted their pop heavier, more serious and demanded a level of skill that eluded just about everyone who made the charts with very few exceptions.
I would have gone nuts for this back then and am not ashamed to admit it moves me still. All praise to Foxx who has so skilfully returned to his roots and even his old keyboards and yet still managed to produce an album that feels fresh and new in style while leaning heavily upon a past to be proud of.
If you want to remember just how it felt when you first heard 'Metamatic', 'The man machine', 'the pleasure principle' or 'Travelogue' then look no further. Ten tracks of nostalgic delight & wonderment await you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, 24 Mar 2011
By 
Gary Chapman (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of John Foxx since year dot... mostly he always impresses and delivers excellent material.This this album is simply majestic and anyone who likes electronic music should buy it.... quite simply it knocks spots off the the latest offerings by Blancmange and Human League (who I also admire)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best in....ohhhhhhh.....aaaahhhhhhh....ohhhhhhhh, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
How about his best period. Let's not forget that it is a collaborative work with Benge who deserves the accolades as well. Everyone who likes their bleeps served with human emotion....order this now and never look back.
I challenge anyone out there to come up with a track as beautiful as A FALLING STAR. According to a recent interview with Foxx, he might be sitting on another album's worth of material recorded during these sessions??????
Please release soon, beauty like this is really needed in this world. I take walks and listen to this album, and I just keep going and going and replaying and replaying and appreciating what it is I see out there. Truly wonderful and I doubt anything will beat this release this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interplay, 18 April 2011
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of John Foxx since the very first Ultravox album and the song The Garden is one of my all time favourites. Here in New Zealand our record stores are nearly all top 40 trash so I was so thrilled to see John continues to make music through this amazon site. This is the 4th album I have purchased and I am glad I did, it ticks all the right boxes.Right from the start I enjoyed Shatterproof and it is the last song The Good Shadow that quickly became my favourite. I would recommend this to any John Foxx fan its fresh, with complex tunes and just enough hooks to pull you in,Hope one day he will make it to Christchurch for a live gig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear vision!, 5 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album. It has the freshness of the real "Ultravox!" And also seems to capture the essence of "Metamatic". Having said this the album has a very contemporary feel with excellent production, thoughtful arrangements, lyrics that only John Foxx could write and nice grooves - it does look back, but with the interest in creating something new and fresh. I have the vinyl copy that is nicely packaged (would have been a nice touch to have included download codes, but it is reasonably priced compared with some vinyl releases) so thanks John for an album with an excellent artistic vision. I have also purchased the second album so will review soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Brilliant Album, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
Been a fan of John Foxx since way back in the 70's with Ultravox! Most artists find it hard to beat their glory years of earlier work but John has done it with interplay. Can't stop listening to it - all tracks are superb and like other reviewers have stated a fusion of the earlier work of other great synth bands and artists. Love it including the packaging. Just wish this was also available on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year!?, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
This is the first collaboration between electronic pioneer John Foxx and analogue synth collector and musician Benge. Apparently they started working together with the intention of making ambient or Krautrock-styled instrumentals but they ended up writing a whole batch of songs with old synthesizers and drum machines. The weird thing is how fresh and modern it sounds in lots of ways. It's like a classic take on the likes of Telekon (Gary Numan) or Travelogue (The Human League) but with a contemporary twist. And the artwork is beautiful too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interplay into the future, 27 Mar 2011
This review is from: Interplay (MP3 Download)
John Foxx never fails to deliver and this time its with The Maths. This is what synth/electro music is all about melodic,Hypnotizing and this time heavy on the Bass. On listening you can hear influences from Kraftwerk and Depeche Mode to name just a few. This is fast becoming my album of the year so far and I can't wait to hear some of it live at the Troxy along with Motor,Mirrors and Gary Numan on the 2nd April. A real treat Thanks John Brilliant "TAKE YOUR MEDICINE"!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 23 Mar 2011
By 
dalek78 (Sheffield, S.Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Interplay (Audio CD)
Interplay is the first album from John Foxx and The Maths - a collaborative affair with synthesiser guru, Ben Edwards. After four years of instrumental and collaborative releases or compilations, Interplay sees a welcome return of John Foxx's often overlooked talents as a vocalist and lyricist.

Interplay opens with "Shatterproof", a dark and menacing affair. "Catwalk" boasts a typical Foxxien cinematic lyric. The upbeat "Evergreen", echoes early Depeche Mode, and provides a timely reminder of what a damn fine pop lyricist Foxx can be when he wants. "Watching a Building On Fire" features a duet with Ladytron vocalist Mira Aroy. One of the other many standout tracks is "Summerland", possibly the most addictive track on the album, with Foxx's harmonic vocals soaring out of your speakers during the chorus. "A Falling Star" is another key track and the most moving piece on the album.

Close followers of Foxx's work will find many of the lyrical themes reassuringly familiar, although musically, although Interplay is no nostalgia trip, bearing little resemblance to Foxx's previous work. At just 42 minutes in duration, Interplay is an ideal length and easily accessible. Analogue synths have never sounded so relevant, and this feast for the ears is testament to the longevity of these classic machines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Interplay
Interplay by John Foxx (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews