Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A set of five great sixties albums
This collects the five sixties albums together with bonus tracks, all in cardboard sleeves inside a solid cardboard slipcase. The package is very light. The only criticism is that there is no booklet. All these albums are important, although I'm not so sure I like the live disc so much. Surrealistic Pillow is one of the best albums of the sixties and the others are...
Published on 24 Nov 2008 by DH Dixon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Grace Slick at her Best
I bought this for the Wife who was bought up that side of the Pond, and is therefore more into Californian Music
of the 60's & 70's. Good Car Music
Published 1 month ago by Richard P. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A set of five great sixties albums, 24 Nov 2008
By 
DH Dixon "whitespeck" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This collects the five sixties albums together with bonus tracks, all in cardboard sleeves inside a solid cardboard slipcase. The package is very light. The only criticism is that there is no booklet. All these albums are important, although I'm not so sure I like the live disc so much. Surrealistic Pillow is one of the best albums of the sixties and the others are not far behind. The group is technically one of the best of the period with a terrific bassist and lead guitarist. The stereo recording is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible value, excellent albums, 7 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I'm not going to write lots of waffle because in my view music is too personal and emotional, and most reviews do nothing for me. What I will say is that this includes 5 complete albums from this amazing group, including one live set, with an incredible number of wonderful songs. Old favourites such as Plastic Fantastic Lover are here, along with many equally good songs I had not heard before. If you like the Airplane, and you don't have these albums, then get this boxed set. It's a bargain. If you don't know the Airplane, then get over to YouTube, listen to some songs, and I'm sure you'll be back to buy this boxed set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHY BUY COMPILATIONS?, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Roy Mounsey "Tony Mounsey" (Carlisle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Why buy compilations when you can get all the first five JA albums for 11.99. Takes Off with Signe Anderson is really underated. OK she doesn't have the Slick charisma but I found her a fine singer in her own right. Each album is essential to collectors of 60s West Coast Rock (don't forget to add The Great Society to your list). Bless It's Pointed Little Head shows JA to be the tightest of the West Coast bands live, with the arguable exception of The Doors. My Fave is Crown Of Creation - obviously I am not alone in this as Mojo readers selected this is number 1 in the January 2011 issue. Finally, Surrealistic Pillow although it contains their two best tracks is to my ears the least of these five albums, although still worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deja vu for hippies, 25 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Ah, those far off halycon days of rizlas, roaches and records.
Packaging minimal, sounds immense, nostalgia unlimited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars airplane finally land on my hi fi, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
They say that if you can remember the sixties you probably weren't there . I must have been there because I have no recollection of ever having heard Jefferson Airplane . I bought this bargain box set to plug the hole in my head . They are clearly one of the essential sixties bands . The two singers are a surprise - Marty Balin sounds as if he would be comfortable strumming a guitar and warbling folkie songs in the upstairs room of the Cumberland Arms on a Saturday night while Grace Slick could take centre stage in a Bertolt Brecht production . The bass player is pretty good too . Can see myself going back to this one .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Grace Slick at her Best, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Richard P. Turner (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I bought this for the Wife who was bought up that side of the Pond, and is therefore more into Californian Music
of the 60's & 70's. Good Car Music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Worthwhile purchase. Solid mainstream psychedelic rock early material from these long stayers and innovative pioneers of the west coast rock music world. Great to hear again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jefferson Airplane has now arrived from San Francisco..., 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
The albums are fantastic examples of the gems the 60's had to offer in terms of the arts. Concerning this particular album collection all of the CDs are in cardboard sleeves which graphically feature shrunk to scale copies of the original LPs artwork, which is a nice touch. In reference to a previous review, the bonus tracks do not appear on the back of the individual sleeves as fore mentioned they are shrunk down copies of the LPs and by virtue of this have the original track listings, however the complete track listing for each album does appear on the back of the the thicker cardboard sleeve which holds the individual sleeves, so the bonus tracks are listed. Brilliant value considering the quality of the music and I would highly recommended this collection to anybody blessed with the ability to hear sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value package, 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This excellent value set brings together the first five Jefferson Airplane albums, plus bonus tracks, which with the exception of those on Crown of Creation are worth having. It's easy to overlook the first album because it is pre-Grace Slick but that would be a mistake as the roots of their music are worth hearing. Surrealiastic Pillow and Baxters sound as good as ever and the bonus tracks are also good. I was slightly disappointed by Crown of Creation - not quite as good as I remembered it; there are some very good tracks but a few indulgent ones too. The bonus tracks don't add anything for me. Pointed Head is a good rather than great live album and some of the bonus stuff is worth having.
Overall a very good purchase, which I followed up by getting Long John Silver/Bark/ Volunteers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little bit more advice, 7 April 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
My favourite album by Jefferson Airplane is Volunteers.

Of course I have that CD and the original on vinyl.

But what tipped the balance into buying the set was that Volunteers has extra tracks these are
11. Good Shepherd (Live)* (7:20)
12. Somebody to Love (Live)* (4:10)
13. Plastic Fantastic Lover (Live)* (3:21)
14. Wooden Ships (Live)* (7:00)
15. Volunteers (Live)* (3:26)

So the fact that I didn't have the orginals on CD and the extra tracks on Volunteers made this a good buy.
True other sets in the series have 5 CDs in the sets and some people bemoan the fact that the CDs come in little cardboard sleeves that are hard to read.
I agree but if you contrast the original release of say Volunteers with all the myriad of detail that you couldn't read on the Cd cover let alone this reprint and the fact that my vinyl edition of Grunt came in a paper beag the kind that American supermarkets used to bag groceries in- just look at the cover a fresh fish with false teeth you really cannot complain about the quality of the cases?
I for one love em and storage is so much easier with the slimmed down version.

Each to his own.
this is a link to the other original album series
Original Album Classics

As Dryden one said 'Hope they nip that in the bud toot sweet'(sic)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Classics
Original Album Classics by Jefferson Airplane (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews